Customer Reviews for

Vibes [With Earphones]

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    Great Book :) If your in the mood for a teen romance with a slight twist, 'Vibes' is your book.

    When I first saw the book Vibes, my initial reaction was "Okay, this book might be pretty good. Messed up teen who can read minds... sounds interesting." So I thought, why not? I wasn't expecting much from it but I decided to read it anyway.
    And I'm glad I did.
    Vibes is a funny and a great book for any teen girl who is the mood for a romance.
    And on top of that, it comes with a twist.
    She can read minds :)
    I highly recomend this book for girls mostly. Guys wouldn't really find it enjoyable because it's more of a sappy love book filled with teenage girl problems :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    AMAZING

    Vibes is one of the most riveting books I've read in a long time. It sends out the eternal message of life: Judging gets you no where. Be happy, and be you. It was hilarious, admittedly weird and negative toward the beginning, and absolutely mind-boggling throughout its entirety. After the first few chapters, I couldn't put it down. And even after I did, it kept me up late at night thinking over the contours of its pages. Ryan shows a dark and new perspective of love and life I have never read before, and it was was much more than refreshing and original. If you read this book, your reading much than words on pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    Vibes is such a good book, i couldn't put it down!!!

    Vibes, is based on a girl named Kristi and she is simply and complicated girl. She gets Psychic vibes, about people, and one on the ones that annoys her the most is Gusty Petersons. The hottest guy in school is calling her, Sick. A new kid comes to school, his name is Mallory. His face is covered with acne. But he enjoys the same things Kristi does, and then they start hanging out and they get closer and closer. Then they get asigned Charactor Education Partners, and Kristi has been paired up with Gusty! So you have to see what will happen next. Then after all that is happening her dad decides to come back after leaving Kristi with her mom, 2 years ago.<BR/>I am a gir at a meer age of only 12 1/2, and i would recamend this book for anyone over the age of 13. The moral of the story would be not to judge people, even if you get phycic vibes about them.<BR/>This book you will NOT want to Put DOWN! i read over half the book just yesterday, and i for one dont like reading. I wasnt even forced to read it i just chose to. <BR/>This is now one of my favorite books, and i just have to say that, Amy Kathleen Ryan is the Master of Book WRITING! You go Girl!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Kristi Carmichael thinks she has all the answers, which is part of why she stopped caring about just about everything two years ago. She knows all about her workaholic mother, absent father, and why the incredibly cute Gusty Peterson would never want to have anything to do with her. She can even understand the romantic thoughts and strange fantasies her friends Mallory and Jacob have for her. Of course, being psychic can have that effect on a person.

    Part of having all the answers is being chronically unimpressed (definitely how Kristi feels about her free-spirited high school) and always playing by her own rules (that's covered by the padlock on her bedroom door and the cat she hides inside it, not to mention the found wardrobe).

    But as the school year progresses, Kristi finds a lot of things happening that she didn't see coming--even with all the answers. The sudden return of her father, attentions from not one but two boy at school, and other surprises leave Kristi in a tailspin as she wonders if, maybe, the vibes she's been getting were more bogus than psychic all along.

    Such is the premise of Vibes, Amy Kathleen Ryan's second novel (and the subject of a rumored movie adaptation according to Cinema Blend--although the fundamental inaccuracies of the basic summary there do leave me wondering about the accuracy of the rumor).

    I realy liked this book. The fact that Kristi is psychic is treated as a normal event--not a big deal, no worrying about why she can read minds--which I enjoyed since mind reading usually supersedes plot when it crops up in non-fantasy books.

    At 249 pages, the book goes by fast but the story is still deep. A strong point of Ryan's writing are the characters she has created. In the beginning of the novel Kristi and also the new boy at school, Mallory, are deeply troubled, something both teens try to deal with through anger. Kristi doesn't mince words when she tells readers all of the reasons she has to be angry (there are a few). However, as the story moves forward and Kristi realizes that reading minds isn't the same as understanding what people are thinking, she also learns that there is more to life (both good and bad) than she had first thought.

    One theme that the novel deals with well is self-esteem in that Kristi does have much at the start of the novel. Seeing herself as fat and ugly, Kristi doesn't find herself very surprised when she hears the word "sick" in Gusty Peterson's head whenever he thinks of her. Kristi's low opinion of herself is hard to shake even in the face of positive attentions from Mallory and, of course, her family. To some readers it could seem over the top, but the truth is I was right there with Kristi and when those things came up in the novel, it felt like Ryan was quoting a page from my own life.

