Customer Reviews for

Violets Are Blue (Alex Cross Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book and Best Series ever

For great fast pace reading this is a terrific series.

posted by 3687400 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Usual James Patterson

I was very dissapointed with this book. Tried several times to get into the story but eventually gave up. If you aren't in to VAMPIRES and that entire scene you will NOT LIKE this book.

posted by 8609174 on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Bunch of Vampire Junk

    I read "Merry Christmas, Alex Cross" over the holidays and decided to read the whole series. I'm almost finished reading this book but It wasn't a rip-roaring page turner like the books prior to this one.

    I enjoy the Alex Cross series of books but I abhore anything to do with vampires. I think ole Patterson was up late watching too much SvenGoolie on late night television. Yuch! And when is Cross going to wake up and smell some of the stuff he be shoveling? Thank god that there isn't any descrioptions of Cross lovemaking in the first three quarters of the book...it makes me gag!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Ziggy

    I never asked if you were.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Vampires?

    Vampires? OK? I guess it would have been cool if there had been a good story to go with it. I read Roses are Red and Kiss the Girls, but this one didn't quite do it for me. Too bad...maybe the next one will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    Go to take it out at the Library if you have to, don't buy this book.

    Patterson attempts to continue the Mastermind plot by telling you a story about vampire murders across the country. The Mastermind story is told as an afterthought. If you are an avid reader of Patterson, I am sure he has been able to draw you in with his earlier books. In fact, that is most likely the secret of his success. He has built a readership who waits in anticipation of his next book. Patterson is easy to read, his chapters are short and pretty much to the point. He is able to draw out a story fairly well. But the funny thing is that when you get to the end of the book, something which he has drawn you into, you feel cheated. So, like the title of this review says, go take it (Violets Are Blue) out at the Library if you have to; don't buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Spoiler in Roses Are Red!

    Caution: This book contains much gross violence. If such things upset you, definitely skip this book. The last two pages of Roses Are Red, the prior Alex Cross novel, reveal the identity of one of the major bad guys in Violets Are Blue, the Mastermind. Your enjoyment of Violets Are Blue will be vastly reduced if you know who did it in advance. If you decide to read that book, stop at page 398 and cover page 399 with a sheet of paper so you don't accidentally see any material on it. Then read this book. After that, go back and read pages 399 and 400 of Roses Are Red. Also, be careful which reviews you read of both of these books. Some reviews reveal this information as an ultimate spoiler, harming your enjoyment of two books. 'You're next, Dr. Cross.' The hunter becomes the hunted in this unusual novel about finding mass murderers. How would you feel if your cell phone caller told you that you were the next person to be mutilated and murdered? That's part of the suspense of this book. The main story line in Violets Are Blue is locating and stopping a murder spree. The way they die is not for the squeamish. Variations on this grossness are developed to be sure you get the maximum shock value. I found the story contrived, unrealistic, and unappealing. What Mr. Patterson does best is write plots, so with a weak plot here, there's not much good I can say about the book. It has the usual hard-to-differentiate characters, uninspiring dialogue, lack of any police procedure worth mentioning, and description of crime in mostly amoral terms. Now, if Mr. Patterson were to write locked room mysteries, he would really be something. If you really love Alex Cross books, go ahead and read this one. But remember that I warned you that you probably wouldn't like it! If you have read Roses Are Red, you will probably like this book much less. If you have read the last two pages of Roses Are Red, you may actually find this book annoying. I did. Be forewarned! Where does providing too much, make something less? Certainly, eating more when you are already overstuffed is one example. Having a gruesome murder or crime occur every few pages may be another. Seek the right balance in all that you do, so you can have the clear perspective to see the best opportunities for improvement! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The 2,000 Percent Solution and The Irresistible Growth Enterprise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    Alex Cross retire??

    I read Roses are Red and loved it but this one was a little disappointing. The vampire stuff does not fit Alex Cross at all. And why are you using Sampson as a babysitter. Come on, he is your best friend and works with you and you use him as a babysitter for Alex's family. I know Alex is looking for love but in this one he really should join a monestary. He always seems to find the girl of his dreams and leaves them. Is Alex Cross going to retire? He'll probably become a writer. I hope Mr. Patterson that you give that one a little thought before your next Alex Cross novel. I love the stories but this one I almost put it in the trash. Your turning into another Tom Clancy and the way he puts his books out. Slow down a little and give us what we really want, a true, honest to goodness novel with Alex Cross solving murders in D.C. not the whole world. I got more out of Harry Potter series then I did this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    VIOLETS ARE BLUE AND THIS ONE STINKS

    Normally I can read Patterson's books in a matter of hours. Violets are Blue took me 2 weeks to get through. VAMPIRES come on! What was he thinking LEAVE THE VAMPIRES TO ANN RICE. Very slow read, there was no suspense, we knew who the MASTERMIND was from Roses are Red. Mr. Patterson, please take your time and write a novel that will leave us on the edge of our seats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2002

    Going out 'without' a bang!

    Disappointing is all I can say. I am a avid Patterson reader; in fact I adore his earlier works. But the last two Alex Cross novels went a turn for the worst...and I strongly emphasize the 'worst'. Only those who have read the Alex Cross novels from the very begining(Along came a spider) would understand what it is I mean. The revealing of the Mastermind in Roses are Red; continuing into Violets are Blue was completely of the wall, and displayed horrible story line and poor editing on behalf of Patterson. My next best suggestion is '1st to Die'...Hope fully Patterson can rejuvenate himself in this new series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2