Customer Reviews for

Virals (Virals Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Reichs goes YA and Sci-fi

I know some eyebrows went up among my reading friends when it was announced that Kathy Reichs was writing a YA novel -especially those who didn't make it through the dense writing of Déja Dead. But Reich's writing style has evolved over the past ten years into some...
I know some eyebrows went up among my reading friends when it was announced that Kathy Reichs was writing a YA novel -especially those who didn't make it through the dense writing of Déja Dead. But Reich's writing style has evolved over the past ten years into something that is highly accessible. I had no doubt this would be the start of a fantastic YA series - and it is.

Tory Brennan is actually Tempe's great-niece. Remember Kit her screwball nephew from Deadly Decisions? Well, he's all grown up, a marine biologist who works for the University of Charleston, and he's just discovered he has a daughter. Tory is smart but naive and not only does she takes after Tempe, she idolizes her - which is how the trouble starts.

Hanging around on the monkey habitat/research island where their parents work (similar to the one mentioned in Death Du Jours, but this island carries a different name), the teens get bombarded by an angry monkey. Tory realizes that the object the monkey has hurled at her are heavily crusted dog tags and she starts wondering who they belong to and how the tags ended up there. She convinces the gang to break into one of the research labs so that she can clean the tags with a sonicator so they are legible... perhaps they can return them to their owner. This one decision starts a cataclysm of events.

Though it took some time for Reichs to set the exposition, it was worth it - and she gives young readers a prologue straight from one of the action sequences to hook them. While the reader is aware that the teens have become infected, Tory and her friends have to discover it on their own. This revelation culminates with some extraordinary sensory perception and physical capabilities, if only the Virals could control when and where it happens - as it is they're already outsiders at the prep school they attend due to their academic prowess and more modest means.

Once the action starts, Reichs doesn't let up. The teens try to go to the authorities but the local cops opinion is that "academics and their kids are prone to exaggeration". With the adults being uncooperative, the Virals decide to investigate for themselves, both the dog tags, and their mysterious illness with the crazy symptoms.

I think any analogy of Virals as a modern day Nancy Drew story is a bit of an oversimplification. I grew up on Nancy Drew; this is so much better. The characters are more balanced, and far better developed. The plot is tight and the action intense and realistic. Though the story centers on Tory, she couldn't manage with out her friends, each of whom has expertise in different scientific areas. There's lots of action an plenty of mystery. As her friends are all guys, I think the story lends itself equally to teenagers of either sex.

This is classic spell-binding Reichs writing with a new sci-fi twist thrown in...

READ MORE: http://girlsjustreading.blogspot.com/2010/07/jenns-review-virals.html

posted by Jenn-at-GirlsJustReading on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

It's alright, I guess.

OMG THIS BOOK IS SO AWESOME AND I LEARNED A LOT FROM IT THAT A THIRTEEN-YEAR-OLD PROBABLY SHOULDN'T KNOW BUT I GOT AT A DISCOUNT STORE FOR ONLY THREE DOLLARS IT WAS STILL WORTH THE MONEY AND THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN CONDENSED INTO ONE SENTENCE BUT IT IS BECAUSE THIS BO...
OMG THIS BOOK IS SO AWESOME AND I LEARNED A LOT FROM IT THAT A THIRTEEN-YEAR-OLD PROBABLY SHOULDN'T KNOW BUT I GOT AT A DISCOUNT STORE FOR ONLY THREE DOLLARS IT WAS STILL WORTH THE MONEY AND THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN CONDENSED INTO ONE SENTENCE BUT IT IS BECAUSE THIS BOOK IS SO AWESOME!!!

posted by 11320693 on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    Incredibly Addicting!!

    I started reading the prologue, and I was immediately hooked. The book leads through twists and turns, and it's SO GOOD!!I recommend this to anybody who likes animals, Bones, or just adventure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    DITTO!

    This is a awsome book action packed and full of suspense! The only complaint i have is it takes almost 1/4 of the book to get "going" in the book or pick up speed othewise this is an awsome book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book!

