Customer Reviews for

The Vintage Caper

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good old fashioned mystery

Every once in awhile, you find a great mystery that puts on no airs and treats you to a worthwhile romp through another country. This book could have been a 1940's movie - completely well rounded - no hard edges and fun to follow.

If you're looking for a great diver...
Every once in awhile, you find a great mystery that puts on no airs and treats you to a worthwhile romp through another country. This book could have been a 1940's movie - completely well rounded - no hard edges and fun to follow.

If you're looking for a great diversion - it's a well written book that teaches you a thing or two about France, wine and the art of writing.

posted by anonymousNC on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Vintage Caper

At first, I was not a huge fan of the novel, as the setting and characters in L.A. were too superficial for my taste, and the aura of the plot was not nearly as relaxing as A Good Year or A Year in Provence. However, after Sam, the insurance detective, heads off to Mar...
At first, I was not a huge fan of the novel, as the setting and characters in L.A. were too superficial for my taste, and the aura of the plot was not nearly as relaxing as A Good Year or A Year in Provence. However, after Sam, the insurance detective, heads off to Marseilles, my feelings began to change. I think Mayle demonstrates the contrast of attitudes and personalities in Europe versus the West Coast, and the expatiations on wine and gourmet food left me craving a fine dining experience.

posted by Jbmorrow on January 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good old fashioned mystery

    Every once in awhile, you find a great mystery that puts on no airs and treats you to a worthwhile romp through another country. This book could have been a 1940's movie - completely well rounded - no hard edges and fun to follow.

    If you're looking for a great diversion - it's a well written book that teaches you a thing or two about France, wine and the art of writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Vintage Caper

    At first, I was not a huge fan of the novel, as the setting and characters in L.A. were too superficial for my taste, and the aura of the plot was not nearly as relaxing as A Good Year or A Year in Provence. However, after Sam, the insurance detective, heads off to Marseilles, my feelings began to change. I think Mayle demonstrates the contrast of attitudes and personalities in Europe versus the West Coast, and the expatiations on wine and gourmet food left me craving a fine dining experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    read better

    this book was a disappointment. I have been a avid follower of Peter's books but this one was not nearly as good as others he has written. Almost like he had a deadline to meet and put this out. Hope he gets his groove back.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    The Vintage Caper

    Have always enjoyed Peter Mayle's books. This was delightful and an easy read. I enjoyed the relationships and the character development. I like his writing style and enjoy the descriptions of both his characters and the locales. This particular book gave some interesting details of wine. I love wine but am not an "expert" on all of the nuances of the grape.
    I hope he will write more - both fiction and "escapism".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Mayle needs to write more!

    While this book was not quite as perhaps sophisticated or in depth as Mayle's earlier books in terms of the local culture, food, drink, etc., I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love hearing about the countryside and how he wove in the mystery. Please write more, more often.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Enjoyable book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    delightful

    fun

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mayle fans will love it.

    -fast paced, fun book. Love his writing style. Hope he keeps this as a series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amusing crime caper

    Hollywood entertainment lawyer Danny Roth cherishes his wine collection, insured for three million dollars. He is so full of pride over his vintage collection he boasts excessively about his vino darlings during a Los Angeles Times interview. However, Danny feels violated when someone who obviously read the article absconded with his wine collection.

    Insurance agent Elena Morales hires her former boyfriend Sam Levitt, a wine connoisseur, to investigate the theft. He follows the trail to France where he teams up with insurance agent Sophie Costes, a wine and food gourmand. They soon track the purloined wine to Marseilles with billionaire wine collector Francis Reboul as the prime suspect behind the theft.

    This is an amusing crime caper that will have readers toasting Peter Mayle with A Good Year French champagne. The story line is fast-paced and straightforward as the shortest distance between California and French Lessons is between Sam and the other players. With a solid cast, Vintage Caper is lighthearted fun as each key participant makes their play for the valuable vino with not one of them fully trusting any of the others.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    If you liked Peter Mayle's other novels you will surely enjoy this one!

    In The Vintage Caper Peter Mayle brings back Sam Levitt, the charming and irascible crook turned PI from Anything Considered. Elena, Sam's beautiful but cantankerous ex, is in a bind. The insurance company she works for will have to pay out on a multimillion dollar claim unless the vintage wines stolen from their client can be found. Sam is a natural for the job, a wine connoisseur who also happens to be a private investigator.

    The plot of The Vintage Caper is disappointingly predictable and bland. A few more twists and surprises would have livened things up. However, you don't read Peter Mayle for plot, you read for the gorgeous descriptions of gourmet meals, rare wines, beautiful scenery, and the playful, sparkling dialogue between characters. As always, the characters themselves are pitch perfect - charming rogues and smart, beautiful women whose company you will enjoy. Reading this book is like taking a lovely, relaxing and fun-filled vacation to France. If you liked Peter Mayle's other novels you will surely enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3