Customer Reviews for

The View from Saturday

Average Rating 3.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Book--One of the best books I have read this year!

This is one of the best books I have read ALL YEAR!!!
This book has many layers. It is in the Elementary section and the main protagonists are 6th Graders, however, this is a complex book. I would recommend it for it's insight into each character and the spiritual ch...
This is one of the best books I have read ALL YEAR!!!
This book has many layers. It is in the Elementary section and the main protagonists are 6th Graders, however, this is a complex book. I would recommend it for it's insight into each character and the spiritual character of the book. The book isn't religious but does have a special "feel" to it. However, if you are interested in action and adventure this is not the book for you!
This book "jumps" from one character to another and back and forth in time. Some people will find this confusing and frustrating. All of the characters are connected in multiple ways but it is up to the reader to figure out these ways and at times re-reading sections helps the reader to understand the connections.
I suspect that English teachers are going to add this book to the "classics list." I found this book very "deep and meaningful" and feel that both adults and children will want to read and re-read this book. I reminds me of Lois Lowry's writing.

posted by 2484951 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Confusing and boring

This is the only book I've read by E.L. Konigsburg and I thought it was horrible. I couldn't make up my mind at first if I wanted to read it or not because it didn't seem interesting, but when I did, I realized it was very boring and really confusing. I would NOT recomm...
This is the only book I've read by E.L. Konigsburg and I thought it was horrible. I couldn't make up my mind at first if I wanted to read it or not because it didn't seem interesting, but when I did, I realized it was very boring and really confusing. I would NOT recommend this book to anyone.

posted by Megan3000 on April 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    An Amazing Book--One of the best books I have read this year!

    This is one of the best books I have read ALL YEAR!!!
    This book has many layers. It is in the Elementary section and the main protagonists are 6th Graders, however, this is a complex book. I would recommend it for it's insight into each character and the spiritual character of the book. The book isn't religious but does have a special "feel" to it. However, if you are interested in action and adventure this is not the book for you!
    This book "jumps" from one character to another and back and forth in time. Some people will find this confusing and frustrating. All of the characters are connected in multiple ways but it is up to the reader to figure out these ways and at times re-reading sections helps the reader to understand the connections.
    I suspect that English teachers are going to add this book to the "classics list." I found this book very "deep and meaningful" and feel that both adults and children will want to read and re-read this book. I reminds me of Lois Lowry's writing.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    The books is very good!! You have to take some time to understand it but once you do it is amazing book. Read it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Great book

    I had to read this for my 6th grade summer reading and i loved it! It is my favorite book. Wish that there was a sequel!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Sounds great

    It sounds like really good book. Cant wait to read it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Awesome book

    AWESOME BOOK

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    I have a great story about this book: When I was in grade school my class would venture to the public library to get books. On one of those trips, I found The View from Saturday (1996) by E. L. Konigsburg. I loved the cover, read the book, loved it as well. And promptly forgot about it for ten some odd years. Although I distinctly remembered the cover with a house and four cups of tea in the window, I could not for the life of me remember any other information about the book. I gave up all hope of ever finding it again.

    Then, when I was shelving books in the children's room, what should I stumble upon but a copy of the very book I had been sure I would never see again?

    Upon our reunion, I realized even with the book in hand I did not know a lot about it. The fact that The View from Saturday won the Newbery Award in 1997 completely escaped me (I might have read it before it won, definitely before I knew anything about the Newbery's). I also did not remember Mrs. Olinski being a paraplegic. And, perhaps most embarrassing, I did not realize that E. L. Konigsburg was a woman until I was reading about her online and discovered that in addition to winning the 1997 Newbery, Konigsburg also won the award in 1968 for From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler--the same year that Jennifer, Hecate, Macbeth, William McKinley, and Me, Elizabeth was selected as an honor book. That never happens with the Newbery. Anyway, I still look back on this book with fond memories even though recent examinations suggest that I might have missed some nuances on my first reading.

    Mrs. Olinski has several good answers about how she chose the four sixth graders for her Academic Bowl team, partly because she always has good answers. But, truth be told, Mrs. Olinski is not entirely sure how she chose her team.

    The fact was that Mrs. Olinski did not know how she had chosen her team, and the further fact was that she didn't know that she didn't know until she did know.

    Another mystery is how these unlikely sixth graders became first friends calling themselves "The Souls" and, later, an Academic Bowl team by the same name that beat the seventh grade team, the eighth grade team, and so on right to the Bowl Day championship where The Souls from Epiphany would face off against the older Maxwell bowl team.

    This story takes place on the day of that championship. As the teams compete, short stories are interspersed--one for each of The Souls--to explain how they answer each question and, also, how they became friends.

    I feel safe in saying, without equivocation, that The View from Saturday is a classic in the realm of children's literature. The writing is delicate and complex much like a piece of lace held up to a light. At the same time, this story is a timeless one about friendship and journeys big and small. I read somewhere that the stories within this book were "jewel like" which I think is a good adjective to end this review with because, really, what more could I add?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Love it!!!!

    I had to read a newberry book for school and I chose this book. I loved it because it was so straight forward.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    TEAM WORK WRITTEN ALL OVER

    This book is an excellent source of comprehension

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    I dont know

    Hey it is my first time so i dont know what it is but i hope it is a great book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Great, heart touching story!

    I loved this book. It has a lot of heart. I enjoyed reading from each of the different childrens' points of view and didn't find it at all difficult to tell which child was speaking in each chapter. I'm a middle school teacher and would use this book in class as well as recommend it to other teachers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    my favorite book of all time

    im 16 years old i read this book in 6th grade and it is my favorite book ever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Interesting read from several aspects

    This was a good read because it had purpose in the way the story touched each one of the characters lives. Students will learn a lesson by understanding that other people having feelings and different viewpoints of a situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Very good read.

    The View From Saturday is a very exciting book. The book changes points of view and times very often, but it is altogether a good read. I'd recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was one of El Konigsburg's best piece of work. It shares the lives of all four students and their relationships with one Another. I really think anyone o f any age will love this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    A great book

    A great book about four great sixth-grade students and a great teacher. If the cover prevents its sale, then people shouldn't judge a book by its cover and only buy it and read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    A Day in the Life of the Souls

    The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg is a spectacular book because of the unique qualities hidden inside. The author uses first point of view through out the book. The View from Saturday deserved the Newberry Medal. Because of Winn-Dixie and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants use the same theme as The View from Saturday: friendship. I would recommend this book because of the unlikely plot, the astonishing characters with a gorgeous setting under the bright sun, and the many uplifting connections I found within this engaging book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    AMAZING

    I read this book for the first time in 7th grade and it is still amazing 3 years later. The book was amazing and I love how the title fits into the story. Everyone should read this book. If you don't you are missing out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    I really love this book!

    This book was about four children who were in the sixth grade and had chosen there teacher a paraplegic who had also chosen them to be in the academic bowl. they beat 7 and 8th grade and also won district. it was a really good novel and i would recremend it to anyone who loves to read and who doesnt like to read because i didnt want to read it before but when i picked it up i couldnt put it down and before i knew it i was through with it and had started on another one. Katie Maxwell

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Best i have read so far

    This book gave me new ideas and because of this book next year i'm trying out for knowledge bowl!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    Different... Very Different!

    I really liked this book! Funny and insightful. I have never read E.L. Konigsburg before, and I found her writing style very interesting and quite unique. I would say a little confusing for children as young as eight, but preteens, teens, and even adults should enjoy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5