BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Victory and Honor (Honor Bound Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Enjpyable

In 1945, as the Axis powers were heading to defeat, OSS. Lieutenant Colonel Cletus Frade fears the politicians and the American people will want to turn isolationist in a sort of Fortress America. He knows the OSS mission is winding down as the agency is to soon be dis...
In 1945, as the Axis powers were heading to defeat, OSS. Lieutenant Colonel Cletus Frade fears the politicians and the American people will want to turn isolationist in a sort of Fortress America. He knows the OSS mission is winding down as the agency is to soon be disbanded even as he and others try to prevent the Nazis from escaping to Argentina where they are welcomed. Also a U-boat is heading to Japan with atomic bomb secrets.

However, Frade's biggest concern is the Soviet Union at a time when OSS agents are being offered employment by the other federal alphas. As Frade works a top secret operation to ascertain what Stalin plans to do now that his Red Army has entered Berlin, he and his agents know the risk they take because if something goes wrong their country will slaughter them as combat casualties just when the third world war is beginning to heat up.

The third Griffin-Butterworth collaboration and sixth Honor Bound WW II espionage thriller (see Death and Honor, and The Honor of Spies) reads for the first third of the novel more like a non-action historical setting the environment of the switch from combat to "peace". That overly extended opening is fascinating but also slower than a glacier. The story line picks up speed especially following Frade and his dedicated men working in the field against what appears to be the next hostility while many back home and some in the cold desert the sunken OSS agency sort of like contemporary employees leaving base closure locations rather than move.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Do not recommend!

I have enjoyed the series by W.E.B. Griffin and have read almost all. I was disappointed in this offering as it: A: Was too short! 220 pages compared to 4-500 pgs of his other books. B: Spent too much time rehashing the previous books and plots. C: Did not develop the m...
I have enjoyed the series by W.E.B. Griffin and have read almost all. I was disappointed in this offering as it: A: Was too short! 220 pages compared to 4-500 pgs of his other books. B: Spent too much time rehashing the previous books and plots. C: Did not develop the main focus of the book; birth of the CIA D: Ended prematurely There seems to a definite degradation of the writing style with the collaboration of his son. Perhaps it would be better to develop the story more rather than rush to get it out!

posted by Toothgnome on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjpyable

    In 1945, as the Axis powers were heading to defeat, OSS. Lieutenant Colonel Cletus Frade fears the politicians and the American people will want to turn isolationist in a sort of Fortress America. He knows the OSS mission is winding down as the agency is to soon be disbanded even as he and others try to prevent the Nazis from escaping to Argentina where they are welcomed. Also a U-boat is heading to Japan with atomic bomb secrets.

    However, Frade's biggest concern is the Soviet Union at a time when OSS agents are being offered employment by the other federal alphas. As Frade works a top secret operation to ascertain what Stalin plans to do now that his Red Army has entered Berlin, he and his agents know the risk they take because if something goes wrong their country will slaughter them as combat casualties just when the third world war is beginning to heat up.

    The third Griffin-Butterworth collaboration and sixth Honor Bound WW II espionage thriller (see Death and Honor, and The Honor of Spies) reads for the first third of the novel more like a non-action historical setting the environment of the switch from combat to "peace". That overly extended opening is fascinating but also slower than a glacier. The story line picks up speed especially following Frade and his dedicated men working in the field against what appears to be the next hostility while many back home and some in the cold desert the sunken OSS agency sort of like contemporary employees leaving base closure locations rather than move.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Too Damn Short

    While I enjoyed every minute of reading this book, at 222 pages, there were not nearly enough minutes. William Butterworth IV seems more interested in cranking out fodder to bring in cash than satisfying his father's loyal reader's craving for history, chivalry and escape. Many times in this book I thought there was so much more to say: Peter takes off to Pomerania to see his people, then nothing more about that trip. Tio Juan's entourage flies to Berlin for clandestine reasons - but what were they? Were these story lines so short because WB4 could think of nothing more to say or was it because what was written was culled by an editor? Having read everything WEB Griffin has written and having recently read Under Fire, Corps Series #9, I am disappointed by what this book lacks in comparison.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Do not recommend!

    I have enjoyed the series by W.E.B. Griffin and have read almost all. I was disappointed in this offering as it: A: Was too short! 220 pages compared to 4-500 pgs of his other books. B: Spent too much time rehashing the previous books and plots. C: Did not develop the main focus of the book; birth of the CIA D: Ended prematurely There seems to a definite degradation of the writing style with the collaboration of his son. Perhaps it would be better to develop the story more rather than rush to get it out!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    There should have been a bit more, SR? Really?

    I had to check three times to make sure i didnt miss a book between 5-6, the story over the past five books moved along a timeline. Book six jumped to the end of the war, was to short for the money and left many holes in the story, not pleased as a paying reader

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Glorified Short Story!

    As a loyal reader of Griffins' books, this one was very disappointing. The length of this book is only one of the issues. The confusion of characters names and incorrect references pertaining to earlier books in the series is also disappointing. I find it hard to believe that senior wrote this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    dont bother !!!

    having read every book written by w . e . b . , i can honestly say that this book was probabiy written by someone who did nothing other than plagerize previous HONOR BOUND SERIES books . who really wrote this book .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Not Griffin

    Very disappointing I do not believe Senior wrote this

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    A pleasant casual read, an improvement, but not a deep/expansive work.

