Customer Reviews for

Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A book of drug abuse, baby selling and murder

    Life is a vicious cycle in the life of drug uses. When the mother stays high on drugs and has a baby or a child is raised in that home then it goes on with the new generation doing the same thing they grow up with. This is the case of Jordan a fifteen year old girl that uses drug so much and she just became a mother of a baby girl. Jordan's mother and brother both live with her and they would not stay sober long enough to take the girl to a hospital, so Jordan had to deliver her own baby.

    But this book is more about another family that tries to help Jordan. Barbara has a daughter "Emily" that was a drug user and is now in a place "New Day" where they keep them for a year so that the drugs can get out of their systems. She also has a fifteen year old son "Lance" and this is where they had met Jordan, as she was there for a while but decided to leave and went right back to the old life style she was in.

    Lance enjoys going to visit his sister as he like to tease and talk to the girls there but he also was one that had turned down drugs and liked to help people. Barbara had raised her children in a Christian home as she was a widow and she had a hard time trying to raise them. money wise.

    I would have loved to have been able to read the first books as I am sure they tell more about how the drug lords drag the young people into the life of abusing their bodies and minds with drugs. This is the first book that I have read that really made you feel as though you were living the life of these people and it make you see how easy it is for even your child can get into the habit of drugs.

    Terri does a wonderful job with this book as she does all that she writes.

    I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for posting my review from Christian Review of Books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    A page turner that held me captive throughout. An extremely deta

    A page turner that held me captive throughout. An extremely detailed account of drug use and the influence it has on lives.

    This 2nd book focuses on the difficult cycle addicts find themselves in, especially if born into that environment. It especially details how difficult it is to break that cycle and what might trigger an addict to return to that life.

    Suspenseful situations that bring our characters to the brink of death throughout the book keep you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Great book

    I could not put this book down once I started it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    highly recommend

    I am in a Christian book club and we decided to read ANOTHER of Terri's books. I in the past did not care for her writing style.
    For some reason this book just clicked for me. The subject matter is current day news, unfortunately. It was like reading todays newspaper headlines. It was a quick read, you were very connected to the people in this book. I understand this is the second of a 3 part series. I plan to get the #3 to fnish the family's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great series!

    I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Book 2 In the Intervention Series. Just as riviting as the first. Grabs you from the very beginning to the very last page. Takes you down some turns you do not expect but not surprising for this amazing Christian Suspense Author. This story is as good if not better the the first but as spellbinding as the first. Again shows the commitment of family and friends commitment to pull together for a purpose. And still have high standards set in place. Read all 3 books in this series you will not be disappointed. HIGHLY RECOMMEND from teen to grandparents .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very good story. The characters in the story are very real. The author shows how drugs can take hold of ones life and make it difficult to let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Awesome!

    Great book. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Tigerjay

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love this author and all of her books. Intervention is a great mystery series that is Christian based. It follows the lives of those struggling with addition, both the addicts and families that love them. It is well worth the buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Terri Blackstock is a gifted author. I have read almost all of her books and always have a hard time putting them down. It's suspenseful and will leave you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Greaat Great read

    Love this series. Cant wait for next book ln series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Wonderful book!

    This is the second book in the Intervention series and Teri Blackstock has done it again! If you have a child or someone you love addicted to drugs these two books will be interesting reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Good read

    Terri Blackstock has done it again. This book has intrigue and drama. Good story about issues that are prevalent in our society today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Anything by Terri Blackstock is worthy of reading.

    Current. Believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great book

    Wonderful sequel to intervention. Wish there was a third book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terri Blackstock strikes again!

    Ah, yes. Suspense at its finest. Terri Blackstock has brought back Barbara and Lance from Intervention and Lance is front and center this time as he gets into a load of trouble when a meth baby shows up in his backseat and he is arrested for kidnapping. This pulls him and his mother into a dangerous world of drugs and human trafficking as they try to save the baby and clear Lance at the same time.

