BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Vicious Deep (Vicious Deep Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this yea

Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this year, it feels like it has been a while since I actually read one. It was good to get wet with the Vicious Deep!

I loved the voice of a male narrator, written by a female author. Very witty and sly and humoro...
Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this year, it feels like it has been a while since I actually read one. It was good to get wet with the Vicious Deep!

I loved the voice of a male narrator, written by a female author. Very witty and sly and humorous! In some places the dialog felt a little over-the-top and trite, but it did not take away from the overall enjoyment of the characters. Tristan trying to get through the last two weeks of high school as a "changed" man was a great setting for the story. And the descriptions of him changing were refreshingly gruesome.

It's a little hokey in some places, with the plot of merfolk walking around on land. But sometimes it is more fun to have paranormal elements mixed in with real life, rather than trying to bring the reader completely into a new world. I also wanted to see more of Layla. As a central character in the story, I didn't think we really saw enough of her at all. The romance between her and Tristan was frustratingly vague, as well. Whenever Tristan pined for her but didn't act on it, I got frustrated with him. But the other characters in Kurt, Thalia, The Sea King, and even Maddy added their own value to the story.

This was Zoraida Cordova's debut novel, and I see a lot of potential from her. The second book in this series is currently titled The Savage Blue, and I expect to see more fabulous scenes (underwater?!?) and expertly funny lines.

posted by ChelseaW on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and

Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and although I've only read a couple of them that I've greatly enjoyed, I was optimistic when it came to reading The Vicious Deep. The description definitely gives you the idea that these aren't your typical me...
Mermaids seem to be the new "it" thing right now, and although I've only read a couple of them that I've greatly enjoyed, I was optimistic when it came to reading The Vicious Deep. The description definitely gives you the idea that these aren't your typical mermaids and I was curious about that.

Ultimately, however, The Vicious Deep didn't stand out as much as I hoped it would, but it was a fun and interesting read nonetheless.

Reasons to Read:

1.Role reversal:

You know what I really liked about The Vicious Deep? That we get to have a MALE main character, one who has a history of being a jerk and getting around. And even though I found myself rolling my eyes at him (often), it was refreshing to read from the perspective of a character that isn't focused on much. And his willingess to admit when he's wrong (at least in his head) made him endearing; I think we'll be seeing a significant amount of personal growth from him in future books. Plus, I liked that we got to experience his confusion regarding his relationship with his best friend since most of the books I read take place from the female perspective.

2.Layla and her endearing character:

Layla was my favourite character, hands down. I loved that she wasn't willing to put up with any of Tristan's crap and she was willing to call him out for it. And she exhibits so much bravery in the face of uncertainty, you just have to admire her for that. Like I mentioned above, I also enjoyed seeing her through Tristan's eyes. I think SHE is the character to watch and that she'll be the one who ends up being a force to be reckoned with.

The Vicious Deep also has some interesting mythology behind it and I enjoyed that but it just wasn't as unique or creative as I had hoped. I had heard that these weren't like the mermaids you find in The Little Mermaid, but I actually didn't find them to be that different. They weren't nearly as creepy as I was expecting, so it really didn't deliver on that end.

But my biggest issue with it was how slow it felt; it seemed to take an inordinate amount of time to get the ball rolling, even with such high stakes. The story takes place in such a short period of time, and most of it revolves around Tristan sorting himself out and figuring out what he should be doing. I was hoping for something that was a bit more fast-paced.

Overall, it was still a fun read and I enjoyed reading it. I'll be picking up the sequel to see where the story goes, but I'd advise you not to expect anything mind-blowing.

ARC received from Raincoast Books.

posted by EverAfterEsther on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this yea

    Ahh... even with so many mermaid stories being released this year, it feels like it has been a while since I actually read one. It was good to get wet with the Vicious Deep!

    I loved the voice of a male narrator, written by a female author. Very witty and sly and humorous! In some places the dialog felt a little over-the-top and trite, but it did not take away from the overall enjoyment of the characters. Tristan trying to get through the last two weeks of high school as a "changed" man was a great setting for the story. And the descriptions of him changing were refreshingly gruesome.

    It's a little hokey in some places, with the plot of merfolk walking around on land. But sometimes it is more fun to have paranormal elements mixed in with real life, rather than trying to bring the reader completely into a new world. I also wanted to see more of Layla. As a central character in the story, I didn't think we really saw enough of her at all. The romance between her and Tristan was frustratingly vague, as well. Whenever Tristan pined for her but didn't act on it, I got frustrated with him. But the other characters in Kurt, Thalia, The Sea King, and even Maddy added their own value to the story.

