Customer Reviews for

Viking Heat

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining entry in the Viking-SEAL time travel romance saga

    PH.D candidate, psychologist Joy Nelson knows it is the fault of her three older brothers as the tall female has been competing with them since she was twelve years old. She blames the "Three Muska-dopes" (Matt, Jerry and Tom) for her being in mud up to her eyeballs which is not easy to occur with her being just under six feet. Instead of going to Yale she is doing training in order to join the Navy SEALS as Matt was killed by Al-Qaeda while flying for the Air Force and the athletic amazon feels compelled to act.

    She though her siblings were the king of testosterone, but she will soon learn they are not even royalty when it comes to male hormonal rages. Instead of SEALS training, somehow Joy finds herself back in 955 on the Norselands at a slave auction in which she is the product for sale. The Igorsson siblings Erland and Arniss buy her as a birthday present for their brother Brandr. Not used to a woman who can almost look him in the eyes, Brandr feels like a berserker when it comes to his new thrall who for Thor's sake is driving him crazy with her insane notions of finding his Valkyrie side; for Odin's sake he is a Viking warrior. However, as she brings a new "Hoo-yah" tradition to the Viking lore, they fall in love though she claims a woman belongs on top.

    This is an entertaining entry in the Viking-SEAL time travel romance as the heroine brings joy to the world of Brandr the berserker in heat. The story line is lighthearted fun as Joy brings back modern day psychology theory to the tenth century Vikings. Although the plot is somewhat repetitious of previous entries, Penn State masters graduate Joy refreshes the tale with her beside manners as Sandra Hill provides an amusing entry to her delightful series.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Coalspark of EmberClan

    Leaps across the room. He sniffs around but gets scared and runs to the next result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Lissa

    Lies down and stares at the sky and all that flies in it. She is bored and needs something to do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Thor room

    For children of thor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Terrifc

    I loved every moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    DO NOT BOTHER

    Terribly bad writing paired with painfully immature characters, this is a study of how NOT to write a book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heat fever...'Wow!

    I love Sandra Hill Viking series time-Travels Romance: there full of sizzling delights & adventures. VIKING HEAT is just that! Great storyline and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    WOW!!!!

    WHAT A MAN. I LOVED THIS BOOK.... THIS IS MY FIRST SANDRA HILL,BUT NOT MY LAST. THIS ONE IS A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Welll..Lets just say..

    Its not great. This story has such amazing potential to be great..but it's not. The author seemed like she was just trying to make an ending. I'm not saying don't read this, cause I had to read it. If you're like me and have to finish once you start, you'll probably agree. It does get a slow start like someone else wrote. Its good for a rainy day, or what I call my between books(when you're waiting for that one book you just have to read, you need those between books, just because you love to read). Not great, but not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Fun read

    Junk food for the brain.....sometimes it's nice to induldge. And this book did the job nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Keep a Good Viking Down

    I thoroughly enjoyed this light-hearted romp. If you are a fan of time travel and you like your men a little rugged, then you would probably enjoy this book. It begins when you are introduced to Joy, a WEAL (woman SEAL), who has lost her brother and momentarily lost her way in life. On her first mission she is magically thrust back in time to be sold as a slave. Purchased by two brothers for another brother, Joy is trasported to the Norselands where she meets Brandr; not only her master but the chieftan of this keep. After befriending Brandr's sister, taking over the kitchen, and surrendering to all her desires, she finds her way in life and love. A great story... and if your looking for more like this your should check out some of my suggestions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow beginning

    Once Joy time travels (backwards), is when the story really picks up. I loved the Vikings in this book, their banter with everyone and hilarious reactions to Joy's futuristic ways. I love strong men who try to teach a lesson, and end up learing one themselves - and strong women who need to be taken down just a notch. Perfect balance makes for perfect stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    Okay

    The story was good. I love time travel romances, but this one was not one of my favorites. I would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    exeptence of thes we don't whant

    new ideas and new ways

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Viking Heat

    Psychiatric Intern Joy Nelson is devastated when her older brother Matthew, is killed in Afghanistan. Joy enters the Navy SEAL program for women, The WEALs. Joy is sent out on a mission and after a bomb goes off she is suddenly in 955 AD. At first Joy believes she's in the middle of a reenactment, but soon comes to realize that she's really in 955 and she's the love thrall of Brandr. Joy soon sets to show these 9th century male chauvinists that she's a force to be reckoned with.
    I love all of Sandra Hill's time travel books, but found this one somewhat wanting. I loved the characters and the plot, but I missed the interaction of the other SEALS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Vikings R Hot!!!!

    This is the first book I've read from Sandra Hill and it was awesome!!! this book was funny, laugh out loud hilarious at times, and hot ! It was very believeable. I also enjoyed the way Ms. Hill's characters had me crying and rootin for the underdog all at the same time. WEALS rock!!
    please check out this book, you wont be dissapointed...can't wait to read the rest of her works!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her greatest work.

    Did not like this book at all. There was no real plot except getting blown up and traveling back in time, which happened at the beginning of the book. I hate books that have the two main charicters at odds with each other through out the whole book and then at the end they are in love. All in all a very disappointing read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3