Customer Reviews for

The Viper's Nest (The 39 Clues Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful continuation to the race

Out of all the seven books I've read so far in the series, this one is the most suspenseful. The latest lead takes 14 year-old Amy Cahill and her 11 year-old brother Dan Cahill to South Africa in search of the next clue in the hunt for the 39 clues that unlock the secre...
Out of all the seven books I've read so far in the series, this one is the most suspenseful. The latest lead takes 14 year-old Amy Cahill and her 11 year-old brother Dan Cahill to South Africa in search of the next clue in the hunt for the 39 clues that unlock the secret to a great power.

Although South Africa does not come alive to me as some of the other destinations did, the author focuses on its history of fighting apartheid and gaining civil rights. We meet some of the late Grace's good friends and learn more about her through them. Shaka Zulu and Sir Winston Churchill are the historical figures that play a role in the discovery of the latest clue.

Some of the characters that appear in this book are Isabel Kabra and her kids, still vicious enemies who pursue Amy and Dan. The Holts make a brief appearance and Hamilton helps them out again in secret. Makes me wonder what will become of this relationship between Hamilton and the Cahill kids. Alistair Oh makes his usual "help the kids, then disappear" act. And Nellie Gomez, their au pair is with them throughout their mission to find the next clue. Amy and Dan finally confront Nellie about their suspicions of her and she reassures them with explanations that re-establish the trust they had from the beginning of their journey. It seems clear to me that she cares about them, but I am still trying to figure out who she really is!

Toward the end of the book, an incident occurs and Dan is fighting for his life. And. Amy and Dan finally learn the truth about their family branch. In retrospect, I should have known all along. This book makes me very eager to begin Book 8. We are getting closer to the end and we feel it.

posted by Laura-Fabiani on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lucian-Madrigal

If any one wants to know more for the LUCIANS go to into the guantlet

posted by 10436277 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Fun

    Fun

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Awsome

    Great forkids

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Grandson loved this book and the series

    Purchased for my grandson who loves to read and loves to collect the clue cards. He's working on getting and reading the whole collection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great like all of the series

    Love the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great read!!

    Great company

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great series for kids!

    Great series for kids!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The Viper's Nest by Scholastic

    My kid loves the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    It's okay.

    Liked the book. Like the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Genre

    What is the genre?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Great ending

    Loved the ending. All these books in this series r a 6 star. Fanstastic book overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Epic

    This series is amazing and suspensful give this kid #8

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Book

    If you read this book, you might be amazed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    horrible

    this was another terrible cliche of child mysteries and what horrible plotting. This makes me puke. All of it is stupid. I hate it. its horrible. I shouldn't even give it a star.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Viper's nest by Ghost writer's daughter

    I am only 9 years old. I found the story interesting with a lot of action and danger for Amy and Dan. It brings them to new places with more discoveries. I am now on the next book (7).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    love it

    great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the best series that I have ever read!!!!

    In this series, Amy and Dan Cahill go all over the world to find all of the 39 Clues. They may not have many of them, but they might be able to get more. In this book, Dan and Amy go to South Africa to find the next clue, but in the mean time, they finnally find out what part of the Cahill branch they are from. The branch that is feared the most......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    An action-packed book--highly recommended.

    It reveals a lot about Amy and Dan and it was well-written. I can't wait for the next book! Only read this book if you have read the first six books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ASU's Final Trilogy

    March 13, 2010: If this was so great, I would have gotten all of the set!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the great snake

    This is what mysteries are all about. In my opinion, it is one of the best mytsery book series, and is one of the best books in the series. I read this and shared it with my friends. Here is the summary: "It's no longer a game. The body count is rising. Shaken by recent events, Amy and Dan flee to a distant land and trace the footsteps of their most formidable ancestor yet: a military leader of mythic proportions. Yet just as the siblings begin to master the art of ancient warfare, they confront a dangerous enemy that can't be felled with a sword: the truth. With the stakes higher than ever, Amy and Dan uncover something so devastating it changes everything - the secret of their family branch."


    Biography

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Startling Discovery!

    Peter Lerangis wrote "The Sword Thief" which is book three in The 39 Clues. Now he is back to write book seven "The Viper's Nest." Packed with riddles, mysteries, discoveries, and more, this book was a fun read that will leave you with a puzzling and startling realization!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9