Customer Reviews for

Violet Eyes (Once upon a Time Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Love Fairy Tales

    The Once Upon A Time series takes traditional fairy tales and retells them. In this case, "The Princess and the Pea" is turned on its head and fleshed out.
    Violet helps the prince recover from a fall on her family's farm, falling in love with him while she does. When he is healed, her parents tell her that she is not really their child - they believe she is the land's lost princess. Violet sets off to the castle to participate in the competition to be awarded the prince's hand (think the balls in Cinderella).
    I loved the novel take on the tale; I didn't figure out it was "The Princess and the Pea" until near the end. The writing was pure fairy tale fare while also being well-developed and having strong characters. The prince is likeable and actually slightly more developed than Prince Charming, while the princesses are strong, independent girls. Recommended!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Love!

    I absolutly loved this book couldnt put it down once i started it didnt stop till i finished!! My favorite so far of the once upon a time series a must read book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    I Have Never Read A Story Like This

    I have never read the story, the Princess and the Pea. I know i have always loved romance stories and I also love the rest of the "Once Upon A Time" Series, and after I read this book it became one of my top five books I love to read. If you love romance, forbiden love and a story about a lost princess, then this is the story for you. Give it a try, you will love it!!!!!!!!!!! ;-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    REALLY GOOD!!!!!

    This book is really good!!!! I love the storyline. I liked how the heroine, Violet, wasn't a helpless princess who had the prince do everything for her. Yes, the prince did help her through the contest but she did most of it herself. I also liked how she took the role of the guy in the story, she was the one trying to prove herself to his parents. And I also liked how it was clear that Richard loved her, it didn't seem like the love was only one-sided. Overall, I liked the book really much, the only thing I have a complaint about is how Richard didn't actually DO anything to prove his love, although you can tell he's in love by what he is thinking. Thats it!!! I loved this book!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Loved

    this book! I loved all the good characters, I love the moments between Violet and Richard. When the "contest" was going on, I could tell there was a hidden test in them, even before the characters pointed them out, it wasn't that hard to see them. I love that Richard feels that, as the man, he should be proving his worthiness for a lady, not the other way around. I loved everyone of the princesses that were Violet's friends, Goldie, Genevieve and Arianna. I liked that Violet didn't need Richard's help fighting King Gustav and Princess Celeste, though I was a little sad that the fighting ended to fast. It was great to read about the fighting, because the authors of the "Once upon a time" series don't inculde that many fights in the books. Even though that's a great part of fairytale stories, a man fighting for his true love. Over all I loved this book and many others in the "Once upon a time" series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    violet eyes

    this book was really will written. i love reading it. when i was reading i felt like i was there the author is very good at making it feel real. some girl can relate to violet by what type of girl she is i know i can. as you read the story you get pulled in to the book to a point of that you cant put the book down. this book would be best for teenage girls. some older lady might like it but it mostly set for the younger group i would say from 10-20 would really enjoy this story but that doesn't mean that some older or younger people would not like it. the book is will for all ages really but girl between 10-18 can really connect to violet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book

    It was a great book. Higly recommend it!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    AWESOME

    This book is one of my faves ( and thats saying a lot since I have probable read all the good fic books in my library) and it is soooo much better than the actual princess+pea.
    READ IT!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Great

    I hav also read midnight perals and it was also very good. I have one request. If you are goin to write a summmary that gives spoilers please write it in the headline, i love reading the summaries after i read it but i dont want the story ruined for other people who are just looking for reviews. THANKS!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Re-Telling of The Princess and the Pea

    I loved this book! It was a great re-telling of "The Princess and the Pea" and I did not want to put it down. It was really interesting and the characters were really fun and entertaining. This is a wonderful story with love, friendship, and a little bit of mystery thrown in to keep you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    great book

    i usually dont like princess books but me and the girls in my class say its the best

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another awesome fairytale!!!!!

    I loved this book!!!! My favorite character was of course Violet. She's a farm girl who falls in love with a prince and he falls in love with her. Then Violet finds out that she is really the lost princess to the land. What I wish the author would have put in the book was what ever happened to the bad princess? But other than that I loved the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    My Favorite of the Series!

    The Princess and the Pea was a childhood favorite of mine. So, when I started reading Violet Eyes, I was nervous it wouldn't live up to my younger self's expectations. Lucky was I to find it only added to the tale I remembered. I fell in love with the heroine and her friends. The prince was awesome as well. This story was wonderful and I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    One word=

    A-W-E-S-O-M-E

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Mazing(:

    Wonderful book, what was with the'?' throughout the book though?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5