Customer Reviews for

Vigilante

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended- check out all of the Shane Scully series that come before this one

Before you read this last book, there are 10 that comes before. Without reading them you will not understand the characters and how they intertwine. While each book may be a different story, there is another underneath it. Personally speaking, I could and definitely wou...
Before you read this last book, there are 10 that comes before. Without reading them you will not understand the characters and how they intertwine. While each book may be a different story, there is another underneath it. Personally speaking, I could and definitely would read more books about Shane Scully- the main character. I can't wait until this book gets here, because I haven't read it yet, but I can vouch for the fact that reading this and all the other books in this series will keep the readers on the edge of their seats. I am sorry that the author died not long after he finished this book, and whether he had started on another for this series I have no clue, but I have been a fan of his shows and of his books.

posted by p1s2 on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Shadow of Shane

Having read all of the Shane Scully novels written by Stephen J. Cannell before his death, I find it very hard to believe that he wrote this tepid excuse for a Shane Scully story. It just doesn't read like the other books. It's main problem is that it is not very intere...
Having read all of the Shane Scully novels written by Stephen J. Cannell before his death, I find it very hard to believe that he wrote this tepid excuse for a Shane Scully story. It just doesn't read like the other books. It's main problem is that it is not very interesting, and Scully novels were nothing if not interesting. Yet the series is a money maker, so don't be surprised to see yet another one. I note that the book nor the book jacket mention that the author is deceased.

posted by KenCady on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Highly recommended- check out all of the Shane Scully series that come before this one

    Before you read this last book, there are 10 that comes before. Without reading them you will not understand the characters and how they intertwine. While each book may be a different story, there is another underneath it. Personally speaking, I could and definitely would read more books about Shane Scully- the main character. I can't wait until this book gets here, because I haven't read it yet, but I can vouch for the fact that reading this and all the other books in this series will keep the readers on the edge of their seats. I am sorry that the author died not long after he finished this book, and whether he had started on another for this series I have no clue, but I have been a fan of his shows and of his books.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved This, even though I don't usually get crime novels

    Full Disclosure: I received an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of Vigilante as part of the Goodreads First-Reads program, where readers get books for free in the hope that reviews get written for the various social media outlets.

    I don’t generally choose police procedurals when I select the novels I read, so I don’t have an extensive background in the genre. This one got picked up because I got it free (often a deciding factor)...

    It’s called “A Shane Scully Novel” and is apparently 11th in the series. I hadn’t read any of the prior novels, but this doesn’t seem to be a factor, as this novel stands alone well. (Stephen J. Cannell, the author, is also the creator of a number of police shows for television, so he’s got the skills for handling loosely connected stories down.)

    I really loved this book. I was engaged by both the protagonists and antagonists throughout, and thought the premise was original enough that I was not at all anticipating any of the twists that happened. I was quite happy that I was reading this book, and then the ending thundered off the pages, as all the threads were tied together, and thrust the book into the “wow” column. This was a bunch of fun.

    5 of 5 stars.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Shadow of Shane

    Having read all of the Shane Scully novels written by Stephen J. Cannell before his death, I find it very hard to believe that he wrote this tepid excuse for a Shane Scully story. It just doesn't read like the other books. It's main problem is that it is not very interesting, and Scully novels were nothing if not interesting. Yet the series is a money maker, so don't be surprised to see yet another one. I note that the book nor the book jacket mention that the author is deceased.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    You have to read this page turner

    This is a great read...could not put it down. This is as good as The Prostitute's Ball. Stephen J. Cannell was a great story teller and boy could he ever write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Very good read

    Really enjoyed Vigilante. It was my first Cannell novel and it won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Recommend

    I have enjoyed the Shane Scully series. I like the relationship between him and his wife. I must admit though Shane seems to get a lot of cases that are a little out there. It is a shame that Mr. Cannell is deceased because I would have liked to have read more books in the Shane Scully series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Stephen Cannell did not disappoint!
    Fast action, good dialogue - can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    He is the best

    This book is like all his others. He might be the best author that I have ever read. I've read all his books starting with the first one. I'm very sad that he died and that their will be no more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended - a must read!

    Vigilante keeps you on the edge of your seat and keeps you guessing, couldn't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    It was great reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good book, not one of the best in the series.

    Opinion: not one of the better entries in the series. The villain is over-capable, and I missed Alexa and Chooch, plus Chooch's girlfriend.
    I would imagine that Cannell planned more books in the series, thus left questions for sequels, but I feel left hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    You tell me!

    I haven't received it yet. Delayed in shipping - 30 days?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great, fast-paced mystery

    I was fortunate to receive an early review copy of Stephen Cannell¿s Vigilante, a Shane Scully novel. This was my first time reading Cannell and even though it¿s the 11th Shane Scully novel, I had no problem jumping into the story. Shane Scully and his partner, Sumner Hitchens, get handed a hot case. The murder of Lita Mendez, a gang activist with a long history of filing complaints and making enemies in the police department. To make it hotter, Nixon Nash, host of the show, Vigilante, shows up and plans to make the case the centerpiece of his show. A show which has embarrassed police and ended careers in other cities in previous seasons. This was a fast-paced, well-written and entertaining crime mystery. The characters were nicely developed and engaging. There were enough suspects to keep you uncertain who the killer was, without feeling misled with flimsy red herrings. It was also refreshing to have a protagonist who was fairly well-adjusted, without a drinking or drug problem, a skeleton in his closet, or some other emotional or moral problem to overcome. Just a good investigator in trying circumstances. Nix Nash was a villiain you love to hate. A smarmy tv host with a checkered past and vast resources. His actions and the motives behind them keep you guessing until the end. This book is in some ways an old fashioned gumshoe detective novel, but with a modern twist in the form of a tv investigation racing with the detective to solve the crime. Cannell skillfully blends the two different worlds into an entertaining novel. An interesting detective along with a complicated cast of villains and suspects makes for a very good read. I look forward to checking out other Cannell/Scully books. Recommended for any fan of crime fiction and mystery novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    A Thrilling Ride

    The murder of an outspoken advocate against the police brings a reality-TV star to the scene who proclaims that he¿ll solve this case, alluding to police corruption. Shane suspects something else is going on and will have to derail the star¿s rise to the stop. What a rollercoaster ride! From the first page to the exciting conclusion, I knew I would not be able to put this book down. I was pulled right into the non-stop, fast-fury action of Shane and his team as they investigated a murder mystery with plenty of viable suspects. The villain is clever, but so is our hero who is determined to put an end to his shenanigans once and for all, even if it means sidestepping legality. This is another great book in this engaging and thrilling series and I¿ll forever miss seeing Shane Scully and the team again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cannell quality! Great read, as always.

    So sad, his death. But, we have his books to read, over and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2