Customer Reviews for

Vicksburg, 1863

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Inaccurate but written well

    I am halfway through the hardcover version and I have come across glaring inaccuracies. Groom has written that Mississippi called a convention on whether to secede or not after the firing on Fort Sumter. Mississippi seceded January 9, 1861 well before the firing on Fort Sumter in April 1861. He writes on page 136 that Baton Rouge is on the west bank of the Mississippi River. It is on the east bank. He writes that the South¿s Maryland Campaign of 1862 ended at the village of Antietam. The village of Antietam hardly saw any fighting. It was around the town of Sharpsburg and along Antietam Creek that most of the fighting occurred. On page 176 he writes about the Jefferson Barracks in New Orleans. The Jefferson Barracks are in St. Louis, Jackson Barracks is in New Orleans. As an avid reader of history, these inaccuracies have almost made me stop reading the book. However, there are two diarist who lived near or in Vicksburg that give a detailed first person account that isn¿t found in any Civil War books that I have read. Also, Groom is a good story teller so the book is easy to read. I gave it one star because the mistakes are so egregious and I expect more out of a non-fiction book and a historian.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Readable

    I found this History to be both very readable, and from what i know, historically accurate. A very good read for someone who is interested in the saga, and doesn't want to get bogged down in the trivia.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Best book on any major Civil War campaign I've read

    in the last 45 years. The book includes every major and minor battle and/or action on land and river during the campaign lasting well over a year (if one starts the action with the fall of Fort Donaldson Feb 1962) culminating in the capture of Vicksburg.

    Also included is biographical information on those people who are involved including political, newspaper, military, and civilian figures.
    This lengthy campaign is placed in context to what is happening in the eastern theater such as why re-enforcements of Calvary were not sent to Pemberton even though his lack of cavalry rendered him blind to Union troop movements.

    Ten detailed maps are provided as supplements to assist in understanding the tactical situation and movements. Maps are absolutely necessary, in my opinion, in following most military history and the reader will not be disappointed.

    Finally, personal accounts of those on the ground and witnessing the events are interwoven with the strategic and tactical events to give personal and human perspective to the campaign.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Excellent, hard to put down

    Winston Groom has the knack of holding your interest while explaining what was happening, never dry and dusty history. I had read his Shiloh and was so enthralled that I had to get Vicksburg. For the first time the war in the west came alive for me and Civil War buff that I am, it now has an even greater interest for me. So much so that I am going on a trip to see these places in spring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Good but not up to his standards

    The author of "Forrest Gump" takes another crack at Civil War history but comes up short of his "Shrouds of Glory," which explained how Gen. John Bell Hood, who had already lost an arm and a leg, managed to lose the Confederacy's Army of Tennessee in the last year of the war.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Compelling

    This narrative is easy to read and follow. Some good stories on Grant that were not placed in the public domain at the time. Though Mr Groom delves into areas not talked about in other works he doesn't dwell too much on the "in the weeds trivia" type of stuff. It is good however for whetting the appettite of those who wish to go for that. For example, Gen Pemberton had a perplexing situation trying to decide whether to follow orders from Jeff Davis and defend Vicksburg or Joe Johnston and combine forces. Which leads to wondering as to why Johnston made the decisions he did. Overall a good companion read to other works on the topic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good "battle book"

    I hope Winston Groom will write more civil war books. Vicksburg 1863 is a fast paced and entertaining account of the siege and surrender of the "Gibralter of the West". I had never read an account of the bender that Grant went on during the siege and that the newspapermen with the army declined to report it. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very good story of a very bloody time in Americas Civil War

    Groom style of writing has always been an easy read. He weaves history and fiction together in a wonderful prose of literature. I have enjoyed all his other historical novels. He has always said the his hit made him able to write history which is his true love. If you read "Vicksburg 1863" you will see that love in this work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1