E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial

E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial

4.2 25
Director: Steven Spielberg

Cast: Drew Barrymore, Dee Wallace, Henry Thomas

     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Both a classic movie for kids and a remarkable portrait of childhood, E.T. is a sci-fi adventure that captures that strange moment in youth when the world is a place of mysterious possibilities (some wonderful, some awful), and the universe seems somehow separate from the one inhabited by grown-ups. Henry Thomas plays Elliott, a young boy living with his single

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm giving this four stars because it's such a classic, but buyer beware--this is being marketed as the product that gives you the original 1982 version as well as the computerized 2002 version, but the truth is both this version and the cheaper two-disc version include the original, untouched 1982 version! That one costs around $24, so only get this version if you really want all those extras...don't get it just because you you think it's the only way to own the 1982 version. They BOTH have it--but the cheaper version is very quiet about that fact. A trick? Let's just call it a subtle upsell.
Keith_in_Calhoun More than 1 year ago
I can verify FOR A FACT that UPC# 0025192866425 is the RE-RELEASED VERSION which contains additional scenes, some absolutely unnecessary CGI and some added political correctness (why??). Why does Lucas continue to alienate those of us who made him wealthy in the first place? There was obviously NOTHING WRONG with the original version considering it held the title as the highest grossing film of all time for 11 years. But it now appears that you have to buy one of the much more expensive multi-disc boxed sets in order to watch the original version. Apparently Mr. Lucas needed a little MORE money. Thanks a bunch, Mr. Lucas. If anyone knows which UPC code correlates to the ORIGINAL version, please post it here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vinny_R More than 1 year ago
This edition DOES NOT have the original film. The box says "1982" right on it, but it is not the original. Once you open it, you can't return it. I just have to eat it and so will you. B&N, I hope you're proud of yourselves. You tack reviews of other DVD editions onto this one and lead people to believe that they're getting a product that's much better than the crap you're actually shipping out. Once they find out, you won't take it back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
In one of the best films in movie history, E.T. tells the story of a boy that is cooping with his parents recent divorse. One night, he is walking when he hears something in the tool shed. When ne one believes him, he goes out and tries to find it. He leaves a trail of Reese's pieces on the floor until the alien comes into his room. After some heart warming events, the government comes in and tries to take E.T. away from Elliot. This was the first movie I ever saw and it has always been one of my favorites to watch. This is the film that made me a movie buff. This is the film that inspired me to become a film maker. I laughed I cried I feel in love with this movie. I will never see a better film than this.
cysugamama More than 1 year ago
This is a great look for all ages. I still watch this from time to time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you Mr. Speilberg for this wonderful tale! Kids young and old will enjoy this classic story that will never go out of date. Our grandkids of course had not heard of it, so when we sent it to them, it was not their first choice. They wanted to watch movies that were currently on the market. When they finally got to this one, WOW! Grandma was pretty cool for sending this and they loved it. A lesson that something old can be quite special! Each time we watch this movie, it is as enjoyable as the first time ... maybe even more. A young Drew Barrymore will capture your heart. A Blu-Ray of this movie would be excellent once it becomes available. SciFi for little kids and just fun for adults = a movie to share over popcorn with your kids, grandkids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beth43 More than 1 year ago
I returned this DVD since my grand daughter already owned it.