Customer Reviews for

Violets Are Blue (Alex Cross Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book and Best Series ever

For great fast pace reading this is a terrific series.

posted by 3687400 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Usual James Patterson

I was very dissapointed with this book. Tried several times to get into the story but eventually gave up. If you aren't in to VAMPIRES and that entire scene you will NOT LIKE this book.

posted by 8609174 on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Excellent Book and Best Series ever

    For great fast pace reading this is a terrific series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    It was a very fast read.

    I enjoy getting to know Alex Cross's family as I read his books and also the way he mentions other cases that I have read in other books of his.

    Any body that like police mystery books would enjoy reading these books.
    I have read 11 of the Alex Cross/James Patterson Books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Not the Usual James Patterson

    I was very dissapointed with this book. Tried several times to get into the story but eventually gave up. If you aren't in to VAMPIRES and that entire scene you will NOT LIKE this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Highly recommended, but not for the faint of heart

    If you are a person that enjoys an old fashion page turner do not look any farther, you have found your next reading assignment.The Alex Cross series has a proven track record for excitement but the author creates a reading experience of pure pleasure in Violets Are Blue for both the novice as well as the veteran reader of this highly acclaimed series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Not Great

    I recently began reading the Alex Cross series in order and was loving every minute of it. All of the previous books were very good to excellent or outstanding - deep characters, strong plots, truly evil bad guys, tremendous thrills, twists and turns......in fact Roses Are Red was SO good I jumped directly into Violets are Blue.

    This one just did not at all come close to Patterson's prior Cross efforts. The basic plot was far-fetched to say the least. Beyond that, what had originally built relative to the Mastermind became more and more contrived as this book progressed. While still strong compared to many other novels, this was simply not what I had come to expect from Patterson/Cross.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Is this a sequel to Roses Are Red. Is this book a sequel to Roses Are Red?

    I just finished reading Roses are red, and it leaves youTOTALLY HANGINH WITH NO CLOSURE! And this book is about vampires. I want to know what happens to the mastermind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Star

    ANYONE on reply to well star

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Cc to well star

    Hello

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Bo

    Notmuch hbu. I gethard instantly. My d.ick pressing agianst u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Sklp this one

    Waste of money and time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    L.C.

    I am so glad I got into the series late! I can't wait for the next one! I don't care for short books though. I do love the stories! I know at some point it will end. Not looking forward to that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Violet Legacy~ chapter 2

    Now that it came to her mind, she was really starting to consider stabbing herself with Cobras poison barb instead of listening to Starfish teach. "....And this pattern means 'The queen is in danger!'" He lit up a pattern on his glowing spots that curled around his snout. "And this one means,'I will protect'" he pointed to the lights glowing on hus neck and snout. His voice faded as Violet wrote down her 'important' lesson with ink on her talons. Starfish obviousky didnt see the look of annoyance and boredom on violets face. Her scales had shifted grey. "And you are dismissed from this lesson. Come back in, lets say, twenty miniutes." Violet sighed, grabbing the scroll she was writing on. She just wanted to curl up and sleep. Stupid Talons of Peace. Why did they lock her up in this ruthless cave with only the smallest hole showing her sunlight and sky? She sighed, staring at a torch. Amabye she could fit through that hole... no. Cobra had always told her it was too small. But it looked big enought to her. Looking up, she turned this thought over in her head as she thought 'yes! Do it!' And 'No! Its a terrible idea!' If she was able to leave this dongeon cave, and escape Starfish's terrible teachings, she was gonna do it regardless. She looked at the wall, trying to find claw holes to climb up with. Mabye she could fly up to it. Not one useful clawhole on the cave walls. Hmm... she started flapping her wings. Her claws were outstretched, thinking she had victory in her claws. The hole let her head through, and she said aloud, "yes!" And she gave her self another shove into the hole- and she was stuck.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Great Series

    Great book - I have enjoyed all of this series so far - a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Alexx

    Ha broski i know you not

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Hidy

    U ready for agood time;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    I recommend this book.

    As always, I am very pleased with this purchase. I have yet to find a book by James Patterson that I don't like. If you like murder mysteries you will love his books with Alex Cross as the main character. I can't quit reading them. As soon as I finish one I have to purchase the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Violets are Blue

    All patterson books are amazing. Enjoyed reading all the Alex Cross series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Ah so this is where you are you little bitch!!!!!!!!

    Rachel i thought we were having amazing sex at keiths place result one!!!!!!!!!! Fu.ck you you hore

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Eric

    Rachel why did u leave me? Ive been waiting for u at r book forever and i kept postingto u but u never did back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Bunch of Vampire Junk

    I read "Merry Christmas, Alex Cross" over the holidays and decided to read the whole series. I'm almost finished reading this book but It wasn't a rip-roaring page turner like the books prior to this one.

    I enjoy the Alex Cross series of books but I abhore anything to do with vampires. I think ole Patterson was up late watching too much SvenGoolie on late night television. Yuch! And when is Cross going to wake up and smell some of the stuff he be shoveling? Thank god that there isn't any descrioptions of Cross lovemaking in the first three quarters of the book...it makes me gag!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16