Customer Reviews for

Violet Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    ATL

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great series

    The whole kanner lake series is great. I read each book in just a few days. Very hard to put down. If you read this, be prepared to want to go on to the next one. Recommend for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Fasten your seatbelt

    Very fast paced and edge-of-your-seat suspensful. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Finely honed suspense writing

    Paige Williams finds herself in a terrifying situation and faces a horrible decision. She knows that any choice she makes will force worse circumstances upon her, but she has no idea of the danger in which she will entangle herself as her clumsy attempts to influence her future place her on a collision course with death. The newest thriller series by Brandilyn Collins starts with a shock, and Collins deftly weaves a tight plot that takes place within a twenty-four hour timeframe. While her earlier suspense novels evidence good writing and story lines, Violet Dawn showcases the author¿s finely honed skills in suspense writing, especially in the area of characterization. At the moment readers wonder about characters¿ skills or motives, Collins supplies the answers, showing great planning and forethought on her part. With the Kanner Lake Series, Collins launches into the realm of great inspirational suspense writing. I look forward to reading Coral Moon, the second in the Kanner Lake Series, which is already garnering rave reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is the first I've read by Brandilynn Collins and she did not disappoint me. This suspenseful story kept me turning pages until late that night. I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes a good suspense. The hot tub scene in the first of the book gave me goose bumps for a good while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    A Great New Series of Christian Thrillers!

    I have read many of Brandilyn Collins' books and can never get enough. Violet Dawn stars with suspense the very first page! It was absolutely a book you can not put down once you have started it. The characters are rich, the suspense tense and you will never guess the ending until you are there. This is one of Ms. Collins' best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Start of a Great New Series by an Author You Can Trust

    Brandilyn Collins is an author you can trust for a consistent, strong read, and she doesn't disappoint in this first release in the Kanner Lake series. Violet Dawn blends many difficult techniques and makes them look effortless. The book provides a large cast of characters--as if the town itself is a character--and yet makes us care about the individuals central to the action. Collins is also excellent at weaving in scenes of backstory between current action, deepening the mystery and making us hungry for more. Her point of view shifts are deliberately placed to tighten the screws and the resolution highly satisfying. If you've never read anything by Collins, you're missing a treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Seatbelt Suspense Indeed!

    Violet Dawn lived up to the expectations that Web of Lies planted. Collins¿ work is billed as ¿seatbelt suspense¿ and not only is it a catchy tag-line it¿s a true discription of her body of work. On her web page Collins explores why she choose to write Christian suspense, saying: The question is¿why do I choose to write suspense? Why not romance, or historicals, or contemporaries¿something a little easier on the nerves? My mother wonders this too. She thinks I¿m getting more warped by the minute. She¿s probably right. My stories do tend to be¿intense. But the truth is, I have an amazing, fun freedom in writing Christian suspense. I get to tell all sorts of scary stories¿and inject the hope of God into them. That¿s the best of both worlds, if you ask me. Truth is, we do live in an evil world. But the truth doesn¿t end there, thanks be to God. The truth ends with the fact that God¿s power can help us live, even be victorious, amid this evil. Not to say bad things don¿t happen to good people. They do¿in real life, and in my books. It is to say that followers of Christ have been given the awesome authority to go before His throne and ask for help in times of trouble¿even big, bad trouble. Especially big, bad trouble. blcBang on Brandilyn! She nailed it. And she nailed one of the reasons I love her work so much. We do live in an evil world but with God¿s help we make it. And without sounding like a preacher she shows us how with every word she writes. And speaking of not sounding like a preacher, that¿s one of the things that really impresses me about the way Collins writes. Faith is interwoven throughout the book, subtle and honest, rather than presented in paragraphs of exhortation. Way to go woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Can't Get Any Better

    What a treat! Brandilyn Collins raises the bar with Violet Dawn, first in the Kanner Lake Series. Her characters are warm, quirky and lovable. Very spooky hot tub scene, too! You won't want to miss this book (and probably not the rest of the series, either)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Brandilyn's done it again!

    Brandilyn Collins has done it again! She grabs the reader with a heart-stopping opener and doesn¿t let go until the heartwarming resolution in the final chapter. Paige Williams has run to the small Idaho town of Kanner Lake to escape her past. All she wants is a sister, someone who will be close to her and share her dreams. When a relaxing hot tub turns into horror, her peaceful hiding place is threatened. The choices Paige makes to protect herself cause even more problems. Struggling to guard her fragile new life, and yearning for love and family, Paige¿s courage against impossible odds endears her to the reader. Collins, a prolific novelist, is a master of thriller romances with an inspirational touch. Her characters are fully developed and interesting and her plot twists are always original and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Breathless suspense!

    The characters of Violet Dawn (Book 1 of the Kanner Lake series) drew me into their lives immediately. Written by Brandilyn Collins, Violet Dawn plunks us down in the small town of Kanner Lake as we wonder who put the dead body in Paige's hot tub. The dead woman was a former movie star and no one in town seemed to care that she was missing and presumed dead. But justice must be served. Despite dealing with deep personal problems of his own the Chief of Police doesn't leave any stone unturned as he investigates. Who could be responsible? Was it the least likely suspect? Or was it...? The investigation speeds up and as the story comes to an end the twists and turns in this tightly woven and fast-paced suspense will leave you breathless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Still catching my breath...