    The other theme that was handled really well in Vibes is the absent father issue. Kristi misses her father terribly, and in many ways does idolize him, but only until he shows up again. Then it becomes apparent that there was more to her father's leaving that even a psychic could have guessed.

    In summary, Ryan blends a lot of different themes and genres to create a new kind of story that readers (teen and otherwise) are sure to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Kristi can hear people's thoughts, and most of them reflect negatively towards her. Things haven't been the same for Kristi since her dad left two years ago. She hates her mom, got dumped by her BFF, and the boy she likes can't stand to look at her. <BR/><BR/>Now her hippe-dippie school wants everyone to work on their self-image in pairs. Of course, she's paired up with her crush. Before long, she's telling him her secrets and making herself crazy trying to understand his actions and his thoughts -- which are screaming two different things. <BR/><BR/>Then her dad returns home and just complicates her life further. <BR/><BR/>Amy Kathleen Ryan creates a character withing VIBES who must try to fit into a world that has already judged her, but, more importantly, she has to figure out herself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Heartfelt

    This was a touching tale about someone trying to fit in.Or maybe in some ways..... stand out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    S S.M.H

    I love thats shes jut her self and her dont care attuded LOL XD i can read this book over and over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    A funny story about a revolted girl. It has romance and comedy.

    A funny story about a revolted girl. It has romance and comedy. Guys wont like the book because of the sappy romance but most girls will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Omg

    This book just tickeld the senes i love her dont care attutude!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Ok

    If u dont lik hearing about how big her boobs are lik every 5 pages dont read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    (:

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Immature at moments but otherwise a good book.

    The main character, Kristi, referenced to her breasts constantly throughout the book. She usually called them 'gazungas', which I found completely immature and inappropriate at times.
    However, I did like the plotline, despite the fact in the end it seemed to get all mashed together. Maybe I'm getting too old for these types of books, late preteens and early teens would probably like it.
    To me, it was a book to check out at the library rather than buying and showing it on your shelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    I've read this book a million times

    ive read this book a million times and i still LOVE IT!!!!!!! one of the best books i ever read i let my friend read it and she loves it too hope u read it like it as much as i did:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    wonderful

    i luved dis book!!! it was a amazing read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good vibrations

    this was an excellent book. the story was well thought out and seemed pretty realistic. some parts did tough slightly throw me off. t always seems as if every five pages or so kristi is complaining about her giant "gazungas" or another character is reacting to them in a very peprverted manner.the charcters were great they seemed lke real people becuase you could see how deep their emotions were, and the had some flawed qaulities like actual people. i woud recomend this for teen-age girls especailly if they want to share books with friends, it's perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Vibes- Amy Ryan.

    In this novela, I truly did enjoy it. My outlook on some people definitely has changed and has made me think about other things than just the norm. It made me see that inner beauty and outer beaty do intertwine. They don't just do that, but they also play individual parts in your life. Kristi is complex, and an ultimite unique indivual. That is what makes this book special from the rest. This novel really makes you think twice about what you think about people and what they may think about you. Or things may not always be what they seem. This book was imspiring and well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    READING MINDS WITHOUT READING MINDS

    Most books where there is someone that can read minds can read the minds clearly and hear everything the person is saying. But Kristi can't. She gets little glimpses into the minds of others. She thinks shes got everything and everyone figured out but she falls apart when she realizes that all the things that shes reading in people minds isnt exactly whats reallly going on. The last chapter of the book was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It Took Me 8 Hours.

    i dont know what to say. i hate reading with a passion but once i started reading this book i was amazed at how much i liked it. and everything isnt what it seems either. I hope im not giving away to much, but read the book and ull get what im saying. i love this book and it is by far my favorite book ive ever read. try prom queens and art geeks. i read that one after this one and idk. i just like them both. Vibes has a very good plot, and you'll love Kristi and Jacob. And I in The end loved Gusty too. just read the damn book lol. i love itttt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good

    i loved the idea of it and the characters. i loved everything about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Vibrating Fun

    Vibes is the store of high school pain, pressure, family love and hate, and everything in-between. Kriti, our hard on herself teen, can read minds and finds she's isolated and living her life through crazy clothing and opera. During a class project, she is paired with Gusty, a boy that she has had a crush on since childhood. She has always read his mind and only heard one word, sick. During their pairing she learns to open up, trust other people and finally deal with her workaholic mother and absent father. This story is a fast fun read that holds something for everyone. The characters are fantastically flawed and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3