Customer Reviews for

The Vicious Deep (Vicious Deep Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this yea

Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this year, it feels like it has been a while since I actually read one. It was good to get wet with the Vicious Deep!

I loved the voice of a male narrator, written by a female author. Very witty and sly and humoro...
Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this year, it feels like it has been a while since I actually read one. It was good to get wet with the Vicious Deep!

I loved the voice of a male narrator, written by a female author. Very witty and sly and humorous! In some places the dialog felt a little over-the-top and trite, but it did not take away from the overall enjoyment of the characters. Tristan trying to get through the last two weeks of high school as a "changed" man was a great setting for the story. And the descriptions of him changing were refreshingly gruesome.

It's a little hokey in some places, with the plot of merfolk walking around on land. But sometimes it is more fun to have paranormal elements mixed in with real life, rather than trying to bring the reader completely into a new world. I also wanted to see more of Layla. As a central character in the story, I didn't think we really saw enough of her at all. The romance between her and Tristan was frustratingly vague, as well. Whenever Tristan pined for her but didn't act on it, I got frustrated with him. But the other characters in Kurt, Thalia, The Sea King, and even Maddy added their own value to the story.

This was Zoraida Cordova's debut novel, and I see a lot of potential from her. The second book in this series is currently titled The Savage Blue, and I expect to see more fabulous scenes (underwater?!?) and expertly funny lines.

posted by ChelseaW on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and

Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and although I've only read a couple of them that I've greatly enjoyed, I was optimistic when it came to reading The Vicious Deep. The description definitely gives you the idea that these aren't your typical me...
Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and although I've only read a couple of them that I've greatly enjoyed, I was optimistic when it came to reading The Vicious Deep. The description definitely gives you the idea that these aren't your typical mermaids and I was curious about that.

Ultimately, however, The Vicious Deep didn't stand out as much as I hoped it would, but it was a fun and interesting read nonetheless.

Reasons to Read:

1.Role reversal:

You know what I really liked about The Vicious Deep? That we get to have a MALE main character, one who has a history of being a jerk and getting around. And even though I found myself rolling my eyes at him (often), it was refreshing to read from the perspective of a character that isn't focused on much. And his willingess to admit when he's wrong (at least in his head) made him endearing; I think we'll be seeing a significant amount of personal growth from him in future books. Plus, I liked that we got to experience his confusion regarding his relationship with his best friend since most of the books I read take place from the female perspective.

2.Layla and her endearing character:

Layla was my favourite character, hands down. I loved that she wasn't willing to put up with any of Tristan's crap and she was willing to call him out for it. And she exhibits so much bravery in the face of uncertainty, you just have to admire her for that. Like I mentioned above, I also enjoyed seeing her through Tristan's eyes. I think SHE is the character to watch and that she'll be the one who ends up being a force to be reckoned with.

The Vicious Deep also has some interesting mythology behind it and I enjoyed that but it just wasn't as unique or creative as I had hoped. I had heard that these weren't like the mermaids you find in The Little Mermaid, but I actually didn't find them to be that different. They weren't nearly as creepy as I was expecting, so it really didn't deliver on that end.

But my biggest issue with it was how slow it felt; it seemed to take an inordinate amount of time to get the ball rolling, even with such high stakes. The story takes place in such a short period of time, and most of it revolves around Tristan sorting himself out and figuring out what he should be doing. I was hoping for something that was a bit more fast-paced.

Overall, it was still a fun read and I enjoyed reading it. I'll be picking up the sequel to see where the story goes, but I'd advise you not to expect anything mind-blowing.

ARC received from Raincoast Books.

posted by EverAfterEsther on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this yea

    Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this year, it feels like it has been a while since I actually read one. It was good to get wet with the Vicious Deep!

    I loved the voice of a male narrator, written by a female author. Very witty and sly and humorous! In some places the dialog felt a little over-the-top and trite, but it did not take away from the overall enjoyment of the characters. Tristan trying to get through the last two weeks of high school as a "changed" man was a great setting for the story. And the descriptions of him changing were refreshingly gruesome.

