BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Victory Garden: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Anna

    An excellent read. It started a little slow but rapidly picked up the pave. It was very enlightening about the plight of women around the turn of the 20th century. I am truly grateful and forever thankful for all that they endured so I could experience, fully, the freedoms I have ad a woman of the 21st century!

    THANK YOU, LADIES.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Love

    History told is amazing. Great story line couldnt put down

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    EVERY woman should read this book. I had NO idea what women had

    EVERY woman should read this book. I had NO idea what women had to go thru to get the right to VOTE. I am ashamed that I Never looked into this before. I don't know much about the Great War so I learned A LOT! This book is made for a Book Club, WOW! I am going to recomend it to every one I know! Especially my 2 daughters. This auther really writes well and obviouisly does a lot of reserch. Way to go! This woman is certainly glad she read it, and I got it free! What a steal! Thank you Debbie Burdwood

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    A Victory in itself

    Loved that its based in the womans equality movement and features an free thinking independant woman. Great read that flows smoothly from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    A good read.

    Very interesting. I would recomnd this for all,especially women,young or old. We owe so much to these women.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    An unexpected great read

    I admit it was slow at first but i found myself wrapped up in the characters and pausing several times to appreciate all that real people like the characters in this book went through for this country. Well written and thought provoking. I plan to read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    This book is an excellent read about a strong woman during a tim

    This book is an excellent read about a strong woman during a time in American history when it wasn't proper to be a strong woman. It started a little slow, but picked up quickly. I especially enjoyed the historical aspects of the story. A great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Enjoyable, But Question Some Techniques

    I enjoyed this and learned things I didn't remember or never learned about WW1 and women's suffrage. However, I had some trouble identifying with the lead character. I wondered why the author chose to use claustrophobia as an aspect of her character? Sometimes the claustrophobia episodes didn't seem to fit with her otherwise strongwilled and competent nature. Having German heritage myself, it was interesting to learn that German-Americans in WWI were treated so badly--much like Japanese-Americans during WWII. The love story has some twists to keep it interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Recommend

    I found this to be an excellent book, getting to know and understand the main character's strengths and flaws and to have another perspective of what women in the past have gone through for us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Very good read, a little short, but a lot was packed into it, pa

    Very good read, a little short, but a lot was packed into it, particularly the last third. It was a little slow to start, but I enjoyed it. It sparked my interest in the woman's suffrage movement and the first world war. A good little read with just enough real history and told in a way that kept it interesting. Would definitely be interested in seeing the last third expanded into more detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Rosepaw

    I got nothing but I will tell you if I find it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    A kaosclan assassain

    warches zem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Omarort@gmaeitablet.com

    POSDATA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2