Customer Reviews for

Violet Raines Almost Got Struck by Lightning

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club.com

    Violet's hometown of Mitchell Hammock, Florida, is a dangerous place full of alligators, coral snakes and lightening striking all over. But it's also a place of adventure where net bridges swing over creeks, hollowed-out trees turn into secret hiding places, and kids feel safe exploring it all with friends.

    Beneath the adventure lies a predictable routine for Violet. She goes to church on Sundays, helps her best-friend and next-door neighbor Lottie with a weekly fish fry afterwards, and explores the woods around her home with her other friend Eddie. She's an only child who is on her own often while her mama works at the local bakery, but she's never lonely.

    When Melissa moves to town from the Northern city of Detroit, Violet's predictable summer before junior high is suddenly anything but. Melissa likes make up and soap operas, and she writes to movie stars. Lottie takes to her immediately, and Violet fears Melissa is trying to steal her best friend. She's also worried about changes in her body, talk of bras and her own feelings for Eddie.

    While Violet works through her conflicted feelings, she finds a way to open up her world without giving up who she truly is. Mother-daughter book clubs will find Violet's fresh voice a delightful opening to talk about issues of friendship and growing up. I highly recommend Violet Raines Almost Got Struck by Lightning by Danette Haworth for groups with girls aged nine to twelve.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    The Best Book Ever!!!

    This book is fantastic and I recomend it for anyone who loves to read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Violet Raines is My New Literary Best Buddy

    There's no way to avoid falling in love with Violet Raines as she struggles to cross that precarious bridge between childhood and adolescence. Violet's voice is honest and sweet and funny. And she has so much to deal with -- a friend who's growing up too quickly, the fancy new girl in town, a boy who's always been her buddy, but might be more. Did I mention the alligator, terrifying bridge and lightning? Oh, the lightning!<BR/>I thought the author did a fabulous job of creating the setting, too -- woods filled with Cypress trees, swampy areas with coral snakes and the sizzling, scary summer storms all Floridians will recognize.<BR/>Treat yourself to a book that might just become your new favorite -- Violet Raines Almost Got Struck by Lightning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Cool Book

    I've never read it but it sounds good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    LOOK AT MY REPORT NOW

