Customer Reviews for

Victim Six

Average Rating 3.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Victim Six, A Book That You Can't Put Down.

This book is about a killer in a small town in Washington State In this town nothing exciting happens until a fateful day. I really enjoyed this book so much that I found it hard to put the book down and I could not wait to get to the end and see what happens.
So wh...
This book is about a killer in a small town in Washington State In this town nothing exciting happens until a fateful day. I really enjoyed this book so much that I found it hard to put the book down and I could not wait to get to the end and see what happens.
So when you read this book, make sure you have an afternoon free and curl up in a cozy spot, So you can just read this book. You will find that you will read through this book without even knowing it. "Victim Six" will leave you wanting to read more of Gregg Olson's books.

posted by Polarstarr on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great book. It leaves you guessing

This is the first book I read by Greg Olsen. I have to say it was great. It was very intense and suspenseful throughout the book. This book goes into much detail about seriel killers and what they do to their prey. It is not an "easy read" book by any means. But if you ...
This is the first book I read by Greg Olsen. I have to say it was great. It was very intense and suspenseful throughout the book. This book goes into much detail about seriel killers and what they do to their prey. It is not an "easy read" book by any means. But if you are looking for a book that is going to grab your attention, then this book is it. This won't be the last book I read by Greg Olsen. It was the first of many.

posted by beanzie on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Victim Six, A Book That You Can't Put Down.

    This book is about a killer in a small town in Washington State In this town nothing exciting happens until a fateful day. I really enjoyed this book so much that I found it hard to put the book down and I could not wait to get to the end and see what happens.
    So when you read this book, make sure you have an afternoon free and curl up in a cozy spot, So you can just read this book. You will find that you will read through this book without even knowing it. "Victim Six" will leave you wanting to read more of Gregg Olson's books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great book. It leaves you guessing

    This is the first book I read by Greg Olsen. I have to say it was great. It was very intense and suspenseful throughout the book. This book goes into much detail about seriel killers and what they do to their prey. It is not an "easy read" book by any means. But if you are looking for a book that is going to grab your attention, then this book is it. This won't be the last book I read by Greg Olsen. It was the first of many.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Victim Six is Great Read!

    Gregg Olson has crafted a wonderful thriller. 'Victim Six' explores the duality of man; the social and private personas. All of us have a separation when it comes to the face we put forward in public and that which we save for those closest to us or when we are by ourselves. Gregg Really shows this, and how far they diverge, with Detective Kendall Stark dealing with her home life, a husband and autistic son, and working cases for the Kitsap County sheriff's office with her womanizing co-worker, Josh Anderson. On the other extreme there is the killer's; both normal individual's during the day, but in private, they are two of the most heinous people to walk the face of the Earth. There is also a kind of DR. Jekyll and Mr. Hide, with one of the killers acting as the "Potion" that turns his spouse into a cold blooded tool to further his evil works.
    These are the extreme ends of the duality of people, but the book has other characters who's public and private life diverge to a point beyond what one would consider the right thing to do to borderline criminal negligence. If you had information that could help stop something bad from happening would you tell someone or hold on to the information to advance your career? That is the question but what is the 'Right' answer.
    Gregg is excellent in setting the scene and putting the reader in the action and in doing so he brings forth emotions: Sympathy for the victims, the frustration the detective and victim's families feel, to anger and revulsion at what the killers do.
    I believe that when a writer tries to bring out emotion and he exceeds in doing so, then he has written a great book. Gregg Olsen has written a "Great Book". Read 'Victim Six'!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super serial killer thriller

    In the Puget Sound area, Samuel and Melody Castile abduct Celesta Delgado. They rape and torture her before killing her. Victim number two is Marissa who receives the same treatment from the married couple. The count rises as the married couple stalks, hunts, and kidnaps their targets.

    Kitsap County Sheriff's Office Detective Kendall Stark knows a vicious serial killer-rapist is on the loose. At the same time the cop fears the worst is happening in her county, Melody's sister Serenity thinks her brother-in-law may be a killer; at a minimum she knows he is a lunatic. She fears for melody's safety, unaware that Samuel has selected her as Victim Six and that her sibling is not just aware of her spouse's murders, but a willing participant.

    Victim Six hooks the reader due to the up front and in person deep look at the killing couple as the fast-paced story line comes across with an odd duality of feeling on one hand the story seems over the top of Mt. Rainier and on the other the tale seems plausible. This dichotomy demonstrates why Gregg Olsen is so good at suspense thrillers as readers will believe the Castile duo could have been the villains in the Frighteners as much as Disturbia. Well written and exciting from start to finish, fans will be hooked even knowing who the killers are early on and anticipate the sibling showdown. With a slick final twist, Victim Six is a super serial killer thriller.

    Harrier Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Recommended

    This book delivered an entertaining read. While it didn't rivet me to its pages, it provided solid escapist reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Kept me reading!

    Enjoyed the book, would like another

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Worth the time to read it but....

    ...it seemed like it took forever to get to any action. This was the first time I have read a Gregg Olsen book. I am currently reading "Starvation Heights" which is also by him and a true story. I would recommend that one before I would recommend "Victim Six."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Uncomfortable read for a women

    Some of the descriptions of torture made me extremely uncomfortable. Did not have to be so raw.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    spirit

    great horror tale, through all the blood, guts and gore which could be toned down some it was a riveting story, only for those. with a strong stomach and its ashame that many will miss out because of that,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,really twisted,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Disturbing

    I just read Victim Six and it was my first by Gregg Olsen and I am soooo
    hooked. I felt like I knew one family and wished I could console them since I have worked with autistic children. Then there were those characters who committed such crimes against humanity that I could not even imagine what the victims went through. But, the end will make you wan't to shout out loud...GOD NO. I just started my second book by this author "A Twisted Faith" and really feel like I am getting aquainted with the characters. Gregg Olsen truly connected me to the characters in his books as well as making me feel as though I was familiar with the towns and surroungings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    You will not be able to put it down!

    So impressed to finish this book in one day - it was so well crafted!
    It is gritty but, as a resident of the area depicted, I saw a lot of truth in the characterizations and plot lines. Additionally, the tone was consistent throughout the book without being predictable.
    The flow and plot of this book are so well crafted, it feels like a best seller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Wow

    Wow! Great book! Very suspenseful! Had me glued to my seat from start to finish! Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is the first book I've read by Gregg Olsen but it won't be the last. The story was fast-paced and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Not Bad

    It was an OK read -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Very good read

    Chilling accounts of the crimes but not so much that you can't sleep. Hard to put down. Mr. Olsen gives you a chance to know the victims in a way that makes you feel for them. Am looking forward to my next buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Loved it! Could not put my book down. If you like stories about serial killers, this is one for you. I can't wait to read more books written by Gregg Olsen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good, fast pace reading

    Enjoyed the story, albeit sometimes a bit graphical in descriptions, but then.......the message was delivered.
    Weak ending was a bit disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    OK

    Decent book, never had me on the edge of my seat, predictable ending, pretty much a run of the mill thriller.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Awesome

    This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! I love Gregg Olsen. All his books are good!
    Elaine Thompson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A little predictable

    It became obvious pretty quickly who victim 6 was going to be. The book was OK for a quick, light read. I don't think it is one I will recommend to suspence or crime fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17