Customer Reviews for

Viola in Reel Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Viola in Reel Life is a REAL treat

    This was a very cute coming of age book about a 14 year old girl named Viola, who gets sent to a all girls school in Indiana while her parents film a documentary in Afghanistan. I really enjoyed the film aspects because that is something that I don't know a lot about.

    I related a lot to Viola, she is very stubborn and she seems to never understand that she is acting a certain way until someone points it out to her. I went into this book wanting to read a teenage romance, but as this story progressed I loved that it was more about Viola discovering herself and a friendship between four young girls.

    I would love to read more about Viola and her friends, I think that there is a lot of potential in the characters of this book. Especially, the relationship between Andrew and Viola. I would also like to see more of what Viola films, mainly her video diaries.

    All in all, this was a very well written book. It's the 1st book I've read by Adriana Trigiani and I will definetly be looking into her adult books now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book

    Viola In Reel Life is a sweet read that takes you thru the roller coaster ride that is Viola Chesterfield. She starts out feeling "dumped" by her documentary making parents who have to go to Afganistan to do filming. The book shows just how withdrawn Viola is when she first arrives and how it plainly hurts her roommates. Its nice to see a book written about a real girl going to boarding school, not some uber-rich girl having to deal with where her Manolo's will fit in the cramped closet. She hides from everyone behind her video camera, but that becomes part of her sudden popularity when she helps the Founders Day show the school puts on and makes her a star. That same camera also helps her meet a cute boy from the boys private school down the road. Its nice to see Viola change from being so withdrawn and sad to a bubbly and happy girl at the end. I liked how they talked alot about the short film Viola works on for a contest. Overall, its a good realistic book and girls will love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT FOR KIDS ONLY

    I HAD THE PLEASURE OF READING THIS AND I'M A SENIOR CITIZEN AND IT WAS CHARMING, DELIGHTFUL AND FUN.....SO YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A KID. I DON'T THINK IT IS APPROPRIATE FOR THOSE UNDER 13, BUT A DELIGHT FOR A TEEN TO READ AND REALLY A PAGE TURNER....I DO THINK GIRLS WILL LIKE IT BETTER THAN BOYS, BUT AS I STATED, I AM A SENIOR AND I LOVED IT.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VIOLA IN REEL LIFE HAS YOU HOOKED FROM THE FIRST PAGE!

    On September 3, 2009, fourteen-year-old Viola Chesterton finds herself unhappy after being dropped off in South Bend, Indiana which Viola refers to as the: "...dust bowl of Indiana", at "The Prefect Academy For Young Women Since 1890." Viola's parents are off in Afghanistan for a year making a documentary about Afghan women forcing them to pull her from her home in Brooklyn, New York. This was not going to be an easy or comfortable change for Viola.

    Convinced she was going to be unhappy, and feeling "marooned" and "abandoned", Viola figures her family will miss her long before her year at the all-girls boarding school is up, and will rush to bring her home. If she can't convince them through her words, then as an amateur photography and movie maker who never leaves her camera behind, she decides she'll express her unhappiness through film. It gives her little consolation when she realizes that: "...parents have been dumping their girls here for a solid education since bustle skirts, high-top shoes, and the invention of the cotton gin" and Viola sees the Academy as her "personal prison."

    Used to being an only child and not having to share, Viola decides to take a middle stance and not be "...too quick to make friends" as she doesn't want to be stuck with a 'best friend forever' or viewed as the "...most annoying person on the planet" and is soon introduced to her three roommates. But, as the girls get to know each other and become acquainted, what Viola begins to learn is that sometimes what we term as "family" isn't what we think.

    During her journey through boarding school, Viola not only makes some friends, discovers some things about herself and her family, survives her first boyfriend, but learns that good things do happen to people like her and growing up is sometimes hard to do.