    Book is awesome I just want to use up all the letters (characters) here goes nothing YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYUYUYUYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYUYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY HEHFHFHHWHEBEHDYHYURHHYTFUFEIDBWJFGEIEGEUEVRUBFIRBFKEIFBRIGBFJEIWKWBFYGGEKDUWJDBFOFHEIRVFIDHWOWODJCUFHFLSHFMFUELEIEBEISJEBFYRKFBFIFJDJXODNJFJFBSHDMFHDKDBDKDHDUFJFGFBFKDBWYEIDHXBXHCHDHSIQOQOWQPOQQQQHDHDHFUEJBFJJFIWIDBFUDHYAYJFJJWKDJDJXJXJDJDJSUDSDDDEJDJFYNFYFRJRUIWIBFDBGHEOWHDBFKWBFKEHEIEBDIEVFIEGFIEVFIEVWOSBFOEHFIDVFIRGFIWBDOSJDUDHEJEEUQIEHDOWHDIXIWHEKDUDVDUDHDUEBDIDBDJEBEBDDBDUBDUDBDJDBD my fingers hurt HVHFNDHDHFHDUSJSDHDUDHDIFJFWJWBWBHFINDKBFICJBBCN-"/!- FKFJFJDNDHUEHD FIEHDJDVDIHJDVEIEGWRHRYRHSIVDPSNFNCVDIWJEJFKEBDODHDKDBDKDNODBFOFBCKFKFNFKWODJFNDIWNDIENFIFNDFIJFJFHIDFHRKFKBCBDKWOOEHDUJFJDUIHUFBIJCJFUEHJKIRIEHDBDVCTDYDIDHCHFBDUWILDJDHRHFBHEUWIWKWJEJEJFHRUEIIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHGHHYGYKHDNDDKDKKKEEDDFFNUFNDNCIDNDKDBDKFNFIDBFIDBDIFBDIWHWKSSHDUUBO?QFIJCUBIQIIJFBDBDOUDJSDKGJDIDJDKGKDNGODKGJEOEJDNWODJFJWORKFBWOGJENCOEKGBEYGUXIEHTIWJGNEOTJHOEJGJSOTBSOGBFISOSIGJEIIGHWOVBQIDHGOWIRBJITBVOWJGJGOWJGJWIEHFIETYIBIBXIDHWHEBDJDJEWURYRHCUWBFIDBMBWIWO only 1717 to go aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! YFFHFHDDDFJDUWHDBDUWHDHFBFUFHEHDIEODNFUDYWBWUDJRHUEIEIWHUDBDDDBDJSNSHSJSNSJDHRYGGEUQIFMFJRRDHDBDOWNNFEJSOSBGSHDUDJDJDKDKDJDJEBWFBWICBFJFJWIWODNWBGYRBDIDNSWNZWIBRIENCIDJDKWNDIEBFUENDOWJDOWODNWKDNWKFNWODNJGFBFIEHRRHEJDBJSHDUSHSJDBDUDBDUEBUDBDIBDUENDUDNDHDIWHDIWXDDDDSSXDEUDNDWFWFEIZNDDNDOZKXJDNDKDNDINSUGUDHDBDUEBWOWKDJYJJREJCDJFKDYHRHFHUWKFYWFBXUFHJGRUFWBOFFYIRHEIDDFFUFREBDIENEIEBIDFWKHUHIHEFUBFFFBUFBFFRUFEJRJFJJJJJJJJDKEBEKDBDJDBDIEBEIEBEIDKDBFDFFIFBIFBIBFIFBGIFBFUFBFFFJDBFEJFJFJJFFJFIEIRURURURURUBUfingers so soreEIIDNFOENOEVWLCBDKGHDIEBGIEBDIEBDIEVRURWKDIFHRJRNRUDNEVEHCJDJGNDOWPEJRURUGBFJFBFURHWIEBRUEVFIRHRFBFKRBFIRRJTVRIEWWBCmkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRffffffffffffffffffffffffiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggggggggggggggdeeeeeeeeeeeeeeefrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrsssssdssssssssdddssv ssssssssssssssoooooooooooooooooooo tttttttttttttttttttttiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedddddddddddddddd gggggfhxgrdtrdhhjvjjt tdjshjhjjgujngjgjjjuuzjjffbghjeeergfcddqdosbrjgfivdtedidvurvrkdgdirvrirbekhkgjkjnkjkjkikikjdvdifbrirbfkfbfkbfkffkfbfifvfkfbifbfifbjjhggggggggggggggggggwwwwwwwwewwwwwweeerttyyyuuioolllllkkkkjjjjhhhgggfddsaazzxxcccvvvbbbnnmmjgjfjfjdfstgfhuipkjghvnghdrseqrsdgcyvubibkhdhxgxwjefwdwfhhdjeiehryrurbfhfhfgeidodjrjfbfhfvfudvhfhjudjfhjguejrhrvrhrhrefuhuchfjdfjjjugjhrugjcnfufjcjfrsrfy do not try this ever SPEAK TO ME FINGERS AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    But the real cover is her doing a cartwheel i know because i have it in real life

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    This book is A-MAZING!!!! I totally loved it when I was in fourth grade, I'm now going into eighth and I still read and enjoy it. It's perfect for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    My fav book

    I read thiis in the 3rd grade and could never find it but i did gr8 book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    love it

    i love this book it is my absolute favorite

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    loved it ; must read; etc.

    i loved this book! it was sad, happy, and you tend to choose sides. i recommend this book to everyone. its a quick fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LIGHTNING. GOSSIP. MAKEUP. all the naturals of a girl, except for violet

    This was the best book I had ever read. It was exciting to see the difference between Violet and Melissa, but how they could still be friends because of Lottie. I really did love this book. If you are in middle school, and you are having some friend troubles, really, read this book. It would help you decide what to do, and if there is a fight, it is a better thing to bury the hatchet than to fight fire with fire. Because, of course, you only get a bigger fire. I am in middle school myself and it really helped me when I got jealous just like Violet over my best friend spending all of her time with her neighbor, even though we are all neighbors. This book is really just great, and if you want something exciting and fun please read this book. Thanks!!
    By the way, this book was really really really great. It isn't challenging, as in there aren't a lot of words a ten, elleven, or twelve year old would not know, so it is good for people. It was funny because of all the times they made fun of each other. My favorite part of the book was the part when Lottie (Charlotte) and Violet were talkking to the news reporter and the people were taking pictures. Thank you so much and i just want to use up all of the characters remaining so here goes!
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book

    This book was better than I thought it was going to be. It was a cute story and it had me reading the whole book in 1 day. It's worth buying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Yhe best

    Thebaest going to us e a.ll the letter characters okhrer goes nuttin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!srdytftgfgrgfhskdtdtdpghgfhgjghjdjfuwiqiehhcvccfkjjidklwpwofitryed got bored seya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Hello Girl

    Is anyono there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2