    It's a little hokey in some places, with the plot of merfolk walking around on land. But sometimes it is more fun to have paranormal elements mixed in with real life, rather than trying to bring the reader completely into a new world. I also wanted to see more of Layla. As a central character in the story, I didn't think we really saw enough of her at all. The romance between her and Tristan was frustratingly vague, as well. Whenever Tristan pined for her but didn't act on it, I got frustrated with him. But the other characters in Kurt, Thalia, The Sea King, and even Maddy added their own value to the story.

    This was Zoraida Cordova's debut novel, and I see a lot of potential from her. The second book in this series is currently titled The Savage Blue, and I expect to see more fabulous scenes (underwater?!?) and expertly funny lines.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    The book

    BEST BOOK EVER

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and

    Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and although I've only read a couple of them that I've greatly enjoyed, I was optimistic when it came to reading The Vicious Deep. The description definitely gives you the idea that these aren't your typical mermaids and I was curious about that.

    Ultimately, however, The Vicious Deep didn't stand out as much as I hoped it would, but it was a fun and interesting read nonetheless.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Role reversal:

    You know what I really liked about The Vicious Deep? That we get to have a MALE main character, one who has a history of being a jerk and getting around. And even though I found myself rolling my eyes at him (often), it was refreshing to read from the perspective of a character that isn't focused on much. And his willingess to admit when he's wrong (at least in his head) made him endearing; I think we'll be seeing a significant amount of personal growth from him in future books. Plus, I liked that we got to experience his confusion regarding his relationship with his best friend since most of the books I read take place from the female perspective.

    2.Layla and her endearing character:

    Layla was my favourite character, hands down. I loved that she wasn't willing to put up with any of Tristan's crap and she was willing to call him out for it. And she exhibits so much bravery in the face of uncertainty, you just have to admire her for that. Like I mentioned above, I also enjoyed seeing her through Tristan's eyes. I think SHE is the character to watch and that she'll be the one who ends up being a force to be reckoned with.

    The Vicious Deep also has some interesting mythology behind it and I enjoyed that but it just wasn't as unique or creative as I had hoped. I had heard that these weren't like the mermaids you find in The Little Mermaid, but I actually didn't find them to be that different. They weren't nearly as creepy as I was expecting, so it really didn't deliver on that end.

    But my biggest issue with it was how slow it felt; it seemed to take an inordinate amount of time to get the ball rolling, even with such high stakes. The story takes place in such a short period of time, and most of it revolves around Tristan sorting himself out and figuring out what he should be doing. I was hoping for something that was a bit more fast-paced.

    Overall, it was still a fun read and I enjoyed reading it. I'll be picking up the sequel to see where the story goes, but I'd advise you not to expect anything mind-blowing.

    ARC received from Raincoast Books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    I really like the setting of the book, and the way Zoraida write

    I really like the setting of the book, and the way Zoraida writes just keeps pulling me to read more. I cannot put the book down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of The Vicious Deep

    Loved it! Love! Love! Loved it! Everything about The Vicious Deep took hold of my heart and my emotions and throughout the novel it never let go. Lucky for all of us readers, each “part” of the novel starts with a fancy and deep quote and tosses us into the awesome storyline. The novel itself starts at a fast pace as our main character Tristan is swallowed whole by an ocean wave and is swept off into the sea. Because of this, we also get introduced to the Silver Mermaid and to Layla: Tristan’s best friend and his soon to be crush.

    I have to admit that it took a while to get to the mermaid-goodness of the story and while the story introduced us to Tristan’s life and to his jerky past… when we do get to see/read about the mermaids it all happens in a hilarious scene where we meet Kurt and Thalia, learn that Tristan’s mother was keeping a ton of secrets from Tristan and even watch Tristan panic as he grows his…erm… tail? Or is it fins? Either way, from that point on in the novel, everything about the story was just amazing.

    When we got to go to the mermaid kingdom, my childhood totally kicked in and had me imagining the little mermaid kingdom and all of its citizens. Except, that like the novel states: “These are not the mermaids you know” … and that’s totally true! If you were expecting to see a little red-headed mermaid who wants to walk on land, you are going to be in for a shock when there are mermaids who attract every man around them, use magic, and there’s the occasional abomination mermaid that I can’t go into much detail on because they scare the living daylights out of me.