    Ms. Trigiani's talent is amazing!! It doesn't matter if she's writing adult fiction or young adult fiction, all her novels are page-turners! I felt like I was with the group every step of the way, like I had been transported into the pages of the novel!! This novel is for anyone, young or old, male or female and will leave you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Life Lessons from Viola

    I am far from a teen - but I am a huge fan of Adriana Trigiani and read whatever she has to say. I found the story captivating and thought that the message was a good one. This young girl was put into a situation that she very much did not want to be in - she not only dealt with it, but she learned that, when given a chance, good things can come out of a negative experience. All in all, a very good life lesson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

    Viola Chesterson has been "dumped" at the Prefect Academy for Young Women in South Bend, Indiana - a long way from home in Brooklyn, New York.

    Her freshman year of high school seems like it's going to be a terrible one. But luckily, with the help of her three roommates and the video camera that she always carries around with her, she not only survives the year (and her first boyfriend), but learns that sometimes family can be more than just the people you're related to.

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was fun to read about what boarding school life would be like for a normal kid, not just a rich one. I liked all of the roommates - when I first started the book, I expected them to not get along and to dislike them. But the author took a different route and made all of the girls nice and friendly.

    I also enjoyed the whole film aspect of the story. I thought the short film Viola makes at the end was a great idea. The only thing I didn't like was that sometimes Viola seemed a little immature. I know that she was only fourteen years old, but some of the things she thought and said just seemed a little young for her age.

    Overall, though, this was a fun young adult read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Viola

    This is absolutely fantastic. I loved this book. If you are hesitating on buying this, just go ahead. Buy it and read it. If you like realistic fiction, comedy, mystery, or romance; this is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Juno hits the Midwest

    I am a Childrens' bookseller and absolutely loved this title! I had the priviledge of meeting the author at Book Expo America in May. This book was just as much fun as Ms. Trigiani. The main character's quick wit reminded me so much of the banter in the movie "Juno". A former Michigander myself, I really got giggles out of the things Viola pointed out at her new midwestern based private school. I read this in just over a day and was sorry when it was over. I recommend this for girls 12yrs and older.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Lianna

    She gave a squeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Noooooooo

    I just wanted a music book for my viola
    !sucks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great book

    I thought it was a great book. Its a quick read, but also very fun. Don't hesitate to buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Love it

    Sweet story about a girl short read but worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great read!

    I recommend this to a teenager like myself who is looking for a new book. It turned out to be really great! Im like Viola in that sense I guess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    decent..

    it wasn't that bad.. i just didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    A teen must.

    This is one of my new favorite books. The way Viola tells her story is stunning, and keeps you entertained throughout the whole book. This is the kind of book I would not get tired of reading over again. Great story of a teen life(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Good

    The book is good but there is no excitment or adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Thrilling, dynamic

    Viola is very funny. I reccomend this bool to the teenage girls out there who go to boarding school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    highly loved

    i think anyone under the age of 16 would love this book! even people older would to, but i think adriana trigiani tryed to make this appeal to teens or pree teens. i think she pulled it off very nicely. this book has a very intreasting plot. betrayal, adbandaningness, changing,love, misreable, feeling welcom, happy,overjoyed , and confused are all played into the story very nicely.

    people you should really read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book With A Realistic and Moving Story

    I will not try to give a brief summary for this book since it has already been done so pretty well. I will say, however, that "Viola in Reel Life" is a story that many people can relate to. Viola give a very thorough description of how it feels to be dragged from the only place you have come to known and love. However, as the book wears on, she begins to learn that maybe being moved isn't such a bad thing; that it can teach you some very valuable lessons. After all, everything happens for a reason. The characters are very authentic, as are the problems. While I think that this story is very realistic and truthful, I should forewarn that there is a lot of mention of the paranormal. But overall, the story is moving and will grasp your attention while also giving you a lesson of your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Haven't Exactly Finished it Yet, but not Impressed.

    The cover, the plot, the whole look of the book made me want to read it. So far, I'm not impressed. Viola doesn't seem to know what she likes and doesn't like. I am expecting her to be a miserable teenager who is almost ready to walk out on boarding school, who doesn't get along with her friends, and is furious at her parents. I believe that would make the book a bit interesting. However, she comes in uncertain about school (understandable), realizes she pretty much likes her roommates from the start, doesn't exactly mind the school, and is pretty comfortable away from her parents. There's really no point. I'm halfway through and about ready to give it up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4