Jaws

Jaws

4.7 57
Director: Steven Spielberg

Cast: Roy Scheider, Robert Shaw, Richard Dreyfuss

     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Based on Peter Benchley's best-selling novel, Steven Spielberg's 1975 shark saga set the standard for the New Hollywood popcorn blockbuster while frightening millions of moviegoers out of the water. One early summer night on fictional Atlantic resort Amity Island, Chrissie decides to take a moonlight skinny dip while her friends party on the beach. Yanked suddenly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Jaws 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
JAWS is probably one of the greatest films ever made. I have seen it over 220 times and I never get tired of it. Robert Shaw's Quint is the best character in the film and his monologue describing the sinking of the Indianapolis is one of the greatest in film history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it is a classic the best shark movie I have ever saw I hope it makes 100
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best movies of all times gets even better on dvd. The only problem with the dvd version is is does not work on many dvd players, so keep your receipt.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great film. The film still scares you to this day.
Guest More than 1 year ago
WITH great suspense, action, and plenty of gore, jaws packs a punch for a 1975 movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This film is brilliant and unlike most films it gets better each time I see it. After seeing this film you won't want to look into, or even go near water, ever again. The whole cast is exellent and I certainly couldn't think of a better monster movie than this, it's stunning.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie was really scary. i found it to be very suspensful right from the get go! it is like a fish story.(Not like that!) it grabs you and hooks you till the end. this movie definitely deserves five stars. watch it and see what you think about it. personally, i found it to be a scary, suspensful, but really fun exciting movie. i would not let someone under eight years old watch this though. and beware if you are sqeamsish at all, do not watch this film there is a lot of 'blood loss'. AWESOME FILM!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't know how many times I've seen this movie, but it still remains one of the greatest films of all time, in any genre. Even the highly edited tv versions are great! I can't wait to see all the extras that come with the dvd version.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Psycho made you afraid to take a shower. Jaws makes you afraid to go in the water. This is the best film from Spielberg.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I HAVE SENE THIS MOVIE OVER 100 TIMES AND STILL SEE THINGS I MISSED IN PREVIOUS VIEWINGS. SUCH AS THE SHOOTING STARS BEHIND THE ORCA DURING THE NIGHT SCEENS. THIS MOVIE HAS SOME OF THE BEST HOROR SCEENS OF ALL TIME. ONE LAST THING 'WE NEED A BIGGER BOAT'
Guest More than 1 year ago
JAWS will forever reign supreme over the summer blockbuster genre. This movie,alone, kept an entire generation out of the water and is still frightening us to this day. Based on the bestselling novel by Benchley, The movie captured the hearts of many movie-goers. It was ahead of its time in 1975 and still keeps up with films today. The production crew did something never before concieved and delivered one of the greatest films of all time. JAWS is truely a tribute to our time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is Spielberg at his best. The point-of-vie shots are the best i ever saw besides Halloween. So many movies (including the sequels) try to gain the success that this movie has received but they never will and they dont deserve to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My friend Elizabeth and I watched this movie in the balcony of the State Theater in Ann Arbor, MI and screamed our 14 year old selves hoarse! I still love this movie. The score is great, and the screen chemistry between Dreyfuss, Shaw, and Scheider during the chase is perfect. Buy it and watch it over and over.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yeah sure Jaws probably exaggerates a sharks killer instinct... but so what. This is a true American classic that still keeps you on pins and needles after all these years. The DVD is done very nicely... sound and picture are outstanding for a movie almost 30 years old. Buy and enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this really was a great movie, and scared my little bro outta his pants! the acting was teriffic, and the begining sequence where the first victam dies is creepy, cause you just see something pulling her down into the water! recomended to everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
hahaha... JAWS has got to be my favorite shark movie! don don don don don don.. i can play that song on my piano. lol. i loved Robert Shaw in this movie as the crazy boat captain with the yellow teeth. all the actors were great. and, for the 70's, that mechanical shark was looking real! THE RIDE IS JUST AS GOOD AS THE MOVIE IN UNIVERSAL STUDIOS!!!ride the ride.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Spielberg's version of Jaws is the ultimate in creature horror in my own humble opinion. 2nd is Ridley Scott's Alien. 3rd is James Cameron's Aliens. You could write dissertation on the relationship between Quint, Brody and Hooper and I'm sure someone probably has to graduate film school, but this is a great film that never gets old no matter how many times you watch it! I still get scared each time I put it on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A classic film directed by Steven Spielberg based on the book of the same name by Peter Benchley about a huge Great White Shark that terrorizes a small New England Town during tourist season. Roy Scheider is Chief Martin Brody, who has recently relocated his wife and two young sons to the town of Amity after serving as NYPD Officer and having enough of life in the big city. In the opening scene we see a girl skinny-dipping in the ocean and get mercilessly attacked by something under the water. The next day the young man she was with reports it to the police and Brody goes down to the beach to investigate. His deputy stumbles upon the remains of the girl and Brody is determined to shut the beach down so no one else gets killed. The town fathers try to stop him and Martin reluctantly agrees, but decides to call in an expert from the Oceanographic Institute. Matt Hooper (Richard Dreyfuss) is an independently well-to-do shark researcher and comes to Amity to help Brody. What he finds is probably the biggest Great White Shark in recorded history (at the that time). The town fathers and mayor (Murray Hamilton) refuse to let Brody shut down the beaches and Brody is left all alone to coordinate a massive effort to patrol the waters to keep bathers from getting attacked. Great performances are given by Scheider as Chief Brody, Robert Shaw as the salty Captain Quint and Richard Dreyfuss as the Marine Biologist Matt Hooper, who would later star in two other films by Spielberg “Always” and the sci-fi classic “Close Encounters of the Third Kind”.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best thriller/horror movies of ALL time. Do yourself a favor and read the book also.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't know what movie can beat this master piece. Every single shark moment blew me away. Roy Scheider, Robert Shaw, and Richard Dreyfuss are very, very Incredible. I have to say no movie can possibly win over this Amazingly awsome piece of work. It must have been hard to make such a totally amazing piece of valuable work. I think it's the best movie of the century.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Steven speilburg did benchley an honor by directing this film. Quint was my favorite character aside from brody, and hooper was very helpful to both of them. Very sympathetic charachters and great portayals, will make you want to see it over again and again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is moderately terrifying! Sure it might seem boring,but that's only because of the suspence! The shark itself looks completely fake, but that's why he's scary. The characters are great, and the special effects are great! Don't worry, there is some blood! So if you like shark movies, then this is the movie for you! And one more thing: Stay out of the water!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The movie JAWS was filmed mainly in the Cape Cod area (Martha Vineyard,etc)....A real thriller from 1975.....It was and still is horrifying to many people - viewer discretion advised, particularly for young persons......It has a great plot, a superb director in Steven Spielberg, great actors and a terrific sound track by John Williams, also available on CD...the double DVD with extras makes it all the better!