    I was originally going to wait, but ended up purchasing an electronic version of the book on a whim a bit past midnight. A few hours - and one book - later, I finally looked up from my reader to see the first signs of daylight appear outside my window.

    ---

    PROS:
    --- Flows well. - While reading it, I don't have an urge to skip entire parts. The writing flows smoothly and makes you interested in wanting to turn each page as quickly as possible so you can find out what's next. For me, "The Outlaws" was a book that didn't flow well and which I wanted to skip whole sections, only to force myself to read it hoping that it would get better (hint: it didn't). That thankfully was not a problem with this book.


    CONS:
    --- Limited / Tightly Focused Story - The story and plot is a lot more focused compared to previous books in this series. It almost seems (or is) linear in terms of what happens and what is being told. In previous books you'd have different sides, action happening simultaneously in different regions, etc. In this novel, it's almost entirely one side and following a group of people in a linear fashion. You get a much more limited view and much more limited action. There's also no major twists or mysteries.

    --- Limited Characters Involved - This novel primarily focuses on a handful of characters with a small supporting cast. True, most stories only have a few main characters, but compared to previous novels in the Honor Bound series, the amount of character involvement diversity is a lot smaller. I guess one way to explain the difference is that in previous novels you might get at least a few pages (if not dozens) on the action or words of minor characters. In this novel, you'd get sentences instead (if at all).

    --- Too short! - Ok, this might just be the age-old problem where the fan just wants more and more. However, let's do a strict page count comparison using Amazon's hardcover page count figures. This book has a page count of 320 pages. Compare that to "The Outlaws" in Dec. 2010 with 432 pages (although I'd take 320 good pages over 432 mediocre pages any day!). Further compare that to 464 pages in "The Vigilantes" in Aug. 2010 or 528 pages in "The Hunters"... I think you get the picture. This book is 100 pages (1/3rd the current length!) shorter than recent releases and nearly 200 pages (2/3rds the current length!) shorter than older releases, which probably makes this one of the shortest works released by W.E.B. Griffin that was part of his main series.

    ---

    For me, I read works by authors like W.E.B. Griffin for casual pleasure. If I have a good time while reading it and am smiling while I reflect upon it right after, I'm happy. To be honest, it was only while writing this review that I fully grasped the parts of the book that I felt were lacking as they were not issues or concerns while I was reading. Hence, despite its shortcomings, I gave it 4 stars.

    ---

    DO NOT GET:

    If this will be your first W.E.B. Griffin book or your first book in the Honor Bound series, I strongly suggest you get one of his earlier works. It's probably best if you start out at the beginning of a series (both because all those books are great, but also because it'd give you a chronological progression of events as you inevitably acquire more of his works).

    GET:

    If you're a long time fan, if you read previous books in the series and want to find out what happens, or if you have

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Getting worse

    This is worse than the down spin of the Corps series. All of a sudden a huge jump in the timeline destroying almost everything that both series had developed over the course of the stories. This is an insult to loyal readers and just a quick grab for the cash.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Disappointment

    I know Griffin is getting up in age and his health is a concern but I was very disappointed in this book. Butterworth needs to go find another authors career to ruin. Story was chopped up and at times lost me completely. I have read everything Griffin has written and some have entertained me more than others but this book . . . . Just a complete disappointment compared to his other books that grabbed you from page one and held your interest to the end. Skip this one and reread some of his earlier books to get the taste of this one out of your mouth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Adequate Read-as an Expanded Short Story

    The basic story is a truncated version of previous Frade adventures. Griffin has apparently gone to short versions of previous books in this series. There were too many threads not followed up on and left dangling. Definitely not what I expected from W.E.B. Griffin, basically just an expanded short story. Disappointed in this author now-and in the $$$ of this thing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Huge disappointment!!!!!!!

    I to kept looking to see if i had missed a book in the series. Honor Bound has been such a great series to read. But to jump so many years ahead and leave the loyal readers of this great series left wondering what had happened was such a letdown. In the first 5 books there was such a good timeline and attention to details but with this one is missing everything !!!! So sad to see the Honor Bound series ending in such poor writing as this. I can't believe WEB had anything to do with this poor story line after all the other good ones.
    Sadly I don't think I can finsh this one or even consider the last one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    AR1

    Boring thru 3/4 of book, last 1/4 was interesting. Like all series, time takes a toll as interesting storyline begins to get stale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Good but wanted more

    The book just jumped in with the end of the war in europe. It was as if we need to finish but it left out what was going on with several earlier plot lines. Left me wanting more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Too short!

    My only complaint with Mr. Butterworths (Griffin) latest book is it is too short! I have read and own every single one of his books and he continues to keep me waiting for his next, but this is way too short as compared to his usual writing. Read this one in a single day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Forget it!

    I was extremely disappointed in this offering from Griffin. It took me less than two days to read it. I was bored. It was repetitious. I would not recommend this book to anyone. If there is a #7 to the Honor Bound Series, I have it is more informative and exciting than #6!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Mutants

    ((Night kitty)) Longshot: okay. I'll check. Pyro: *picks up his DS* Storm: cool. Cloud 9: *sits down*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Rogue

    Sleeps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Creature

    He walks in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Winter

    Phionex watched over her as she left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5