Customer Reviews for

Violets Are Blue (Alex Cross Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book and Best Series ever

For great fast pace reading this is a terrific series.

posted by 3687400 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Usual James Patterson

I was very dissapointed with this book. Tried several times to get into the story but eventually gave up. If you aren't in to VAMPIRES and that entire scene you will NOT LIKE this book.

posted by 8609174 on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good series

    I found that I had to go back to previous books to find some characters & story lines. Had trouble keeping up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    not his best but still good.

    felt it was really drawn out, all the others books were a little more fast paced and kept you wanting more.. this one i just wanted to finish and get to the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Very Good

    This was the 4th James Patterson book I read. It was very good I am now a big fan of james and hope to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Not 1 of the greater ones

    It was a okay book, eventhough, there were parts in the book that were predictable. A couple of times I lost interest, but once I got into 3/4 of the book, I could not put it down just to know the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    Not bad

    I have read a couple of JP's books and have always enjoyed the plot twists and turns. This one was average, but still liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    What is Going On With James Patterson?

    I read all of the Alex Cross' books. His earlier books, I would rate as a 10. However, I was very dissapointed with Violets Are Blue. James Patterson did not take the time to go characters and focus on the main pot of the book or characters. It was very difficult to get into this book becuase the other pot that was going on was stupid. It seemed to me that Patterson was not focused when he wrote this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    Not the best

    I love Alex, NanaMama, and Sampson so much. I was pretty disappointed with this one. I feel like Patterson was trying to hurry to get one out this year. I couldn't put it down, because, afterall, it is Patterson. However, the whole vampire thing just didn't work for me. Perhaps there are groups like that in our world, but I wanted Alex to overcome. I needed more Sampson. If you love Patterson, as I do, you will read this one with relish as I did. But I came away stunned and looking for more. I anticipate 2nd choice as I have all of his others. I hope it's more realistic....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Not Patterson's Best

    Violets are Blue was a great disappointment to me. I have been a James Patterson fan for some time now. I was very disappointed in how the vampire story line is concluded. Also the Mastermind story line (knowing who he is from Roses are Red) was extremely weak. Don't bother buying this book; visit your local library instead if you're still interested in reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    The other half of a good book

    Another good read from Mr. Patterson. Put it together with Roses Are Red and it would make a really good book. Maybe, if the lines were double-spaced, a trilogy even. After buying Cradle and All, only to find it's a remake of an old book I read some years ago, I'm starting to wonder if Mr. Patterson's publishers are controlling his output on a words per dollar basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    Seemed Thrown Together

    I LOVE James Patterson's books and have read almost every one to date (a few earlier ones not yet read).I just could not wait until this came out and literally waited months counting the days until it finally did. I also read the first 12 chapters on the internet the weeks before the release, etc etc. I went out the first day and bought the book, flew to the west coast the next day and finsihed the book on the flight out. It's hard to explain, but this book just seemed not as deep, and more rushed than the prior. I liked it, but, I did not LOVE it, as in when I read 'Roses are Red'. When I put that book down, I was just stunned and amazed(the proverbial WOW!) I ams till going to await the next book and count the days, and I will go out the first day and buy it when it is released. maybe this is just a fallout of putting together three books in a year. I want to get back to that feelign when I first read 'Along Came a Spider' . Now that was gripping and was definitely not condusive to getting 8 hours of sleep( I read it in one night!) Anyways, other may feel differently, with this being my take on my feelings this go round.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3