    I totally enjoyed this book. Kids would enjoy this probably starting at the 5th grade level.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Awesome

    IN LOVE WITH THE BOOK! YOU HAVE TO GET IT BUT IF YOU DONT THEN ITS YOUR LOSS AND IT MUST MEAN YOURE EITHER STUPID OR DONT KNOW HOW TO PICK A GREAT BOOK. SO EITHER GET THIS BOOK OR BE STUPID FOR THEREST OF YOUR LIFE. SORRY I ONLY TELL THE TRUTH.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Awesome book, Must Read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is for your average nerds to adventure seekers and other people in between. It has adventure and science. Four kids get a different type of parvovirus and get canine reflexes, and etc. They also solve a murder case.
    I think this book is good for age 11 and up, because it has lots of 'language' and very scintific stuff.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book soooooooo much, I read it in three days!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You must read this bookj!!!!!!!!!:) :) :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Lovin this

    All i can say is, i was astounded. Completely blown away. Im hooked. This fantastic peice of art kept me guessing the whole time. Worth reading. BUY IT NOW

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    This book is awsome

    I really think people should make more of this series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was def one of my favorites! Great for anyone who likes mystery, probably for ages 11+ due to language... LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Hi

    Hi

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!

    If you really oike kathy reichs but can't handle the intensity of tempe brennan books virals is for you. Action packed with witty comments here and there it resembles the hugner games writing. Easy to understand and a quick read you will not be able to put this down. Definately buy this book. It has a suprise ending that will suprise you. Buy it now!!!!! I love kathy and i have only read the first but am already counting down the days until the third book comes out. Great series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Great read, hard to put down. can't wait to read the next

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Young or Older, you must check this out!

    Ms. Reichs holds true to the mystery of her writing, it was a quick read but she kept me coming back for more. Loved the ending and I see there is now a part two. I've got all of her books and will continue to add this one to my small library. Thank You,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Five stars is wat this book desereves nothing less

    UNDERSTAND!!!!!!!!I THINK ITS BETTER THAN MAXIMUM RIDE, THATS RIGHT BETTER- GO ON AHEAD SUE ME

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Oh my gosh

    My friend read this and he said it was mind blowing cant wait to read it:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    People who say this book is sub-par have absolutely NO idea what

    People who say this book is sub-par have absolutely NO idea what their talking about!!! This book deserves 5 stars and nothing less!! 
    The Virals series is NOT, most definitely NOT, a stopgap series, rest assured. I would recommend this book to anyone and have read it and the other two book in the series about 60 times each!!!! I simply CANNOT GET ENOUGH of the Virals. I am dying for the next book after Code to come out!!!!
    I tip my hat to Reichs for these books, they have spectacular writing, a twisting plot and honestly, its just nice to find a teen series that doesn't have to do with future realities, vampires, or very depressing plots. Come on, i know you guys are sick of it too!!!!! Anyways, please read this series, it is most definitely worth your time, and trust me, even when you think you got it all figured out, hehe, PLOT TWIST!!!!! :)
    THANK YOU DR. REICHS!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    I loved Virals! I like TV shows like CSI, Criminal Minds, and Gr

    I loved Virals! I like TV shows like CSI, Criminal Minds, and Grey's Anatomy. This book is like all of those rolled in to one - and made for teens! Reichs has created a strong female lead who is also devoted to her family, friends, and love for nature. She is real in the sense that she still has crushes like an average teenaged girl, but isn't dependent on the boys to rule her life and make all the decisions. She rather reminds me of my best friend who's always up for an adventure and finds herself in some awkward situations. She is resourceful and intelligent, the type of female lead girls need to see. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I have read this book

    I thought the book was amazing really good 3-some (trilogy). I thought the violence was over the top but i thought it was good, suspenceful, and realistic. This is for all the fans of the author and for the author: kathy and fans of kathy i idiolize u really i do so for the fans of kathy keep reading the books and solving the mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent trilogy

    This is a quick read for adults, but is an excellent trilogy for young adults. Nothing offensive, good solid relationships and character profiles. Understandable family dynamics and school situations. Lots of story and a good solid adventurous romp through a mystery sequence. Can't give a spoiler line but the risks the kids take are hair raising and believable. Kathy Reichs has done it again!!! I look forward to more of her and her son Brendan with more stories about these characters. Seizure is number 2 and Code is number 3 (so far, I hope)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13