Customer Reviews for

Violet In Private

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wallflower no more

    Violet starts college and must deal with the pressures of two worlds. She has no trouble fitting in with her new suite mates. But she does have trouble saying no to the modeling world. With her current obligations, she can't say no forever. When she does go back, she takes a job as an intern for a fashion magazine and get yet another glimpse into the fashion world. Living her normal life, Violet also starts eating normally again. Soon, she's looking healthier. Now that she's finding herself and her confidence, she's able to put her life in perspective. Violet chats with girls in a school who ask her some tough questions, but she handles them with truth. This just makes her all the more confident. Violet realizes that she's not just a model, but also a role model. And it's time for her to take a stand for what she believes in.

    The Violet series ends here (at least for the moment, I'm hoping that more books will be coming soon). We've seen Violet transform as she hooks both her fans and readers alike. It's a great series that shows girls (especially us wallflower girls) that things do happen and you need to take your life and live it as best as you can.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I liked this last book to her series. I love the new friends she meets in colledge and though i didnt really like her desision in the end i still think its a great read and a great series! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vivacious Violet!!!

    This was such an unexpected good read for me. A friend gave me this book and now I want to get the other books in the series so much!!
    Violet Greenfield is the best role model for a girl. She is a model, but very much unwilling, and pushes against the pressures of the industry to practically starve herself to stay "stick-thin". The rewarding thing is to see her still walk the runway as the closer in a show(even if she gained ten pounds). What I liked about Violet was she was very believable. She made me feel good about who I was, and it made you feel good about standing up for what you believe in.
    I think the romance that she struggles with in Roger is very touching. Especially as she deals with crushes on boys at her college and struggles with how to resolve her feelings with him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Victorious Violet!!!

    Violet is back and she is not modeling full-time this time. Violet has finally decided that maybe modeling isn't what she wants to be doing. She finally starts at Vassar and she actually feels like maybe this is where she belongs but then things get crazy again.

    Once her Mirabella Prince ad campaign comes out Violet is back in the spotlight, even at Vassar. Nobody believes that she can possibly have weight issues because she is so tiny but nobody else knows what it is like in the modeling world. To offset the publicity she is getting from the campaign, Violet decides to do a story for Teen Fashionista about the real Violet Greenfield.

    The only problem is, that means spending more time with Chloe, Roger's girlfriend. Violet still doesn't know what to think about Roger after the kiss they shared in Barcelona and finding out that he was in love with her for basically their whole lives.

    Will Violet be able to find her true self off the runway? Will she finally be able to settle things once and for all with Roger?

    Violet In Private is the followup book to both Violet On The Runway and Violet By Design. I truly loved this book because Melissa Walker did a great job incorporating real feelings of every teenage girl into Violet. This is the last book in the Violet series that is out now but I don't know if Melissa Walker plans to write anymore. I would love to see a fourth Violet book sometime in the future, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Ps

    Dont read the long reveiws. They give the whole book or a good chunck of it away. This is the last book in the seris too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marie Robinson for TeensReadToo.com

