Customer Reviews for

Vinegar Hill

Average Rating 3
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Okay

    I read this book for book club and I found it very sad and depressing. I did finish the book because I wanted to see how it ended. Not one of my favorite books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Depressing, but okay read

    Interesting book in its own way, but not a favorite

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Only if you wanted to escape to hell!

    Short and sweet!
    Written very well!
    If the author wanted to set you into a tailspin of antidepressants....she succeeded!
    But sickeningly enough, I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Read Vinegar Hill by A. Manette Ansay tells the sto

    Wonderful Read



    Vinegar Hill by A. Manette Ansay tells the story of Ellen, a young woman who is forced to move in with her in-laws after her husband loses his job. Chastised for wanting a college education and never quite good enough in the eyes of her mother-in-law, Ellen chooses to support her husband by silently accepting the decisions he has made for their family.  Set in the early 1960′s, when leaving a marriage was nearly unthinkable, the reader is able to walk alongside Ellen as she lives day to day with her distant husband, violent father-in-law, and subtly cruel mother-in-law. Although Ellen is the main character, various chapters give the reader a glimpse into the minds of the other characters, including the children, which allows for a bit of balance and empathy for the others.




    When I finished reading Vinegar Hill (an Oprah Book Club pick in 1999), I couldn’t shake the image of a volcano with lava slowly pouring out of it and cascading into neighboring areas. This is not because there are any volcanos or natural disasters in the book, but rather due to the author’s way of telling the story with an underlying heat and a slow and smooth style of writing. At its core, each character is angry and trying to make sense of their current situation. Their angers are bubbling just below the surface and reach out to touch each of the other characters in ways that they don’t anticipate or recognize. Despite each character having their own struggles, they all boil down to their current living arrangements, which has magnified their individual issues into a toxic atmosphere in which each person is feeding off of the negative energy of the others.




    Despite the steady flow of the book, there were a few story lines that were left unfinished. Granted, they weren’t vital to the story as a whole, but they incited some empathy in me for some of the characters and I was left wondering whether my empathy was misplaced. Vinegar Hill is a book that can be read in one sitting, preferably on a cold or rainy day.  It’s melancholy and realistic portrayal of a difficult marriage in the early 1960′s is heartbreaking and, I can imagine for those a bit older than me, a familiar story.




    Side note: After reading an interview with the author, I learned that she was in a similar living situation. This added a depth to the book that was not previously there and made me look back on the book even more fondly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Depressing

    This book left me with nothing to feel better about at the end of it, completly disheartening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    One of my favorites

    Dynamic writing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, Not Great.

    This was extremely depressing and after finishing the book, I really could not seem to find what the overall message was. Every character in this story frustrated me at some point. I felt if you didn't know what year Ansay was writing about you would think early 1900's with the way everyone stayed in a loveless marriage in the novel. However, the novel was supposed to be taking place in 1972. Some things like the portrayal of the time period, along with certain events in the characters' lives seem unrealistic. I do have to hand it to Ansay for having an eloquent way of writing. Her style of writing was almost like descriptive poetry. I really enjoyed how she ties the chapter's beginning paragraph with the chapter's last paragraph. It's a quick read, but you are constantly waiting for something big to happens which it really never does. I cannot believe this is part of Oprah's book club. To me, this book does not compare with Toni Morrison's works or Wally Lamb's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good message

    This boook was a good message who are going through things. Even though the plots(story) go back and forth. I understood the messeage in which it presented to other people. It's a good message. It's a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Oprah bookclub pick?

    I wasn't bored reading this. It had all the right factors to make a great book: wicked in-laws, secrets from the past, a marriage in turmoil....Despite this, the author did not bind it all together to make it make sense. I got the point but it just wasn't delivered well. The climax was almost to the end. It took a while to get to the point. Not totally let down but had higher hopes for a bookclub pick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Wicked in-laws...weird,spineless husband...guilty catholics...lively divorced friend...triumphant wife. I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Read this book!

    This is a truly remarkable debut novel that you won¿t put down until the end. Its compelling theme is masterfully linked to a wonderfully-cast story and complex, interesting characters. Ansay's witty observations cleverly display how so many of us lose our identities in obligatory social roles and hollow spirituality. Although the novel¿s true qualities may escape the careless reader, I highly recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Literary Fiction At Its Finest

    Vinegar Hill is a beautifully written, bittersweet novel of a family paralyzed by a secret that, like the November winds Ansay describes, '...mov[es] over the walls of the house, stroking the windows, trying to coax its way past the curtains to blow the flowers from the napkins and plates, ...: This is a book that you won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Powerful

    I read Vinegar Hill after a friend mentioned that she thought the book is one of Oprah's best picks. After reading it, I believe it is clearly the best Oprah pick to date. Yes, if you are the sort that needs a neat, formulated happy ending, this is not the book for you. If you are looking for an amazing glimpse into the misery suffered by many women, this book does an extraordinary job. Unfortunately, it presents the reality of many in a manner that is striking and will make you think about your own lot in life for a long time. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Depressing, Wallow in the Dark

    Sorry, this has to be the worst Oprah pick I've read. Depressing is the most uplifting thing I can say about this book. It lacked both plot and hope. I gave it away saying I did not like it and I did not want the book back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    Torturous~

    What a downer with no redeeming qualities. I'll say it was structurally well-written, but it's definitely not something I'd recommend. I expected better from Oprah's Book Club and even heard someone say it was their favorite book - I feel sorry for that person!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    hit home

    I only finished this book because I am currently living with the inlaws and it gave me some perspective. The story didn't go anywhere, and the characters' pathetic lives didn't interest me in the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Waste of time

    There was no point to this book. Nothing happened and it was just depressing. I don't know how this made Oprah's book club. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Boring!

    I think Ansay was trying too hard to pour dysfunction into this family and ignored PLOT. I was almost finished with the book and was still waiting for something to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Not Worth Reading!

    This book was unbelievably dull! Cannot believe Oprah found any sort of interest to actually put this on her list! Did she even read it? It was so repetitive and strange. A lot of it never made much sense and the whole story really had no point at all! My first A. Manette Ansay book and doubt I will read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Cant Belive this made Oprah's Book Club!

    The book was ok but not great by any stretch of the imagination. It was slow and not really about anything in particular. The story dragged and the characters were dull at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4