Customer Reviews for

The Vigilante's Bride

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    This was a fairly predictable, yet enjoyable book. It kept my i

    This was a fairly predictable, yet enjoyable book. It kept my interest till the end and I was able to read it quickly. I enjoyed the romance between the two main characters and there were some fairly tense and dangerous situations that they experienced.

    Luke and Emily's relationship was fun to watch develop. They were both rather strong personality types and had some clashing going on throughout a portion of the story. I will say that the ending felt a little abrupt to me, however, it was a satisfactory ending.

    If you are a fan of western romances with some danger thrown in, this might be a book you would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    A Good Who Done it, as well as, a reminder of hardships we all can imagine.

    The story line is good and easy to follow. The characters will draw smiles and make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    What took me so long to read this book? Just picked up this Noo

    What took me so long to read this book? Just picked up this Nook Book to read, even though I have had it over a year. I am totalling enjoying going back to the 1800's. Such a sweet, endearing, funny romp into the land of the Cowboys. There is nothing better then an action-packed, gun-toting, cattle punching/rustling, lynching & romancing western. Many thanks to the author for a terrific read. If you want to laugh out loud and duck the chair in the saloon, as if you were in the midst of the bar fight...Read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Enjoyed reading

    I enjoyed reading this book, i do hope to see a follow up as there is more story to tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved this book so exciting,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Recommend it

    Enjoyed the story line and the characters. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Great story

    I loved this book and would recommend it. I wish there would be a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    An Interesting Read

    The Vigilante's Bride is a great historical read with a moving love story mixed right in. The character's are great and the story is very moving. Both Emily and Luke are orphans with a lot of issues to work through. Luke is running from his past and Emily is running from what others deemed to be her future. Set in the backdrop of 1884 Montana Territory the twists and turns lead to one road - -love.
    Luke faces the ghosts of his past and the need to exact revenge and a love bigger than he thinks he can handle. He doesn't feel worthy of the feisty redhead he stole right out from under the nose of the man who irrevocably changed his life. Together with a great set of supporting characters Emily and Luke find themselves drawn to one another and find a way to mend the past and find God.

    GREAT READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Worth the read

    A funny love story. Nice and clean people! Read, its a good way to spend the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Good story

    This was the first time that I had read anything by this author. It was a good story and kept my interest. Will look forward to more of this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Excellent Quick Read

    Loved the story. Enjoyed very much.
    Can't get enough of the NOOK and all the free books available!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Recommended

    Vigliante's Bride is a great read. It has well developed characters, tension and romance between the main characters, who are worthy of each other: they hold to their convictions, yet allow God to guide them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Good Story

    This is a good book to read, it starts of at a good pace and keeps going, the romance is very sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Decent read

    Not too long...happy ending...well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Recommended

    This was a pretty easy read and very enjoyable book. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Sent to marry a man she's never even met, Emily McCarthy is on her way to wed Bartholomew Axel when the stage coach she is riding in gets robbed, and she is kidnapped. I absolutely loved it! I was kept on the edge of my seat the whole time. Of course there were a few minor infractions. The very first chapter was a bit awkward but after Emily met Luke the first chapter didn't matter at all anymore! I also felt like there should've been more conflict with Bartholomew Axel, it would've been the cherry on top! Oh! also Axel's first name did not sit well with me, at all! Very gross! However, all three infractions can be forgiven because I loved the story regardless! And Luke Sullivan may only be a character in this book but he sure as hell took my breathe away! So I say, " Bravo Ms. Harris!" I was given a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Just Like The Books I Read Growing UP

    Growing up, I loved reading historical fiction -- especially of the "Christian romance" variety. I started off with Grace Livingston Hill, and then graduated to everything from The Seattle Sweetbriar Series to The White Pine Chronicles, and eventually ready almost every Gilbert Morris book I could get my hands on. I eventually outgrew my "childish" ways of obsessive Christian historical fiction (or most anything resembling a series of books for that matter), but I took a little trip down memory lane this week as I read The Vigilante's Bride by Yvonne Harris.

    Set in fledgling Billings, Montana in the 1880s, the story is about two former orphans -- one Emily McCarthy, traveling from Chicago to enter into a prearranged marriage to wealthy rancher Bart Axel (whom she's never met), and Luke Sullivan, former hired rancher/vigilante who just wants to reclaim what Bart Axel stole from him. The trouble starts when Luke goes to rob a stagecoach carry some of Axel's money. He comes away with the cash he wanted... and Emily. She's very resistant to her captor/would-be-savior, and he instantly regrets his decision to help her out. Nevertheless, he takes her to New Hope, a home for orphans where he himself grew, and where he intended to return. What follows is a classic Christian fiction tale of a man and a woman learning to see past their conflicts and find the value in each other, even as they find common ground in what they value -- that orphanage/ranch and it's inhabitants.