    This was Zoraida Cordova's debut novel, and I see a lot of potential from her. The second book in this series is currently titled The Savage Blue, and I expect to see more fabulous scenes (underwater?!?) and expertly funny lines.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Ready for a summer mermaid read? The author introduces the read

    Ready for a summer mermaid read? The author introduces the reader to the main protagonist, Tristan, early on in the novel. Tristan is slowly changing into something he is not quite sure of, but has no choice in. Get ready to dispel the idea that only females can be mermaids...males can be mermaids, er, mermen too! Tristan knows he must get to the bottom of these odd changes and goes in search of his family, unexpectedly diving a little deeper into his past than he would care to.



    The story takes off as soon as Tristan goes searching for some answers. The reader will view the eerily quiet and chaotic underwater world through Tristan's eyes. The underwater world is both terrifying and beautiful. The author clearly invested a great deal of time in creating the perfect setting and slight tension underlying the plot, keeping the reader firmly on her hook. The idea of diving into a new world is both exciting and scary, the author evokes both emotions, as well as a host of others, in the reader.



    Tristan's character is dynamic during the story. He does seem to mature and grow throughout the novel. The author writes the male point of view with ease, even perfection. The other characters, particularly those of the underwater persuasion, were exciting to meet. The love interest was good, but sometimes felt forced (my only complaint). Overall, this story is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    It's like The Little Mermaid, but with a guy and with way cooler

    It's like The Little Mermaid, but with a guy and with way cooler chracters. I dig.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Great

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    This continues to be my all-time favorite mermaid story ever! Ac

    This continues to be my all-time favorite mermaid story ever!
    Actually, it's my favorite merman, underwater, oracles, kingdom book ever!
    There is so much to the story, and the author's writing was/is amazing - giving enough details with a strong lead male and point-of-view and the underwater world building is amazing... 

    Tristan is your typical teen boy who knows who he is and what he loves - he's captain of the swim team, popular in school and with the girls, haves a wonderful family, best friends and loves his home in Coney Island.
    So what happens to the guy who has it all finds out that he's a mermaid? No, no - a merman???
    He freaks out!... and then embraces it and just goes with the flow... literally and figuratively.
    Oh, and then throw in that the grandfather he never knew nominates him as one of the champions to compete for the throne to be the Sea King - no problem, Tristan takes it all in and cracks a joke about it, because that is Tristan's defense mechanism to take the seriousness out of everything that is happening to him. His attitude his refreshing and realistic - where many people would panic, breakdown and cave into the fear of something so huge happening to them (he has a fishtail!), Tristan took it all in stride and accepted it, because he knew that no matter what he did, he couldn't change the pass and had to face his new future. Tristan, a bit egotistical, but downright loving and loyal, has such a fun attitude and an amusing but brilliant way about looking and dealing with things that he thought were impossible. I really, really enjoyed getting to know Tristan, his old and new friends and family.
    Like I mentioned, Tristan is an average teen boy, there are some crude moments and thoughts, crass language and behavior, but the author did it well and did not go overboard - sorry to say, but boys will be boys, even when they're swimming around with a fishtail.

    The love story is like no other, it's not the typical storyline where they're all lovey-dovey for each other, it's the love/hate kind where she, Layla, is just as strong-minded and opinionated as Tristan. She never backs down from him, or anyone else. Surprisingly she recovers from the shock of Tristan's news and handles everything pretty well. As well as any human can. I really liked Layla and look forward to seeing how their relationship will develop with everything that is going on, which will be very difficult to keep together.

    The story is fast-paced, (which I love and always seem to fall upon), with realistic scenery and characters. All the details to the Sea Kings floating island, Toliss, to the color and texture to Tristan and his merfriends scales and tails, to other creatures living in the sea, and those that have been banished from the sea to live on land - all realistic, beautiful and imaginative. I would love to see this trilogy be turned into a movie in the future - a future that would have all of the technology to truly breathe life into all of this beauty that the author created. 

