Customer Reviews for

Violin

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A beautiful story of a woman's life that can only be described through music.

Anne Rice's novel, Violin, tells the story of a woman in New Orleans who is trying to deal with her past and present visions of death. Triana Becker is constantly thinking of the deaths of family and friends that she has endured throughout her life, when she is visited...
Anne Rice's novel, Violin, tells the story of a woman in New Orleans who is trying to deal with her past and present visions of death. Triana Becker is constantly thinking of the deaths of family and friends that she has endured throughout her life, when she is visited by a mysterious violinist. The dark mood and emotional imagery of life and memories of death mesmerizes the reader. The life of a woman dealing with death and also a new-found happiness is affected by music.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

I am a huge Anne Rice fan, I think I have read just about everything she has published and I typically love them. This book....was painful to get through, I was very disappointed and depressed when I finished this. Anne drones on and on about death and the clutches of...
I am a huge Anne Rice fan, I think I have read just about everything she has published and I typically love them. This book....was painful to get through, I was very disappointed and depressed when I finished this. Anne drones on and on about death and the clutches of despair, perhaps this book was written around the time her husband passed and it was a very bleak time in her life. Not very memorable except that it was monotonous and repetitive.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    A beautiful story of a woman's life that can only be described through music.

    Anne Rice's novel, Violin, tells the story of a woman in New Orleans who is trying to deal with her past and present visions of death. Triana Becker is constantly thinking of the deaths of family and friends that she has endured throughout her life, when she is visited by a mysterious violinist. The dark mood and emotional imagery of life and memories of death mesmerizes the reader. The life of a woman dealing with death and also a new-found happiness is affected by music.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    All the reviews missed the boat here

    Just finished this book, and maybe I'm all wet, but I don't think so. This is not about a ghost or a violin or other such silly trivia, nor is is about death. This is a book about a female artist who longs to pursue her art, but because of responsibilities, an alcoholic mother, younger sisters who depend on her, a sick father, an ill child and finally a husband who dies of AIDS, she spends her whole life putting aside her yearning to be a musician, always longing, always feeling guilty that she should have done more for the people who depended on her. When her husband dies of AIDS, a violinist out of the past comes to her and tries to give her a final chance. He gave his life for his art, and he is there to teach her the sacrifices she must make to become a great artist. Because she is no longer young and cannot go through the years of rigorous training that she needs, she steals his violin and takes on the ghost's power and talent and becomes famous. He, of course, having made the ultimate sacrifice for his own talent eventually wants his violin back, and when she feels strong enough she returns it to him, and then wonders if she still has the power and the talent to enthrall with her art. This is about female guilt when women are torn between their duties and their pursuit of art, each demand being as strong as the other. It's a wonderful book. And Triana finally wins the struggle in her 50s, even when the ghosts from her past come to to beg and plead and accuse her of being selfish. I can't quite believe that not one of the reviewers here 'got it'. It was a FABULOUS read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil to Adara                                                    

    Lil to Adara                                                    you don't have to sit in the corner... 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                                            

    Lil                                                                                            * shakes her head* i ish it was that easy... Avery this is from Ariel's dad. i'm married to Ariel's dad... not this one's*points at her stomach*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                                            

    Lil                                                                                      Looks at the flooor * yeah... I did...and what makes me even more like a dumba.ss* holds out her left hand with a diamond ring on it*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Avery

    *walks away sadly*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                                   yeah... St

    Lil                                                   yeah... Still.. I'm sorry. I'm sorry to everyone... If Dylan or Kyle come one while I'm gone. DONT LET ANYONE TELL THEM! or come here please... please im begging you i will be back soon. like 45 ish minutes* sighs* thanks Adara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Adara

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                                            

    Lil                                                                       I don't know.... Kyle and Dylan are like good friends...and... I'm just a jerk... 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil here... 

    Lil here... 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                                            

    Lil                                                                                         8 looks at you and stares at you* Don't tell m to calm down Adara.... please.* she cries*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                              you think I don

    Lil                                              you think I don't know hat Avery? ugh... talking to her yesterday was pure torture while she was crying over loosing him and 'ripping his heart out' as she put t.  how do you comfort that? LIKE OH YEAH YOU SURE AS HELL DIDN'T RIP HIS HEART OUT AND I WOULD KNOW BCAUSE WE ARE IN ANOTHER BOOK FUC.KIN'!** hits her head on the wall still*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil to adara                                                    

    Lil to adara                                                                               Now do you get it? you were trying to hook me and Kyle up... but we already were...despite the fact that I am married to dylan.....and not Kyle.....and I have a kid with both now! * hits her head on the wall*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Lil                                                            

    Lil                                                                              anyways....* I know you say its a blessing and I agree that this is... but theres a problem... he's not Ariel's father... * looks down 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amazing!!

    I was given this book as a gift for christmas. Anne Rice weaved a story so intertwined with it's charcters that i could not put it down. Anne has a way with her stories and this book is one of the best i have read from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Fiction at it's finest!

    The first book that I read by Anne Rice. The tempo of the story kept kept me intrigued. Just like a fine sonata, I could feel my heart beat change with the story. Now I am a fan of this author. It's a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    It's a great & interesting read.

    The story was pretty great and unique. It is not one of Anne Rice's excellents, but still wonderful. There was some slow parts to it. I'd still recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Ms Rice's Best Work Yet

    I have been a true fan of Anne Rice's work since first picking up Interview with the Vampire seven years ago. Since then I have pored over every last bit of non-erotica work she has published, and with satisfying results. The Violin is, by far, the best novel the author has ever produced. No book has ever captured my imagination so vividly, leaving me dreaming of her lavish marble temples and stately antebellum homes for weeks after the last page. Read Violin! A welcome and thoroughly-enjoyable departure from Ms Rice's vampires and witches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Magnificent

    This is one of those books that I will never get tired of! Beautiful language and story about the sacrifices one makes for the things you love and the way the you become completely enraptured of certain people and places. It is one woman's jourmey to truly finding herself, and oddly enough the readers comes to love the character of Stephan and feel his pain when he loses his treasured violin. wonderful, magnificent. Anne Rice is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    the best in a long time

    I could not be more impressed by a book. It was a book that delt with all of my emotions. I was very moved by the powerful words she used. The also great thing about the book is it offers something for teenagers and up. I myself am only thirteen and I couldn't enjoy a book more then I did violin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2