Customer Reviews for

The View from Saturday (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Book--One of the best books I have read this year!

This is one of the best books I have read ALL YEAR!!!
This book has many layers. It is in the Elementary section and the main protagonists are 6th Graders, however, this is a complex book. I would recommend it for it's insight into each character and the spiritual ch...
This is one of the best books I have read ALL YEAR!!!
This book has many layers. It is in the Elementary section and the main protagonists are 6th Graders, however, this is a complex book. I would recommend it for it's insight into each character and the spiritual character of the book. The book isn't religious but does have a special "feel" to it. However, if you are interested in action and adventure this is not the book for you!
This book "jumps" from one character to another and back and forth in time. Some people will find this confusing and frustrating. All of the characters are connected in multiple ways but it is up to the reader to figure out these ways and at times re-reading sections helps the reader to understand the connections.
I suspect that English teachers are going to add this book to the "classics list." I found this book very "deep and meaningful" and feel that both adults and children will want to read and re-read this book. I reminds me of Lois Lowry's writing.

posted by 2484951 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Confusing and boring

This is the only book I've read by E.L. Konigsburg and I thought it was horrible. I couldn't make up my mind at first if I wanted to read it or not because it didn't seem interesting, but when I did, I realized it was very boring and really confusing. I would NOT recomm...
This is the only book I've read by E.L. Konigsburg and I thought it was horrible. I couldn't make up my mind at first if I wanted to read it or not because it didn't seem interesting, but when I did, I realized it was very boring and really confusing. I would NOT recommend this book to anyone.

posted by Megan3000 on April 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    An Amazing Book--One of the best books I have read this year!

    This is one of the best books I have read ALL YEAR!!!
    This book has many layers. It is in the Elementary section and the main protagonists are 6th Graders, however, this is a complex book. I would recommend it for it's insight into each character and the spiritual character of the book. The book isn't religious but does have a special "feel" to it. However, if you are interested in action and adventure this is not the book for you!
    This book "jumps" from one character to another and back and forth in time. Some people will find this confusing and frustrating. All of the characters are connected in multiple ways but it is up to the reader to figure out these ways and at times re-reading sections helps the reader to understand the connections.
    I suspect that English teachers are going to add this book to the "classics list." I found this book very "deep and meaningful" and feel that both adults and children will want to read and re-read this book. I reminds me of Lois Lowry's writing.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Confusing and boring

    This is the only book I've read by E.L. Konigsburg and I thought it was horrible. I couldn't make up my mind at first if I wanted to read it or not because it didn't seem interesting, but when I did, I realized it was very boring and really confusing. I would NOT recommend this book to anyone.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    The books is very good!! You have to take some time to understand it but once you do it is amazing book. Read it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Great book

    I had to read this for my 6th grade summer reading and i loved it! It is my favorite book. Wish that there was a sequel!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Sounds great

    It sounds like really good book. Cant wait to read it!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Didn't love it

    I read this book for English class a long time ago and honestly... I didn't love it. The plot was very hard to follow and i had lots of trouble figuring out who's point of view was being used each chapter. I'm not going to say not try it, but i do not recommend for children under the age of 12. I might have enjoyed it just a little bit better if i had read when I was older. I have absolutely loved some of E.L Konigsburg's other novels, but The View from saturday just wasn't my thing. Now what i'm going to say is: Give it a try! You might like it!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Yawwwwwwnnnn!! ZZZZZZZZZZZ!!! Boring.

    We had to listen to our teacher read this book in class when I was in sixth grade. All I could say was Boring! I had to put up my folder so she wouldn't see me asleep on my desk. I believe we had to take a test over it in the end and I'll tell you now I think straight up failed that thing. When she was reading the book I remember slob running down my mouth. That right there tells you I was deep asleep. I honestly tried to get into it but it was just to hard. The only thing I remember clearly was this debate thing and/or wedding invitation part. Sorry but unless you're quick to get addicted to sleeping pills I recommend this as the next best thing. I would NEVER tell someone to read this, even my worst enemie and that's saying something. This was the most boring book I've ever had to listen to. Literally! I don't see why a cup of tea with a slice of lemon in it (front cover) has anything to do with the book. But hey, I was sleep through like the hold thing so how in the world would I know?