    I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of Tristan's journey as champion.
    I hope to see more of this author's writing soon!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Awesome Book

    Even though the book had a little more "mature" content than I expected, it was an overall really great book. I actually cried when the one person actually died... (i didnt want to say who, so you just have to read it yourself)!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great book

    This overall is a really good book. The plot was interestung however at times it did move a little too slow for my tastes. This book is nost definitely a worthy read. It is a good choice d theres a second book. Im hooked! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Mermaid Story

    Its always nice to read a novel with a male POV but I was particularly happy with how much of a guy Tristan is. He talks about girls, swears and jokes around with his friends. Beside Tristan there are many colorful personalities in the novel that help keep the plot interesting and the humor going strong. I especially liked Gwen and Thalia. Nothing like a pair of mermaids to steer things up and cause some trouble. The mermaid mythology is familiar and easy to follow. My biggest complaint with the novel is how rushed it felt. With that said, its pretty action packed and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    So, Tristan Hart. Boy with the ridiculously pretty turquoise eye

    So, Tristan Hart. Boy with the ridiculously pretty turquoise eyes. Swim team star. Lifeguard. Kind of adorable, kind of an ass. Tristan has a reputation with the ladies, and because of this, the one girl he actually wants, doesn’t want to take a chance on him. I really liked the way the romance is handled in this book. Falling for the best friend is one of my favourite tropes, after all.

    It’s a pretty light read. There are amusing moments. I kind of wanted the story to be darker. I wanted more of the vicious. There are a lot of action sequences, and some of Tristan’s friends end up as cannon fodder, but it still stayed on the light side. I think this is mostly because of how Tristan reacts to things, he’s very laid back most of the time. Not that I want angst, but sheesh, I would be a lot more upset if I suddenly had a tail.

    This book would probably make for a pretty movie, being that all the characters are so colourful. Mermaids are gorgeous, shiny things who can whip an entire school into hormone addled frenzy.

    I will probably read the second book, because I want to know more about Gwen (who stole the show in the last 3rd of the book to me) and I am seriously hoping for a sex scene just so we will once and finally know where exactly Tristan’s junk goes while in merman form. I can't be the only curious one. 

    I'd give this book 3.5 stars. Rounding up due to lack of halves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is an awesome book, but i swear if Layla and Tristan don't

    This is an awesome book, but i swear if Layla and Tristan don't  end up together i will burn my book if a fiery wrath

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    The Vicious Deep is a wonderful paranormal YA adventure about me

    The Vicious Deep is a wonderful paranormal YA adventure about merfolk with some mythology mixed in. The story is narrated by Tristan who is very popular and a bit arrogant. While he is at times humorous, he is also very much (in my opinion) a man slut.

    Tristan’s adventure begins when a tidal wave sweeps across the coast where he is acting as a lifeguard. He sees someone in need of rescuing and ends up disappearing himself. Several days later his best friend finds him on the beach alive but is unable to tell them where he was those days he was missing. Strange things start to happen as he slowly find out he is not who he thought he was.

    I am very impressed that this was the author’s debut novel and I look forward to reading more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great Book

    This book intreaged me when i read the back about the silver mermaid. I started reading it right when i got in the car and i couldnt put it down! it was gripping and intreaging and just a great story! :) Zoraida Cordova did an amazing job telling this story from a guys perspective about what he's going through. :) i HIGHLY recomend this story for anyone who wants to read a novel about mermaids :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, fast-paced adventure--definitely worth a read! In the worl

    Fun, fast-paced adventure--definitely worth a read!

    In the world of mermaid lore, I feel like often we get that same stories and tropes over and over again with our beautiful mermaid princess and her handsome human love, but Zoraida Cordova threw over that notion from the very beginning. This book is NOT about a mermaid...but a merman and it's brilliant! The refreshing perspective that a male POV provided pulled me in from the beginning and kept me flipping the pages up until its finale.

    Tristan Hart is your fairly average, good-looking beach-town boy. He's on the swim team, he works as a lifeguard, and he's got QUITE the reputation as a womanizer. When he's swept out to sea in a freak storm, yet returns alive when no one else survived, his world is rapidly turned upside down. Finding out that your a merman is one thing--your parents NOT freaking out? Somebody has obviously got some explaining to do.

    I really enjoyed Tristan's voice in this novel. It felt like an authentic male voice (which maybe I can't really say that since I'm, you know, NOT a boy, but whatever). I liked his insecurities and the moments when his womanizing catches up with him. I liked the point of view that a male perspective lends to the fairy tale merfolk lore and I thought that it really emphasized the mythology behind the story.

    The fantasy and mythology aspects of The Vicious Deep are sure to entertain many teen readers and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to many teens I often visit with at the library. The story moves at a perfect pace, pulling you quickly through its pages and leaving you wanting more. The sequel doesn't come out until 2013 and I, personally, will be waiting anxiously to read more of Tristan's journey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1