Customer Reviews for

The Vigilantes

Average Rating 3.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

fighting drug dealers

"the vigilantes" is web griffins newest novel and it is very hard to put down. it is about a real tough person who has had it with most of his life with drug traffikers until they have murdered a young lady in his family. since he is dying and does not have long to live...
"the vigilantes" is web griffins newest novel and it is very hard to put down. it is about a real tough person who has had it with most of his life with drug traffikers until they have murdered a young lady in his family. since he is dying and does not have long to live he decides to to track down the killers and the sinister lawyer who has been getting this drug dealer and so many others off the hook. this bestseller offers many twists and turns and would make a great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on August 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a very good read

Not near the caliber of past Griffin novels. Slow and at times boring. Lots of talk but little action. Having read Griffin for many years I'm disappointed in this work.

posted by rico1051 on August 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    Not up to the standard expected.

    I've been a long time reader of Griffin's books and have read all series more than once. I was looking foreward to any addition to any series when I purchased this book. However, it was tough reading and just not up to his normal standard for hard hitting, exciting, stories. Although W.E.B. is known to provide detailed descriptions of people, locations, and actions taken, his collaboration with his son on this book became way too detailed and caused the story to drag. I was wondering at times why it was so descriptive when it wasn't needed to add color to the tale. The ending gives you the idea another in this series could be coming, and I hope it is. I'll continue to look foreward to any new item published in any series from Mr. Griffin and expect he will rebound with a fine tale in the future in the Badge of Honor Series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Not a very good read

    Not near the caliber of past Griffin novels. Slow and at times boring. Lots of talk but little action. Having read Griffin for many years I'm disappointed in this work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Not up to the series standards

    I have to say, this book lacked the quality of the previous books in the series. Not only are many of the old characters missing, but the story line itself does not play out in the detail that Griffin has previously used.

    Additionally, there are breakdowns in the timeline of the series. I don't think that given the timeframe of the original books, that the technology used in this book are in line with Matt's length of service. Amongst other issues, this shows the lack of detail and quality of this installment. I wonder if Griffin is still writing, or if Butterworth has taken over. Either way, it is most likely my last purchase of a book in this series; especially if it is co-authored.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Very Disappointing!!!

    I have read all the Badge of Honor books and the Presidential series books. This is the worst - the others were great!!! This was like, "Oh, it's time to meet the publisher's deadline. No matter I am not really finished!!" The plot was one dimentional and the characters boring. The dialoge was also boring. Didn't tell us what happened with the Badde storyline, what happened to the school principal's granddaughter or her friends who brought the killer in. Just NOT FINISHED!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    After reading this latest book in the Badge of Honor series, it was apparent that Griffin, III has bowed out and turned the writing over to his son. It was also apparent that the son hasn't really read the earlier books in the series or, he decided to deliberately ignore some of the more important aspects of the prior books and change things. If there is a book #11 in the series, I for one, will pass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    fighting drug dealers

    "the vigilantes" is web griffins newest novel and it is very hard to put down. it is about a real tough person who has had it with most of his life with drug traffikers until they have murdered a young lady in his family. since he is dying and does not have long to live he decides to to track down the killers and the sinister lawyer who has been getting this drug dealer and so many others off the hook. this bestseller offers many twists and turns and would make a great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Vexblood

    "Well then I kill you both."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Darkfang to vexblood and nightpaw

    I dont think so.to nightpaw go to result three of where we were before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Nightpaw

    No.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Different

    Yes, W.E.B. Junior (W.E.B. IV) is getting better & reads more and more like Daddy W.E.B.
    A somewhat different police procedural as both large monetary rewards and a desire for revenge lead to vigilante action in Philly with a side order of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Bummer

    I have been a big fan of the Badge of Honor series. This book missed the mark set by the others in the series. Did you forget your formula for sucessful books? This book is a new low, I was very disapointed. I own all of this series along with a most of the others. You had me hooked with the Lutenets, but since it has become a writing team each book is worse then the last. I would give you less stars if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great read Highly recommended

    When you start reading it you will not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WEB IV is getting better

    It was nice to see the story line get back to the personal life of Sgt Payne. However in the earlier (WEB 3) stories there was much more in depth coverage. Though not nearly as bad as the ending of the earlier volume, I still got the impression that this was written with a deadline approaching. I would like to know what is going on with the existing characters (family, friends and co-workers) rather than introducing new people that only pass through the plot. Since I have read all of WEB's books to date I will continue to buy those coming in the future but still long for the feeling of getting to know the characters as friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Do not waste your money on this so called novel.

    If you want a tour of the City of Philadelphia along with a description of city government then this is the book for you but, if you are looking for an excitiing fictional novel like Mr. Griffin"s novels use to be this is not the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Highly Recommended Police Novel

    I wish Mr. Griffin would write more Badge of Honor novels as I find them very enjoyable to read.

    Norm from Indy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sub par

    Not the usual fare for Griffin. The detail was lacking from the story and it seemed to just end quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8