    As I reached the mid-way point (or at least around there), I didn’t think that the story could get any better. That is, up until Tristan is forced to compete in a challenge to become the Sea King, by finding an Oracle (Greek mythology anyone?) who has a piece of the Triton and the first three Champions to find the three Triton pieces have to battle it out at some point in time. Come on! How awesome does that sound?

    The ending of the story not only took away my breath, but left me hanging and wondering what happens next. I would recommend this to fans of Holly Black’s Modern Faerie Tales series as well as fans of fantasy and Greek mythology and sparkly mermaid tails.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have mixed thoughts and feelings for The Vicious Deep by . I d

    I have mixed thoughts and feelings for The Vicious Deep by . I didn't really get into the story as much as I thought I would. How it was written and how the story goes isn't bad per se; just missing a quality I can't pin point that would have gotten me enveloped into the story.
    Surprisingly, my favored characters was not the protagonist (Tristan) or even his love interest and Best Friend (Layla), but the characters who played in the background or who played minimal roles.

    Tristan thought and talked about his 'junk' WAY too much border lining on arrogance and annoyance. He lacked depth in who he is as a character unless he's talking about Layla. But even with that, he rambles on about her too much throughout the story that he comes out whinny. He can also be a turn-off; kind of shallow and says things that he shouldn't say out loud. Just my two cents =)

    Layla, is in a way okay, but she frustrates me in some of the things she does/acts. After awhile you just can't help but get irritated with her too.

    Thalia, Kurt, and Marty are by far my favorites and I'm even starting to like Gwen. They are livelier and make better impressions that you can just connect with. They'll stick in your mind throughout the whole book without leaving a bad after taste.

    I greatly enjoyed the humor, sarcasm, and quips that were slung here and there. It gave the ambiance of a light hearted reading. However, I didn't quite like the overly used curses. It felt like they were just thrown in at random within the story without really even needing to.

    The Vicious Deep is a good novel! I might not come off as overly enthuse about it, but it might just be the book that will knock your socks off!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Ready for a summer mermaid read? The author introduces the read

    Ready for a summer mermaid read? The author introduces the reader to the main protagonist, Tristan, early on in the novel. Tristan is slowly changing into something he is not quite sure of, but has no choice in. Get ready to dispel the idea that only females can be mermaids...males can be mermaids, er, mermen too! Tristan knows he must get to the bottom of these odd changes and goes in search of his family, unexpectedly diving a little deeper into his past than he would care to.



    The story takes off as soon as Tristan goes searching for some answers. The reader will view the eerily quiet and chaotic underwater world through Tristan's eyes. The underwater world is both terrifying and beautiful. The author clearly invested a great deal of time in creating the perfect setting and slight tension underlying the plot, keeping the reader firmly on her hook. The idea of diving into a new world is both exciting and scary, the author evokes both emotions, as well as a host of others, in the reader.



    Tristan's character is dynamic during the story. He does seem to mature and grow throughout the novel. The author writes the male point of view with ease, even perfection. The other characters, particularly those of the underwater persuasion, were exciting to meet. The love interest was good, but sometimes felt forced (my only complaint). Overall, this story is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    It's like The Little Mermaid, but with a guy and with way cooler

    It's like The Little Mermaid, but with a guy and with way cooler chracters. I dig.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    I don't like mermaids. But this isn't a mermaid story. The cha

    I don't like mermaids.

    But this isn't a mermaid story. The characters are cool. It's like episode after episode. My favorite is the island of Toliss. I wish I lived there. It's so vibrant and lush and why couldn't they just stay there???

    I don't see the crude sexual references someone mentioned somewhere. Every guy I know has two thoughts, and they all revolve around their genitalia. It's natural. And Tristan does it in a way that's so funny. It's like hanging out with your friends. I can't wait for book two!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    MY THOUGHTS Part of what drew me to this book was the fact that

    MY THOUGHTS
    Part of what drew me to this book was the fact that this is a mermaid book from a guy part of view. I'm a bit disappointed, even though I still liked it, because I was expected the sea people to be vicious for some reason...

