Customer Reviews for

Victorious (Lost Fleet Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent military space opera

    In the far distant future, the Alliance and Syndicated worlds have been at war for over a century. Captain John "Black Jack" Geary was in cryogenic sleep for almost that long. Since his fleet successfully evacuated from the system where the Syndicates set a trap, he is regarded as a hero by a war weary public where millions would support him if he chose to be a dictator with the military backing him up. He accepts the post of fleet admiral even though the Ruling Council fears Black Jack.

    He asks the authorities that promoted him to give him permission to negotiate with the Syndics, who have lost much of their ships and military; they are in horrific shape. Granted the authority, when he arrives on the home space station of the Syndics, he did not expect the fight of his life. If he wins, they still have a common enemy; an alien race on the other side of the Syndicate space whose strategic plan is to take control of this sector and ultimately the Alliance too. Geary leads a counter insurgence to prevent this Machiavellian scheme from occurring, but he will need Syndic cooperation to succeed.

    This is the sixth book in the Black Jack military space opera series and fans of the saga will relish the tale as am entertaining twist occurs. The hero is a terrific leader who understands military and political strategy but also understands he sends soldiers to their death while fat cat council leaders have a different agenda than those on the front line. Readers will enjoy Jack Campbell's latest Lost Fleet science fiction thriller because like President Eisenhower the hero has a deep regard for life even with his first hand field knowledge that many of his troops will never go home.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Excellent series

    Blasted my way through every book in the lost fleet series, finding books you cant put down are the best, and this was a series of them! The male point of view did not hamper this female reader in any way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Ending

    A great ending to a really good series. The potential for more after this one is hinted at but it doesn't leave you with some silly cliff hanger or anything like that. Its not the most complex story ever told but it really does a good job of concluding an epic tale in an intelligent/exciting/fun way. I hope there are many more books to come from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Good way to end.

    This book was a good read and brings the characters to an end point that lets you have closure. The author leaves some room to let him continue with these characters in this universe if he wanted to do a sequel series, which I hope he does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Black Jack Geary to the rescue, AGAIN!

    This is Book #6 of Jack Campbell's Lost Fleet series, where previously Captain Jack Geary is woken up after 100 yrs in an escape pod. Heroic deeds in the initial battle of a conflict between the Alliance & Syndicate worlds makes him a legend. In the first five books we see the legend continue through his courageous leadership & ingenuity fighting the honorable way - something the humans in his command have forgotten. 'Victorious' encompasses clever political maneuvering when the fleet triumphantly returns to Alliance space and then starts out again to fight the Syndicates AND an alien force that seems more powerful than anyone can imagine. Insurmountable odds, a beautiful Captain sidekick, political warfare & plot twists & turns make this a really fun read - the only disappointment with is that it ended (!) and who know when the next book will be out??!! Kudos to Jack Campbell (nee John Hemry) Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Welcome to Meadow Creek!

    Your goal here is to SURVIVE.<p>

    No food provided, or water, you're stuck here for the rest of your life. Yay! Now for sure you're dead! Not necessarily. Thre are two ways to win beautiful food and/or wonderful prizes. <br>
    1) HUNTING<BR>
    Bunnies and chicken is good for you! At least better than those dead babies you've been eating.<br>
    2) COMPETITIONS<BR>
    There is a game played at an elected time EVERY SINGLE DAY. Thanks right folks, and theres also the Power Couple competition and the Block Challenge.<br>
    •DAILY COMPETITION<BR>
    This competition is more like games. Here is a list of the games played.<br>
    Capture the Flag- Teams try to capture a flag on the other teams side. Pulling an opponents flag on your side gets them out.<br>
    Pop Quiz- Contestants have to answer a certain question. This will not be announced. When the president announces the game being played, we may be doing a Pop Quiz instead.<br>
    Cops and Robbers- Contestants are locked in cells. The cop unloc their cell and tells them to do something crazy. That person may either do it, unlock other people's cells, or run and try to get out. Keep in mind the cop has a bow and arrows and a sword. (You are wearing armor)<br>
    The Maze- Compete head to head against other contestants.<br>
    Camper's Choice- Selected camper chooses the game.<br>
    Survivor- Complete a quest, or random challenge in teams.<br>
    Wheel Deal- Spin a wheel to get stuff.<br>
    Wake Up- Say we're doing a crazy challenge, but then switch it.<br>
    POWER COUPLE COMPETITION:<p>

    Each week one person is voted off of the show, but they can still be in the jury or human rp.<br>
    Therefore, we have a Power Couple Competition. If somebody wins the competition, they win the title of In Charge and get to select one other person to help them put up three people for eviction. Those three people along with two others will fight for the Block in the Block Challenge.<br>
    BLOCK CHALLENGE:<p>

    This will block any nomination and make that person safe, although the In Charge must put up someone else in their spot.<br>
    ROMANCE:<p>

    After a certain date, you must have a boyfriend/girlfriend. If you do not, you will be automatically put up for eviction that week and not be able to compete in the Block. Your bf/gf will be your Power Couple. You wll no longer be able to choose your partner in the Power Couple. But take your time because it wont be for a while. <p>

    Any questions? Ask me.<br>
    &#9579&alpha&psi&kappa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Worth waiting for.

    Loved every book in this series, worth the read. I am a sci fi reader from my high school days, and this book did not disappoint me. Thank you Jack Campbell. This book has adventure, romance, drama, mystery and lots of action. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Excellent series

    I enjoyed the adventure thoroughly. Each book had nice surprises and great descriptions of the space battles. What kept me reading was the progressive behavioral change of the Alliance fleet and sharing the apprehension of the characters about what lies waiting after the next jump to a new star system!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Great series.

    I am a fan of the series. Great space battles. Not available in the library so I purchased for my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    exciting

    great series, well written, fast paced, looking forward to the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great Series

    Loved this one- it ties the first 5 together well. Cannot wait to get the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good ending to the Series

    I read the entire series and was looking forward to this one. I was not disappointed. It closed the series without any loose ends. I always liked the main character, a man trying to the right thing and worried that he will fail. If like science fiction grand opera this would be a series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    More of the same - which isn't bad

    Like the books in the series before it, this volume continues to chronicle Black Jack Geary. This time, they've done the impossible. Now they want to go back out and finish the job.

    As always, there is a good mix of political struggle in with the space battles, but it is the space battles that always stand out. It is very refreshing to read an author that seems to care about the science involved as well as the action. You feel that each and every ship is accounted for as well as time delays and distances. It's a fantastic story arc with some very intricate scenes.

    My only complaint is that by the end of the series you feel things are being wrapped up a little too neatly. I hope there's more and some pieces have been overlooked and will come into play later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9