    Terri knows how to keep me on the edge of my seat from the very beginning to the very end and she does not disappoint in Vicious Cycle. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Vicious Cycle by Terri Blackstock

    Just days before Emily Covington graduates from New Day, a drug recovery program, another member of the program drops out. Lance tries to help, and ends up finding a newborn baby in the backseat of a car. He is then thrown into a world where he is charged with kidnapping and he is faced with the harsh reality of addicts. Kent Harlan rushes to the Covington's aid, but it will take more than him and the Covingtons to stop the vicious cycle.

    Unfortunately, I was very busy when I read this book, and was therefore unable to read the book in three days and thus no 3D rating. I can say, however, that this book was almost impossible to put down and I had to pry it out of my own hands. The book is cleverly laced with suspense and pulls you into the world of drugs. I loved the perspective given from the book, and I think it very realistically displayed the harsh reality of drugs.

    Shown throughout is how Christians should act, and just how far one might go for another. I loved this book and it is just as good or better than Intervention. Great work, Terri!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense Ripped from Todays Headlines

    Terri Blackstock pens a compelling novel depicting the epidemic young people are faced with today. I was thankful to receive a review copy of this dramatic, suspenseful story that could be taken from headlines today.

    Crystal meth devastates more than the addicts' body it also destroys everything the addict touches. Edith appreciated her mom and her brother Lance's support this year as she tried to get off a drug that controlled everything about her and learn how to make it in the world clean and sober. Her demons had laid low at New Hope regeneration center. She could be fooled to think they were gone for good; she knew better. Biggest thing she learned was that she needed God's help more than ever. Graduation day was near and returning to familiar stomping grounds terrified her.

    Edith prayed for a girl she met at New Hope named Jill. She was pregnant, 15 years old, and addicted to Crystal Meth. She left the center one day and never came back. Edith liked Jill and could see how she was distracted by her addict brother and mom who didn't want her to get well.

    Jill got high the day she got home. Her mom gave her some drugs to relieve the pain. She was in so much pain and there were blood on her sheets. What was happening to her? She focuses on the bed and sees a little baby. Her baby! She wraps it up on a town and calls for her mom who used to be a nurse. She begs to be brought to the hospital! Her mom refuses and tells her not to worry!

    As soon as Jill looks into the eyes of this beautiful baby her heart wells up with love and she desires to do more for her than her own mother. She thought of New Hope and the help she would need to break the vicious cycle her family has been on. She hoped for a way to save her baby from the horrific life she's lived.

    Terri Blackstock reveals the realistic side of being an addict, and what it takes to break free of the addicted life. Shattering the cycle of addiction takes a supporting family, support group and most of all a personal relationship with Jesus. Terri Blackstock does a brilliant job of getting into the heart and mind of a user and how the drug controls them in every way. I like how this author doesn't leave the reader there in despair but shows there is hope in the middle of what seems an impossible situation. The addict and their family can celebrate recovery one day at a time with God's help. This is a powerful book. I highly recommend reading this series! I'm looking forward to reading Terri's next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Was Hooked!

    I was hooked into "Vicious Cycle" by Terri Blackstock from beginning to end!  It is actually about two families, one Christian family with a teenage daughter (Emily) who is just getting out of rehab after being in for a year and the other who is addicted to meth and wants to sell the teenage daughter's baby for $45,000.  The only glitch is that the girl, Jordan, does not want to sell her baby but wants to give it up for adoption instead, and gets Emily's brother (Lance) to help her get it away from her mother and brother. 
     
    "Vicious Cycle" is a good Christian fiction suspense novel that I couldn't put down.  I cared about the characters and was anxious to see how things would turn out.  It shows how drugs can ruin lives and how hard it is to get off them, but that it is possible.  I especially liked Lance because he's a good teen who really cares about others which got him into some dangerous situations.  I liked how the author shows the contrast between the two different families and yet the fact that anyone could get hooked on drugs.  Every day we need to do the next right thing. 
     
    I recommend "Vicious Cycle" to anyone who likes stories about family, suspense or teens.  This book is about the same Christian family that is in "Intervention," the story of the mother getting Emily into rehab for her drug addiction.  It's very good too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4