Customer Reviews for

Violets Are Blue (Alex Cross Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book and Best Series ever

For great fast pace reading this is a terrific series.

posted by 3687400 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Usual James Patterson

I was very dissapointed with this book. Tried several times to get into the story but eventually gave up. If you aren't in to VAMPIRES and that entire scene you will NOT LIKE this book.

posted by 8609174 on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Not the Usual James Patterson

    I was very dissapointed with this book. Tried several times to get into the story but eventually gave up. If you aren't in to VAMPIRES and that entire scene you will NOT LIKE this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Wait

    Violets are VIOLET. Ur SO stupid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Is this a sequel to Roses Are Red. Is this book a sequel to Roses Are Red?

    I just finished reading Roses are red, and it leaves youTOTALLY HANGINH WITH NO CLOSURE! And this book is about vampires. I want to know what happens to the mastermind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Sklp this one

    Waste of money and time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Crap!

    I tried to read this kept putting it down only got half way through. The whole vampire thing just didnt catch me. Alex Cross deserves better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Highly Recommended

    Another home run for JP.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    This book was horrible....

    I couldn't not believe that JP wrote this. At times it was actually just....stupid. I love his earlier work. Don't waste your time. Like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    He is substituting murder and mayhem for story quality!

    James Patterson is substituting murder and mayhem for a quality story. It was all I could do to get through the gore. The character development was lacking and I really had to force myself to read this book. I will certainly take a hard look at reviews before I buy his next book. Slow down James! We would rather see the quality work you are known for, than have you churning out garbage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Anne Rice or James Patterson???!

    I'm an avid fan and have read everything written by Patterson, but this was awful. The whole ridiculous vampire theme resembled an Anne Rice storyline. I think I'll get the next one from the library and save my money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    I an blue!

    Alex Cross is my hero. So was James Patterson until I wasted my money on this book. I have the feeling he wrote this while in high school and just updated it so that it would sound like a sequel to ' Roses Are Red'. My personal library is filled with books and I have a special section for Mr. Patterson's novels. There will be a blank spot on his shelf. Perhaps the next book will fill that spot. I hope, I hope, I hope!!! This was almost as lame as Cradle and All.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    What a ripoff!

    What a ripoff! How disappointing! This reads like an outline for a screenplay....probably is in fact! I had looked forward to this book and I feel very cheated. Patterson has way too many murders which we get very little details about; the vampirish villians could be interesting if there had been any depth to their character, and on top of all that, a huge bomb is dropped regarding Mastermind...but, like this mess of a book, who cares by the end of it!! I DO NOT look forward to Patterson's next book and will think hard about every buying another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    GRADE SCHOOL DRIBBLE

    I have read all of James Patterson's books and have to admit they just seem to get worse. I used to love the character Alex Cross, now I can barely stomach reading novels about this character. Patterson's writing has become so elementary and simple. It lacks imagination and effort. In his previous stories Alex Cross used to seem educated and articulate. Now he has the same thoughts and dialouge as a high school dropout. Under no circumstance is it still believable that this main character is a scholar with a doctrine in psychology. Overall, this book is a huge disappointment. It must of took Mr. Patterson a whole 3 days to write this load of.... Even worse he dipped into the vampire barrel of blood for a story line. He has now successfully become the 1,987,843rd person to write an unimaginative story that includes vampires. This book just goes to show you that if you have a recognizable name and have sold millions of books that your publisher will let you release anything. As for all of the people that have given this book a 4 or 5 star rating I would just like to say, 'Put down the bottle because you must be drunk'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    Long Awaited, but greatly Disappointed

    Roses are Red was wonderful, and I could not wait for his next sequel...However, it was a great disappointment to me. It was not written well, devoting two pages to having the two men kill another woman..over and over again, the same thing. Never thought I would Not finish a Patterson book, but I sure did on this one. You already know who the Mastermind is, so there is no real suspense. After all, Patterson was writing two books, in two different rooms of his house..so how good could this book plot be?..I think he is going the way of other good authors, like Grisham, who write too often and then just become dull reading. Sidney Sheldon is another example...and now James Patterson...bad news..Dont waste your money on this one unless you want to read about vampires for two pages, then have to worry about the Mastermind for the next..Weak Plot. I feel as if he were trying to say something, but never quite got there...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Another Disappointment? C'mon Patterson

    OK, with the exception of 'Cradle and All' this had to be the worst yet. The whole vampire thing did not work for me at all. The story was vague, boring, and the plot was awful. The book seemed thrown together--this is not the Patterson I had grown to love. Where is the creative genius that you displayed in 'Along came a Spider', 'Jack and Jill', 'Cat and Mouse', 'When the Wind Blows'??? This book was the absolute pits and it seems that this is becoming the norm for Patterson if you have read his last 4 books (The only one worth reading out of the last 4 was 'Roses are Red.' I am through with buying Patterson 'in the blind'. My faith in him has diminished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Disappointing

    I read Roses are Red and loved it. I also just finished, his first love story, Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas, and cried. Write more love stories. I put down Violets are Blue, could not take all that vampire stuff..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Boring

    Can't Patterson come up with something new? Dead, dead, dead people - no story. Boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2