    This book had a lot of the elements I remember enjoying from my childhood -- gun-slinging men constantly putting themselves in danger for the people/things they care about, strong (if a little naive) women who find ingenious ways to help the people in their lives and open their eyes to God, conniving villains whose desperation ends in their downfall, and hilarious confrontations between the people you already know are going to fall in love by the story's end. Those story traits always keep me up at night, turning pages long after I should have been asleep, and it was fun going back to that for a little while. I did find the constant changing point of view for the narration of the story a little jarring; I would have liked it to have settled a little more with Luke's point of view and a little less with everyone else's (especially at the end -- I really wished the last few lines had been from either Luke's or Emily's point of view). But that minor flaw does not serious mar an otherwise perfectly enjoyable book. I may not want to jump back into historical fiction full time, but when I do read it, The Vigilante's Bride is exactly the kind of book I expect to find.

    .

    I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    I enjoy Christian Romance and this didn't disappoint.

    Emily McCarthy is traveling to Montana to marry a man she's never met. At eighteen, the orphanage where she was staying needs her room to house some young Indian girls. Emily is left with few other options so she boards a train in response to the newspaper ad for a bride the director of the orphanage accepted on her behalf. On the last leg of her journey the stagecoach she's riding in is robbed, her taken along with $1,000. Luke Sullivan is going after what's rightfully his. The money belonged to his father but he was cheated out of it by the man Emily is expected to marry. Taking her with him wasn't part of his plan. When he found out where she was going, he decided he needed to protect her so he whisked her away, riding into the night. Though he thought he was helping, Emily is outraged Luke would kidnap her. She's sees him as a thief and not to be trusted. He takes her to the orphanage where he was raised and still lives until he can figure out what to do with her. Trouble comes when Bart Axel, Emily's fiancé, comes looking for her. The man orders her to come with him - giving her the chance to see the kind of man he is and making her inwardly grateful Luke kidnapped her. Luke tells the man to leave, giving him the amount of money he paid for Emily and he stomps out, spewing veiled threats every step of the way. Luke begins to feel things aren't quite right when the number of cattle he oversees for the orphanage is dwindling. Since cattle equal money, their livelihood is at stake as well as the future of the orphanage. When he finds out Bart is behind the disappearances, he knows he has to do something. Tension continues to escalate until finally Bart dies in a stampede by the cattle he had taken from Luke. Through it all, Luke and Emily forge a friendship as they work to uncover who's behind the missing cattle. When she puts her life in potential danger, Luke realizes his feelings for her are more than friendly. In the final pages of the story he asks her to marry him and she accepts. I enjoy Christian Romance and this didn't disappoint. There were times when I felt the story was more about Luke than Emily (and maybe that's the way Harris wanted it to be). I wasn't completely swept away into the story but I still enjoyed it. There were some humorous moments I laughed out loud at and it was overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great western romance

    With no other choice, Emily McCarthy is on a stagecoach to marry an older man, Bartholomew Axel, which she has never met before. Luke Sullivan robs the stagecoach and kidnaps Emily. On the other hand, is it more of a rescue? Luke knows that Bartholomew Axel is a horrible man and Emily does not want to marry someone that she does not love. Bartholomew soon discovers who has stolen his bride-to-be and wants to retrieve her.

    The Vigilante's Bride is a fast-paced western romance. I thought that it was odd that the book came out in August. It should have come out in December since the book is set around Christmas. The book has a simple plot with likeable characters, which makes it a fast and enjoyable read. Western lovers will enjoy the take on the dying genre and romance lovers will enjoy the love story between two main characters.

    *I would like to thank Bethany House for sending me a copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Vigilante's Bride

    Emily McCarthy thinks she has had all she can take when the orphanage she lives in sells her to a rancher who wants a wife. With no income and no family, Emily can not refuse the wishes of the orphanage and the rancher. At least this way, she will have a roof over her head. When she is kidnapped during a stagecoach robbery on Christmas Eve, things surely can not get any worse. Her kidnapper, Luke Sullivan, despises her future husband, Bart Axel, and brings Emily to the New Hope Orphanage. For the first time in the ordeal, Emily is given a choice. She may not like Luke Sullivan, but she definitely is not going to marry Bart Axel if she does not have to. Living at the New Hope Orphanage brings many new experiences to this city girl - including a chance for true love. The Vigilante's Bride by Yvonne Harris is a good read for anyone who likes historical romances. Quite honestly, I did not want to put it down. I read it in two sittings. The character of Luke Sullivan was intriguing and very likeable. I enjoyed the humorous parts of the book, especially during the first half when Emily strongly disliked Luke. My only complaint is that I wish the book had been longer. I would have loved to see more development of Luke Sullivan's spiritual relationship with God. There were tidbits mentioned about it all the way through, but it seemed like they were side notes to the plot. It was one of those books that is marketed to the Christian market and it mentions God occasionally, but if you took out all the times God was mentioned, the main plot could have stood on its own as a secular fiction book. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4