    When lifeguarding, Tristan gets caught up in a wave. It only lasted a few seconds for him, but it turns out that he has been missing for three days. All he can 'recall' is a nightmare of a silver, sharp teethed mermaid.  Soon, Tristan goes through strange changes and finds out that he's actually part mer creature. Not only that, but here's also the heir to an underwater kingdom. Tristan has to face what he now is along with discovering the meaning behind his nightmares.

    This book, in the beginning kind of reminded me of that one Disney Channel movie, The Thirteenth Year, as both feature a dude turning into a mermaid (merman?). This book is immensely different, but I couldn't help thinking about it. 

    No, this book goes into much more than 'guy is half mermaid'! I really enjoyed seeing how the world of the sea people worked and all of it was very well detailed! I mentioned earlier that I expected the sea people to be vicious and while the main sea people weren't, there is a lot of danger in this book!

    I did have issues with Tristian. He did have the distant guy voice, which was great, and I loved his sarcasm, but he really did come off as a jerk sometimes. This especially irritated me when it came to Layla. Tristan has a crush on Layla and says he loves her (in his head), but he acts like a complete jerk to her! No wonder she doesn't really like him!

    IN CONCLUSION
    I felt like a lot of this book was introducing us to a new series and, really, this was a really great start! I enjoyed reading this book and I have already read the sequel! I do intend on finishing up this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Great

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    This continues to be my all-time favorite mermaid story ever! Ac

    This continues to be my all-time favorite mermaid story ever!
    Actually, it's my favorite merman, underwater, oracles, kingdom book ever!
    There is so much to the story, and the author's writing was/is amazing - giving enough details with a strong lead male and point-of-view and the underwater world building is amazing... 

    Tristan is your typical teen boy who knows who he is and what he loves - he's captain of the swim team, popular in school and with the girls, haves a wonderful family, best friends and loves his home in Coney Island.
    So what happens to the guy who has it all finds out that he's a mermaid? No, no - a merman???
    He freaks out!... and then embraces it and just goes with the flow... literally and figuratively.
    Oh, and then throw in that the grandfather he never knew nominates him as one of the champions to compete for the throne to be the Sea King - no problem, Tristan takes it all in and cracks a joke about it, because that is Tristan's defense mechanism to take the seriousness out of everything that is happening to him. His attitude his refreshing and realistic - where many people would panic, breakdown and cave into the fear of something so huge happening to them (he has a fishtail!), Tristan took it all in stride and accepted it, because he knew that no matter what he did, he couldn't change the pass and had to face his new future. Tristan, a bit egotistical, but downright loving and loyal, has such a fun attitude and an amusing but brilliant way about looking and dealing with things that he thought were impossible. I really, really enjoyed getting to know Tristan, his old and new friends and family.
    Like I mentioned, Tristan is an average teen boy, there are some crude moments and thoughts, crass language and behavior, but the author did it well and did not go overboard - sorry to say, but boys will be boys, even when they're swimming around with a fishtail.

    The love story is like no other, it's not the typical storyline where they're all lovey-dovey for each other, it's the love/hate kind where she, Layla, is just as strong-minded and opinionated as Tristan. She never backs down from him, or anyone else. Surprisingly she recovers from the shock of Tristan's news and handles everything pretty well. As well as any human can. I really liked Layla and look forward to seeing how their relationship will develop with everything that is going on, which will be very difficult to keep together.

    The story is fast-paced, (which I love and always seem to fall upon), with realistic scenery and characters. All the details to the Sea Kings floating island, Toliss, to the color and texture to Tristan and his merfriends scales and tails, to other creatures living in the sea, and those that have been banished from the sea to live on land - all realistic, beautiful and imaginative. I would love to see this trilogy be turned into a movie in the future - a future that would have all of the technology to truly breathe life into all of this beauty that the author created. 

    I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of Tristan's journey as champion.
    I hope to see more of this author's writing soon!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    This book is a bit hard to rate. Im a bit torn, because I love t

    This book is a bit hard to rate. Im a bit torn, because I love the author, but I just didn't connect with the book the way I wanted to. 

    I definitely think the story shows promise to get more interesting, but for me, lack of strong character development was a concern for me.

