Customer Reviews for

Villette (Modern Library Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful, captivating novel

This is a wonderful book! I absolutely love the character development. Everything about this book is intriguing. The plot was interesting, the ending okay. I prefer more solid, definite endings, but the journey to the end was well worth it. The character development is ...
This is a wonderful book! I absolutely love the character development. Everything about this book is intriguing. The plot was interesting, the ending okay. I prefer more solid, definite endings, but the journey to the end was well worth it. The character development is my favorite thing about this book. You see Lucy change over time. You see, more fantastically, this little appearingly annoying thing of a man turn into a wonderfully loving character that the reader cannot resist falling in love with. This is a great novel and I recommend reading it, even if just to trace the character developement and challenge whether or not you cannot fall in love with M. Paul. :)

i also recommend: Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, Persuasion, Their Eyes Were Watching God

posted by jenieliser on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the time

Kept waiting for it to get better. Heroine, Lucy, is very passive and submissive; she is very difficult to relate to. Not worth the time reading.

posted by deborah197 on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Boring, dull, wishy-washy ol' Lucy Snowe

    I loved reading Jane Eyre, so I wanted to read some other Bronte works. This one was a real stinker, to say the least. Lucy's personality kind of grated on my nerves, but what really turned me away was the love/romance (or lack thereof). I don't like the kind nor degree of it. I am quite surprised by the hit-or-miss nature of Charlotte Bronte's works. Here's to hoping 'The Professor' is a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    Not nearly as good as I expected

    I have to say I'm writing this review while still in the 300's of 500+ pages. However, I have read enough to say that this book is not nearly as good as Jayne Eyre. It is sooooo very slow-moving and descriptive to the extent of confusion at times. Jane Eyre is one of my all-time favorites, and I wanted to read this book because of that. So far, I am greatly disappointed; but I will finish the book, for I am not a quitter. Let's hope something good pops up before the end of an uneventful, sluggish read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Needs A Sleeping Drought When You Have Villette

    I love period dramas and think Jane Eyre is fabulous but oh gosh this was the most boring book I ever read, well attempted to read. After 200 pages I realized that life is too short. I find this book to be dull and indirect, the plot uneventful with the most inanimate heroine I have ever read. I really don't care what happens to anyone in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    Plain but happy

    Bronte's Villette is a very modern classic, if one can say that. The language is easy to read, and her thoughts flow, like one person talks to another. This wonderful story of a Protestant girl amidst Catholic settings is witty as well as uplifting. It tells the story of Lucy Snowe, a rather plain girl who teaches at a French school and finds love, after so long, in rather extraordinary circumstances. It's so beautifully written, every line is a pleasure to read. Bronte is astounding astute for someone of her time. To describe Villette in one word: Fantastic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    not worth it

    i read Jane Eyre first and when i heard that Villette was supposed to be even better, i was extremely eager to read it. the beginning was good, in the middle i began to roll my eyes at some of Lucy Snowe's antics and by the end i was so disappointed in how it all ended. not at all like her first book. if you enjoyed the innocence and happy ending of Jane Eyre than Villette is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Ovelooked classic

    Charlotte Bronte's ultimate classic Villette did not get at much recognition as Jane Eyre because of the complexity of it which can only be appreciated by the few who try to understand Lucy Snowe's pessimism and determined nature that correlates with Charlotte and her sister Emily. Lucy, the protagonist, is a grown up version of Jane Eyre a Bronte scholar once said and as a reader, I confirm it. This is the best of Charlotte Bronte, even better than Jane Eyre, if that is possible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    a mature novel by Charlotte Bronte

    Comparably, Jane Eyre is a far more juvenile novel. From the elements of this book, the depth of feeling, and the main charater's extreme loneliness, one knows how Charlotte herself felt after so much loss in her personal life. The heroine, Lucy Snowe, struggles through her fear of rejection and loss to make a better life for herself. As tragic as the novel ends she is still better off than how she started. She has given herself a chance to love. She is more than an inoffensive shadow. Ultimately, she is independent. As she states earlier, the next best thing to happiness is independence and she certainly gains that. Lucy Snowe invites us to understand her story, to feel the way she feels, to look into ourselves and see the way we could be with her fears. This is the genius and the torment of a talented writer. In Jane Eyre Bronte did great things. In Villette, far greater.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    What A Wretched Book

    Villete tugs on the heartstrings and yet one cannot help feeling very sad for the narrator because she is so perverse to happiness. She's quite incomprehensible; however, the end of the novel one wishes her life had been more fulfilling emotionally.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Religious intolerance tempered by romance

    Really good writing, as in Charlotte Bronte's 1853 VILLETTE is a foretaste of heaven. There is considerable exploration of differences between French culture (the mythical city of VILLETTE seems based on Brussels) and English and between English Protestantism and Continental Catholicism. The unlikely,hard fought romance between the professor M. Paul and heroine English teacher Lucy Stowe finds a way for lovers to develop respect for and tolerance of each other's beliefs without yielding their own. The thesis is developed that women can be happy despite loneliness, if only they find a friend who recognizes their talents and encourages them to work hard and independently.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    A truly human novel

    Villette is a beautifully written novel, that deals with Lucy Snowes sorrow, lonliness, and heartache wonderfully. Lucy gives you an insight into her pain that is not given in any of the other Bronte Novels. The romance between her and M. Emanuel made me smile, and eventually cry. (If you have read it you know what I mean!) If you read Jane Eyre, you should read Villette afterward; they are two different outcomes of women in the same social situation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8