    I have been putting off writing this review for several weeks. Not because I didn't enjoy the book. I did. I really enjoyed reading it. I would eagerly start each chapter wondering what was going to happen next. The characters felt real. The situations the title character, Violet, found herself in, the self-doubt she experienced, her relationships with <BR/>friends - it all felt remarkably authentic and, better yet, entertaining. <BR/><BR/>Yet, I hesitated. Violet is a real girl, with real insecurities. She struggles to fit in and to find herself, to find the voice she needs to confidently move through life. In previous volumes, Violet became a model only to find that the glamorous life of a model was not nearly as glamorous as she thought it would be. She left modeling and enrolled in college. That's where this book begins, with Violet's freshman year at Vassar. The insecurity that she felt trying to fit in to the modeling world has been replaced with insecurity trying to fit in at college. <BR/><BR/>All of this insecurity sounds tiring, but in reality, it's very true to what teenage girls face when they transition from girl to young adult. Where I hesitated was with the blas¿ way that alcohol is used by Violet and her friends. All of these college freshmen are underage. Yet at party after party Violet will walk over to the keg to pour herself a beer, or the boy she is dating will have one too many. The use of alcohol as a party-time staple is woven into the plot so well that the book makes it seem as though underage drinking is a natural part of the college experience. <BR/><BR/>When Violet finally bares her soul to a good friend, she finds the courage to do so only when under the influence. She and the friend go out and share memories over a few beers. They are served in a Manhatten bar where the bartender doesn't even blink. <BR/><BR/>It's tough for me to reconcile this while at the same time reading news stories in today's papers about how underage drinking on college campuses has gotten out of hand. Walker wrote a really good story. Even though it's the third book in a series, without having read the first two I could jump in and enjoy this one. There is just enough background on established characters to fill in a new reader without making the first third of the book feel like a recap. There are some great secondary characters. Violet's experiences finding herself, making friends, learning how to stand up for herself - this is all very good stuff. I just hope that the girls who read it and relate to Violet don't also absorb the not-so-subtle message that alcohol is an undeniable part of the college experience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    best book ever

    when i got the first book it couldnt put it down. it was one of the best reads. since i am a teenager nd into fashion i understood every thing so well. the sencond book i just picked up so lets see how it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    AMZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I give props to Melissa Walker.When i started reading violet on the runway i was amazed at first i thought the book would of sucked but i couldnt stop reading it time passed and i read violet by design know im begging my mom to take me to barnes and nobles to get violet in private i cant wait much longer theses books are addivticg violet likes roger roger likes clair but roger used to like violet watz next??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    AH-Mazing

    I loved this book..its the perfect book series.It's well put together and I cant wait for the fourth book to come out-i hope there is one-because Roger n V are ment for eachother and I cant wait to see what else V is gonna get into. =] loving it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Violet - Victorious Again!

    Venerable Violet is back again in another fashionable tale. This time, she¿s off to college after a deferred admission to Vassar. But even though she only wants to have a normal life now as she adjusts to college life and new outrageous but awesome friends, the fashion world is not far behind. Violet is still getting major criticism for gaining a few pounds, and she starts an internship at Teen Fashionista mainly because the magazine editor has always wanted a supermodel intern. In the midst of all this confusion about her self-image, modeling drama, and boy angst, Violet tries to find out who she really is. I am a huge fan of Melissa Walker¿s first two Violet novels, and I was even more impressed with this amazing third. Violet is such a realistic character even though she¿s an international supermodel. She faces insecurities every day about her weight and her image, and even though she tries to overcome her wallflower tendencies, it¿s very difficult for her to break out of her protective shell. Violet grows so much stronger in this novel, because she begins to love herself for who she is (and not in the way Mirabella Prince¿s fake quote said) and stands for something that she truly believes in. Violet¿s story is really inspiring it makes you appreciate all the good things in life and want to tell everyone to love themselves. For me, the best novels are the kind that can inspire emotions through well-developed characters in a story. Violet in Private is a fantastic example of this. Violet is just so real, and I felt myself experiencing all of Violet¿s emotions through her story when she was upset, I was too, and when she was depressed, I cried. Melissa Walker¿s Violet series is a must-read for anyone who has insecurities. There¿s fun, fashion, romance, friendship, and most of all, learning to love yourself. Violet in Private is my favorite of the Violet series, but I also highly recommend the first two, Violet on the Runway and Violet by Design.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Fierce as the Catwalk

    When I first picked up Violet on the Runway, I thought it would be another useless novel in which all the girls say is 'Like, ehmagod!' and act like spoiled brats. However, I was proved wrong. Melissa Walker is an excellent author and her books have so much more meaning to it. Violet is such a sweet, intelligent character you can't help but cheer her on as she steps out of her shell and into the fashion world. Melissa shows us the other side of the runway, the side with catty competitors, scorning designers, and anorexic models. I loved both Violet on the Runway as well as Violet by Design, and I cannot wait for the third novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2