    I'll start off first by giving you a run down of the book's content. "The Vicious Deep" follows the exploits of Tristan Hart, a young man, whom with time discovers he is a merman, and must embark on an adventure to gain not only the favor of the people, or fey-folk(really anything type of creature really), but also to find pieces of the Triton, a powerful weapon he would've inherited, had he been born to the sea, but must prove he is worthy to hold.

    There were more things I didn't connect with than I did. Im not sure if this is the writing style signature to the author, or the way the story is edited, but there are many times where the story drifts and leaves me either bored, or confused. Or perhaps it could be the many characters that were often introduced, with either little warning, and not enough for me to have any type of relationship with.

    In my opinion, the book is it's strongest during it's first 50-60 pages. Im not sure why I wasn't in love with the way the story was told, but I did like the story itself. The pacing was often at times slowed down because of the main character. Perhaps Tristan is not a clear enough narrator. At times he focuses on many things that lack importance, and while I get why(he is after all a teenage boy)his narrative wasnt as intelligent as I wouldve liked him to be.

    This is not to say he's not likable. In fact he is. But perhaps I only feel this way because he is extremely good looking. While Tristan is likable, I dont find him very relatable. I wanted to relate to him, but his experiences just weren't universal. Im not talking about his adventures as a merman, Im actually referring more to his life style, how he handles situations, heck, if im being honest, i'll just throw this out there. Because he's a white guy. I've related to white characters in the past. While I will say that they've mainly been women, I have on occasion related well to a white guy. But for Tristan to be from Brooklyn, I dont know. I guess I kept expecting for him to be a little more well rounded. But I did like that this story is told from a guy's point of view, because it's extremely rare to find a story about merfolk from the perspective of a man's.

    I think that the back story is absolutely awesome. I love the villain, even though for now she works indirectly. She reminds me a bit of a vicious Ursula, and I do look forward to seeing and hearing more from her, and I liked how she created much of the conflict our hero needed to discover things about his identity.

    The world-building is cool. I don't know if I picture absolutely everything as well as it's written, but I tried my best not to get lost in description. 

    This is where I get a little anal. The diversity isn't as strong as I would've thought, or liked it to be. I do give credit where it is due, because Tristan's love interest, Layla, is Latina.

    But Im on the fence on how I feel about Layla. I think Im a bit biased, because the only real reason Im trying to like her is because she's the only woman of color in the book. She's half Greek and half Ecuadorian, and seems to be in tune with both sides, but I kinda wonder what she would've been like if she'd just been written Ecuadorian. I definitely don't find anything wrong with having a multi-ethnic person be represented, but I just wonder. Maybe because growing up, my neighborhood was about 55% Ecuadorian, 20% African-American,15% Puerto Rican, and 10% whatever else. Granted it wasn't a big neighborhood, but my exposure to American or South American born Ecuadorians kinda has me thinking this way because of that.

    Layla was gorgeous too. She was athletic, and I love the girls who work out. She wasn't intentionally stereotypical, but what I will say, is that her being the only woman of color, made everyone who pretty much drooled over her, make her appear fetish-ized. Maybe if there'd been more non white female characters to balance it out, it would've have come of as guys wanting to bang the "fiery Latina."

    I also wasn't sold 100% on their love story. She and Tristan are best friends, which I am sold on. But Tristan was very comfortable sexually, to spread his comfort for whomever would take it. He just expected Layla to know his feelings were genuine, even when he didn't show it. And him forcing a kiss on her in the beginning isn't as harmless as it comes off as. It was unwanted and if a stranger did the same thing, you'd be able to press charges. Maybe as the story grows I'll change my mind about them, but for now, they just don't do it as lovers for me.

    I want to also talk about diversity. Outside of Layla, there are two minor characters whom are men of color. One Puerto Rican, the other American of Jamaican descent. They weren't mentioned enough for me to care about them as much as I would've liked to. I kept thinking what part of Brooklyn are they from? Im not a New Yorker, so I know I don't have the right, but I've been back and forth there for college. The Brooklyn I knew had Asians, Latinos, Caribbean, African American,pretty much whatever you can think of. 

