Customer Reviews for

Viola in Reel Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT FOR KIDS ONLY

    I HAD THE PLEASURE OF READING THIS AND I'M A SENIOR CITIZEN AND IT WAS CHARMING, DELIGHTFUL AND FUN.....SO YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A KID. I DON'T THINK IT IS APPROPRIATE FOR THOSE UNDER 13, BUT A DELIGHT FOR A TEEN TO READ AND REALLY A PAGE TURNER....I DO THINK GIRLS WILL LIKE IT BETTER THAN BOYS, BUT AS I STATED, I AM A SENIOR AND I LOVED IT.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VIOLA IN REEL LIFE HAS YOU HOOKED FROM THE FIRST PAGE!

    On September 3, 2009, fourteen-year-old Viola Chesterton finds herself unhappy after being dropped off in South Bend, Indiana which Viola refers to as the: "...dust bowl of Indiana", at "The Prefect Academy For Young Women Since 1890." Viola's parents are off in Afghanistan for a year making a documentary about Afghan women forcing them to pull her from her home in Brooklyn, New York. This was not going to be an easy or comfortable change for Viola.

    Convinced she was going to be unhappy, and feeling "marooned" and "abandoned", Viola figures her family will miss her long before her year at the all-girls boarding school is up, and will rush to bring her home. If she can't convince them through her words, then as an amateur photography and movie maker who never leaves her camera behind, she decides she'll express her unhappiness through film. It gives her little consolation when she realizes that: "...parents have been dumping their girls here for a solid education since bustle skirts, high-top shoes, and the invention of the cotton gin" and Viola sees the Academy as her "personal prison."

    Used to being an only child and not having to share, Viola decides to take a middle stance and not be "...too quick to make friends" as she doesn't want to be stuck with a 'best friend forever' or viewed as the "...most annoying person on the planet" and is soon introduced to her three roommates. But, as the girls get to know each other and become acquainted, what Viola begins to learn is that sometimes what we term as "family" isn't what we think.

    During her journey through boarding school, Viola not only makes some friends, discovers some things about herself and her family, survives her first boyfriend, but learns that good things do happen to people like her and growing up is sometimes hard to do.

    Ms. Trigiani's talent is amazing!! It doesn't matter if she's writing adult fiction or young adult fiction, all her novels are page-turners! I felt like I was with the group every step of the way, like I had been transported into the pages of the novel!! This novel is for anyone, young or old, male or female and will leave you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Viola

    This is absolutely fantastic. I loved this book. If you are hesitating on buying this, just go ahead. Buy it and read it. If you like realistic fiction, comedy, mystery, or romance; this is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Juno hits the Midwest

    I am a Childrens' bookseller and absolutely loved this title! I had the priviledge of meeting the author at Book Expo America in May. This book was just as much fun as Ms. Trigiani. The main character's quick wit reminded me so much of the banter in the movie "Juno". A former Michigander myself, I really got giggles out of the things Viola pointed out at her new midwestern based private school. I read this in just over a day and was sorry when it was over. I recommend this for girls 12yrs and older.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Lianna

    She gave a squeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great book

    I thought it was a great book. Its a quick read, but also very fun. Don't hesitate to buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    A teen must.

    This is one of my new favorite books. The way Viola tells her story is stunning, and keeps you entertained throughout the whole book. This is the kind of book I would not get tired of reading over again. Great story of a teen life(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Thrilling, dynamic

    Viola is very funny. I reccomend this bool to the teenage girls out there who go to boarding school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    highly loved

    i think anyone under the age of 16 would love this book! even people older would to, but i think adriana trigiani tryed to make this appeal to teens or pree teens. i think she pulled it off very nicely. this book has a very intreasting plot. betrayal, adbandaningness, changing,love, misreable, feeling welcom, happy,overjoyed , and confused are all played into the story very nicely.

    people you should really read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2