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    The View From Saturday

    Hard to understand at first but i read it a couple of times and started to understand. Speaking i am only 11. I would reccomend it to certain people.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Should I?

    Should I get this?

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Tarible

    This book wa sad and un meaningful this stoy was hard to understand even though im only 11 this could have been better to understand. I did not injoy reading thi book it was hard and weird. I hope you do not go through the pain that i did for beaing forced to read this book. On top of that the book was horific!!!!!! -L

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    For the hatera

    It is hard to follow and all over the place but before you read it ask your teacher if he or she suggests it for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Sorry but idid not like it

    It was all over the place

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    When it comes to books, I can handle atrocious plotlines, choppy

    When it comes to books, I can handle atrocious plotlines, choppy writing, and empty, unrelatable characters. But not all mixed together in one steaming pile of dog crap! This book has the choppiest, most disorganized writing you have ever seen, never uses contractions, and is split up into 4 stories: the epitome of book badness. But the worst part is the characters. They are cynical, unrelatable, snotty, bratty, stubborn, and rude. This is the worst book I think I have ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Awesome book

    AWESOME BOOK

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Good

    It is good so far, althought I havn't finished it yet

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    I have a great story about this book: When I was in grade school my class would venture to the public library to get books. On one of those trips, I found The View from Saturday (1996) by E. L. Konigsburg. I loved the cover, read the book, loved it as well. And promptly forgot about it for ten some odd years. Although I distinctly remembered the cover with a house and four cups of tea in the window, I could not for the life of me remember any other information about the book. I gave up all hope of ever finding it again.

    Then, when I was shelving books in the children's room, what should I stumble upon but a copy of the very book I had been sure I would never see again?

    Upon our reunion, I realized even with the book in hand I did not know a lot about it. The fact that The View from Saturday won the Newbery Award in 1997 completely escaped me (I might have read it before it won, definitely before I knew anything about the Newbery's). I also did not remember Mrs. Olinski being a paraplegic. And, perhaps most embarrassing, I did not realize that E. L. Konigsburg was a woman until I was reading about her online and discovered that in addition to winning the 1997 Newbery, Konigsburg also won the award in 1968 for From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler--the same year that Jennifer, Hecate, Macbeth, William McKinley, and Me, Elizabeth was selected as an honor book. That never happens with the Newbery. Anyway, I still look back on this book with fond memories even though recent examinations suggest that I might have missed some nuances on my first reading.

    Mrs. Olinski has several good answers about how she chose the four sixth graders for her Academic Bowl team, partly because she always has good answers. But, truth be told, Mrs. Olinski is not entirely sure how she chose her team.

    The fact was that Mrs. Olinski did not know how she had chosen her team, and the further fact was that she didn't know that she didn't know until she did know.

    Another mystery is how these unlikely sixth graders became first friends calling themselves "The Souls" and, later, an Academic Bowl team by the same name that beat the seventh grade team, the eighth grade team, and so on right to the Bowl Day championship where The Souls from Epiphany would face off against the older Maxwell bowl team.

    This story takes place on the day of that championship. As the teams compete, short stories are interspersed--one for each of The Souls--to explain how they answer each question and, also, how they became friends.

    I feel safe in saying, without equivocation, that The View from Saturday is a classic in the realm of children's literature. The writing is delicate and complex much like a piece of lace held up to a light. At the same time, this story is a timeless one about friendship and journeys big and small. I read somewhere that the stories within this book were "jewel like" which I think is a good adjective to end this review with because, really, what more could I add?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Anomunous

    This book is way to confusing dont get it i read it in my class and nobody liked it to many things happening at once to many charcters and when you read it it has sentences like if you tell me the things that i dont know than you tell me things that i dont know so then we will both know everythin that there is to know just take it from me its not worth your time read anything but this book ANYTHING!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Honestly the worrst book I've ever read

    I read this book for school a few years ago and I disliked it very much. There was really no story line, let alone suspensful or climactic parts. I might enjoy it more now that I'm slightly older, but I highly doubt it. This book could be summed up in one page and still be just as interesting and include the exact same events as the book its self. As I look back it had to have been one of the most--for lack of a better word--boring bookd I have ever read and not worth your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Love it!!!!

    I had to read a newberry book for school and I chose this book. I loved it because it was so straight forward.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    TEAM WORK WRITTEN ALL OVER

    This book is an excellent source of comprehension

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11