Customer Reviews for

Vintage: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Charming, elegant, and relevant. I loved each of the trio in the

    Charming, elegant, and relevant. I loved each of the trio in the sisterhood of protagonists. The story is conveyed in the alternating voices of diverse cultures and generations and each chapter opens with an inventory item introduction. The strands of independence and interdependence, and the beauty and strength of womanhood are deftly interwoven to produce a literary tapestry. Vintage is a treasure I will share and savor for years to come!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I spend a lot of time reading novels set in a turbulent past or

    I spend a lot of time reading novels set in a turbulent past or those which race the clock and leave you breathless. In VINTAGE, I found a new variety of book to love--one that enfolds you in a tale of believable characters you grow to love and root for as they struggle to come to terms with the difficult times in their lives. What could be more poignant than lasting friendship? In my own life--not much, so I related well to these ladies--Amithi, Violet, and April. This novel is reminiscent of THE JANE AUSTEN BOOK CLUB in all the good ways. You will think of its characters long after you've devoured it. Highly recommended for lovers of women's fiction and book clubs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings What a sweet bo

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    What a sweet book with three fantastic main characters, all at different points in life and all at crossroads where they must make big decisions.  Violet owns a vintage clothing store and each chapter starts with an item that she has in the store or that is on its way in and has something to do with the action in that chapter - I loved this, it made the book feel uniquely vintage!  Amithi is an older Indian woman who is an empty nester and is trying to find what really makes her happy at this moment in life.  Finally, there is April and she is pregnant and very young and must figure out the path that she wants to choose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Susan Gloss's VINTAGE is about fashion, sure. Little vignettes a

    Susan Gloss's VINTAGE is about fashion, sure. Little vignettes at the beginning of each chapter give us dresses and accessories to watch out for in the story. But this novel is about far more than that. Each woman in the novel—Violet, the owner of Hourglass Vintage, and the women who enter the store and her life—has to figure out where she's gone wrong and rise to the challenge of a second chance. I liked the honest depiction of women's friendships, complex and sometimes fraught, but in the end, supportive and lasting—just like the well-made garments in Violet's store.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Great read!

    If you like Debbie Macomber, you will live this book. Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Fun but predictable

    From the beginning, it's easy to tell what direction the story will go. The characters are sweet and easy to like. I enjoyed how each chapter started with a description of a vintage item. Overall, quick & easy beach read you don't have to think through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Heartwarming story of the power of female friendship

    What a fun read for anyone who loves clothing, history, friendship and love. Violet Turner from the time she was a young girl had a flair for clothing, the more unique the better. But, her true love for vintage clothing took center stag to all else. This love of vintage clothing and the story behind each piece of clothing she buys leads her to following her dream, a vintage apparel shop. Before Violet realizes it her life and three completely different women who find their way to the Hourglass Vintage Shop are intertwined for life. It is a heartwarming story of the power of female friendship and the love and bond that grows from these women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Stories and fashion

    This is a very sweet book combining stories and fashion ( what more can you want ;) ).

    Violet owns the Vintage Hourglass, a store she's owned for about five years. With 'gently used vintage' being the rage, espeicially in Madison WI, she's done fairly well working alone and living upstairs with her rescued dog, Miles.

    Then a regular customer asks her to take on an intern. April is dealing with the loss if her mother and her fiance along with dealing with her pregnancy. Violet takes on April, and the two of them work together to build trust, something neither have a ready supply of.

    Some of this was fairly predictable...it didn't take much to figure it out, but a very sweet book all the same. Worth looking for

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    I loved this book. I don't read a lot of adult fiction, but I en

    I loved this book. I don't read a lot of adult fiction, but I enjoyed this one. It was a sweet and easy read, and the vintage element added a lot more fun. I loved getting to know the three characters, and how their lives intertwined because of this store.

    Violet owns a vintage store. After escaping a bad marriage, Violet has finally gotten to do what she always wanted. But, she is getting older, and she can't stop her wistful thinking for a family, a child. April is 18-years-old, and pregnant. She buys her wedding dress from Violet's store, only for her engagement to be broken, leaving her to return her perfect dress. Amithi has been married for over 40 years, when she discovers her husband's betrayal. With a grown daughter, no work experience, and all her family back in India, Amithi is stuck. She begins cleaning out her closet, bringing things to Violet's store to be sold off.

    Each of the characters were in different stages of life, and also marriage. Yet they were able to come together for each other. Each voice was written uniquely, as to really showcase the differences between the women. The story was written in the present, but with flashbacks. This could have become really confusing, but it wasn't. It was well-done, and really characterized each of the women.

    Okay, I might have especially loved that there was an Indian woman in here, and I think Gloss did an exceptional job of relaying the struggles that come with being an Indian woman who leaves her family behind to come here with her husband, as well as the struggles that come with raising a daughter in two cultures. Everything rang true, and I loved the showcase of diversity.

    The story may have been considered predictable, but I didn't care, because it was very well done. It was equally full of emotions and humor (drag queens, anyone?). This was an excellent debut, and I will definitely be picking up whatever Susan Gloss writes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Charming story

    The story is about three women making changes in their lives. The women are from different genetations but are similar in the way they change their lives . A nice story and an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Nice little book, great beach read.

    Nice little book, great beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Great read!

    I can't put the book down...I'm getting close to the end and will be sad to read the words "The End" Very enjoyable read with characters that are warm and endearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    I enjoyed this book, each chapter artfully framed by the catalog

    I enjoyed this book, each chapter artfully framed by the catalog description of a vintage item. It was a solid beach read, the story end points for each of the interesting characters being highly predictable. Ah, but they arrived at those end points with such style. A good story is in the telling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Vintage is a wonderful, heartwarming story about women's friends

    Vintage is a wonderful, heartwarming story about women's friendships and how the beauty of the things we own comes from sharing them. Violet, who owns a vintage store in Madison, WI, loves listening to the stories of her customers and the vintage items they bring into the store, but she soon learns she may lose her store to developers who plan to take over the property. While she deals with her crisis, she befriends customers of the store who bring in their own past heartbreaks: April, a pregnant teenager who's returning the wedding dress she'd bought at Violet's store but never used, and Amithi, who brings in her decades' old saris after learning of her husband's betrayal. 

    Gloss tenderly intertwines each woman's past with the artifacts of their lives and those who came before them. Her novel is like foodie fiction for vintage lovers, mixed with a loving portrayal of women's friendships and how we each have to find a place for our pasts before moving on to our futures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    Pleasant But Predictable.

    Pleasant But Predictable. This is basically a well written book and it will suffice for a rainy afternoon read with a cup of tea, but don't look for anything original. This same basic plot has been done before--better and more originally--in titles like 'A Vintage Affair' and 'The Secret Lives of Dresses.' Here we have the now familiar young woman putting her heart/soul into a vintage clothing store while trying to move past her own romantic issues. She is surrounded by a female circle of friends, each with their personal problems as well. Not surprisingly, they bond over the background stories of the dresses. Any careful reader can see the plot unfolding from miles away. An okay read if you are not looking for anything surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1