    I wondered why out of all Tristan's friends, only the white ones Ryan and Angelo(whom was Italian)were described in great detail, and/or joined in action sequences, and had more than one or two lines at a time. I had no idea what his friends of color looked like, but Ryan and Angelo were pictured clearly.

    The diversity I think just could have been stronger. This isn't to come down on the book, but they head to florida the next book. Being Afro-Cuban American, I hope to see some Cubans, or at least a Haitian XD

    The cover is amazing, and one of the reasons I bought the book in the first place. It speaks to the mission of the story, so I have no complaints there. The book's titles is also eye catching. I couldn't think of a more catching title for a story about merfolk. And I loved the character names. I love the name Tristan, and I love the name Layla. There are many other characters with unique names, that are a bit hard to remember the exact spelling, but the character Gwen's name caught my attention, seeing as how Im a Gwen(Though mine is spelled Guin).

    Im definitely going to continue the series in hopes it connects with me better than the first book has. I hope the diversity is allowed to grow as well. It's a bit difficult to rate, because Im on the fence with a point, but Ill say it's between a 1.75-2.00

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Awesome Book

    Even though the book had a little more "mature" content than I expected, it was an overall really great book. I actually cried when the one person actually died... (i didnt want to say who, so you just have to read it yourself)!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great book

    This overall is a really good book. The plot was interestung however at times it did move a little too slow for my tastes. This book is nost definitely a worthy read. It is a good choice d theres a second book. Im hooked! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Mermaid Story

    Its always nice to read a novel with a male POV but I was particularly happy with how much of a guy Tristan is. He talks about girls, swears and jokes around with his friends. Beside Tristan there are many colorful personalities in the novel that help keep the plot interesting and the humor going strong. I especially liked Gwen and Thalia. Nothing like a pair of mermaids to steer things up and cause some trouble. The mermaid mythology is familiar and easy to follow. My biggest complaint with the novel is how rushed it felt. With that said, its pretty action packed and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Awsome

    Exciting book. I enjoyed it so much i can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    So, Tristan Hart. Boy with the ridiculously pretty turquoise eye

    So, Tristan Hart. Boy with the ridiculously pretty turquoise eyes. Swim team star. Lifeguard. Kind of adorable, kind of an ass. Tristan has a reputation with the ladies, and because of this, the one girl he actually wants, doesn’t want to take a chance on him. I really liked the way the romance is handled in this book. Falling for the best friend is one of my favourite tropes, after all.

    It’s a pretty light read. There are amusing moments. I kind of wanted the story to be darker. I wanted more of the vicious. There are a lot of action sequences, and some of Tristan’s friends end up as cannon fodder, but it still stayed on the light side. I think this is mostly because of how Tristan reacts to things, he’s very laid back most of the time. Not that I want angst, but sheesh, I would be a lot more upset if I suddenly had a tail.

    This book would probably make for a pretty movie, being that all the characters are so colourful. Mermaids are gorgeous, shiny things who can whip an entire school into hormone addled frenzy.

    I will probably read the second book, because I want to know more about Gwen (who stole the show in the last 3rd of the book to me) and I am seriously hoping for a sex scene just so we will once and finally know where exactly Tristan’s junk goes while in merman form. I can't be the only curious one. 

    I'd give this book 3.5 stars. Rounding up due to lack of halves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is an awesome book, but i swear if Layla and Tristan don't

    This is an awesome book, but i swear if Layla and Tristan don't  end up together i will burn my book if a fiery wrath

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    The Vicious Deep is a wonderful paranormal YA adventure about me

    The Vicious Deep is a wonderful paranormal YA adventure about merfolk with some mythology mixed in. The story is narrated by Tristan who is very popular and a bit arrogant. While he is at times humorous, he is also very much (in my opinion) a man slut.

    Tristan’s adventure begins when a tidal wave sweeps across the coast where he is acting as a lifeguard. He sees someone in need of rescuing and ends up disappearing himself. Several days later his best friend finds him on the beach alive but is unable to tell them where he was those days he was missing. Strange things start to happen as he slowly find out he is not who he thought he was.

    I am very impressed that this was the author’s debut novel and I look forward to reading more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2