    Brandilyn Collins always warns us to remember to breathe, but sometimes it just isn¿t possible¿especially when you¿re right in the middle of her newest thriller, Violet Dawn. From the first scene, when Paige Williams eases into the hot tub on her deck overlooking Kanner Lake in the Idaho woods, only to find that the tub is already occupied by a floating corpse, to her terrifying confrontation with a man who spends his time dreaming up new and more painful ways to commit murder, the suspense is relentless. If you enjoy an edge-of-your-seat page-turner, it doesn¿t get any better than this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Watch OUt For The Hot Tub

    Violet Dawn by Brandilyn Collins takes suspense fiction to a new level. From the opening sentence to the last page this book will keep you wondering . . . and looking behind you! . . . Paige Williams moves to Kanner Lake to start a new life and leave a horrid past. In the dark of a sleepless night she seeks solace in the warmth of her hot tub. Instead, she finds terror, death. And in one moment of stark panic makes a decision that will affect her life and the lives of all the residents of Kanner Lake. The quaint tourist town is turned upside down as police search for the missing celebrity, Edna San. Paige trusts no one, not even her fledgling faith in God. When evidence points to her, must she battle the evil alone as she has all her life? . . . Brandilyn has done it again. When she labels it 'seatbelt suspense' she is not joking. Open this book when you have time to read. You won't put it down. The rich characters, mystery and danger will keep you turning pages. I guarantee you will never look at a hot tub the same way. And, as with each of her books, remember to breathe. Chandra Lynn Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Violet Dawn doesn't disappoint

    As an reader who inhales Brandilyn's suspense, I was excited and a little nervous to pick up a copy of Violet Dawn. It is the first book in the Kanner Lake series, with a different ensemble feel than the Hidden Faces series. Kanner Lake is a idyllic fictional town set in Idaho. A perfect tourist resort, Paige Williams believes it is the place to escape her past. When her past catches her, she throws herself on a crazy ride to try to escape its clutches. Some of her angst is of her own creation, but I found all of her actions believable, even as I wanted to scream at her 'don't do that.' It's a 24 hour roller coaster ride, with flashes to the past with another character Rachel. At first these backward glimpses give you as the reader a chance to catch your breath. But as you near the end, the plots collide increasing the pace of the story. When I read suspense, I race the author to see if I can figure out who's doing it before it's revealed. Violet Dawn was filled with enough twists and turns to keep me guessing even when my gut started leaning in a direction. I highly recommend this book to lovers of tight suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Peaceful lake or hidden dangers?

    Another hit for Brandilyn Collins. I read the book in four and a half hours. The plot takes you on a ride of danger and suspicion. Characters with depth will have you rallying for them or hating them. Writing which turns the pages for you makes this book a great read. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific suspense thriller

    Kanner Lake, Idaho is a picturesque out of the way resort town ninety minutes to Canada where twenty-five years old Paige Williams settles to disappear from her past. Still in spite of this haven, she does not sleep well as the shadows frighten her. Her insomnia sends Paige to her hot tub for a soothing dip. She enters only to be greeted by her hand touching and pulling the hair of a corpse. Paige debates calling the police, but knows that even if local law enforcement proved trustworthy, which she assumes they are not from her experience with cops, the call would bring the media and her past out into the open. Paige¿s past has most likely found her feeling isolated with no one to turn to, Paige knows she must get her act together, do something with the body of ancient movie legend Edna San, and decide on whether to fight against an overwhelming deadly opponent or flee even though she has nowhere to go if they found her here. Praying for a miracle, Paige begins her first baby steps in her latest life and death struggle. --- The above paragraphs describe the opening action that sets the tone of a terrific suspense thriller as the audience feels the trepidation and apprehension that almost paralyzes the beleaguered heroine. The atmosphere is foreboding as the normally serene locales coax the reader into anticipating horrible occurrences. Paige keeps the first Kanner Lake tale in focus though other well designed subplots including a flashback to a child augment the prime theme of a woman in trouble. Fascinatingly, readers are not sure by whom only that her past, which slowly is provided, has returned with deadly intent. This is one author worth reading if VIOLET DAWN is any indication of her novels as newcomers like this reviewer will seek out her Hidden Faces series. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Chicken Little reads suspense

    I am not a reader of suspense. I'm the self-dubbed secretary of The Big Honkin' Chicken Club (Deb Raney and Robin Lee Hatcher are the President and Vice President, although loyal fans of Brandilyn's women's fiction). My mistake came when I auditioned for the Kanner Lake town blog (be watching blogdom for the Scenes and Beans blog). I had to read the book. What a ride! Breathless (yes, I forgot to breathe) as a victim running from her stalker, I sprinted¿literally flying from a scary page to scary page. But Collins is a high-caliber writer. So much so that I couldn't put the book down until I turned the last page. Okay, I'll admit it¿I cheated¿at one point, I had to look ahead to the outcome, before I could go back and read every page. Hey¿I'm in The Big Honkin' Chicken Club¿we're allowed. However scary as it is, Violet Dawn has a great story and colorful characters you can't help but love. Well, all but the killer. Brandilyn Collins spices her seatbelt suspense with a dash of humor and heart-wrenching predicaments. Who knows? When the next book in the Kanner Lake series arrives, I may try again. Oh yeah ¿ don't forget to breathe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2