Customer Reviews for

The Virgin Blue: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AN ENGROSSING STORY THAT CAPTIVATES

    The first book of Chevalier`s that I read was Girl With A Pearl Earring, which was a fascinating lyrical story perfectly woven. And I was not disappointed in The Virgin Blue. It is just as interesting, and has the same lyrical writing style that is Tracy Chevalier. I loved how she wove two women from different centuries, yet from the same family, together. I also love how Chevalier uses color in her book, how detailed she is, but detailed in a way that makes you think of the vastness of life, of all the underlying decisions. Her way of using the color blue to blend together the fates between the two women is mesmerizing. This is a book you can not put down, a book that is both touching, shocking, and in a way heart-wrenching, and yet written in Chevalier`s way that at the end makes you want to sigh. Beautiful, interesting, and bold. A must read if you liked Girl WIth A Pearl Earring (which is personally my favorite.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Really Good Read!

    I usually do not judge a writer as being great because they have written one good title. I read Tracy Chevalier's Girl with a Pearl Earring and really enjoyed it. I knew when I picked up Virgin Blue it would be a test to see if I really appreciated this writer and I have to say Ms.Chevalier has passed with flying colours. I really enjoyed this book! The characters were vivid,the story compelling,and the writing was wonderful. I love how the author makes you feel like you are back in time one minute and whips you into reality the next. Great read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Book Review Columnist

    One of the wonderful things about novels is that they can evoke extremely different reactions from different readers. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although 'The Girl With the Pearl Earring' was an entertaining story, 'Virgin Blue' was a far superior read. Chevalier does a brilliant job of transitioning between the two stories, and keeps the reader interested in both. Through each story, we are forced to realize that while roles and traditions may change, human nature and 'pack mentality' does not. It¿s a quick, entertaining read that introduces religious history and sprinkles in the French language with ease.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    I Am Hooked

    This was the first book I read of Chevalier's. It is haunting me still, I cannot forget it. She has succeeded at what so many fail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Fantastic!

    I loved this book. Couldn't put it down...didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Couldn't put it down!

    This is the first book I have read by Chevalier, and I am completely hooked. She drew two worlds together in a way that made the connection seem natural and effortless. Her characters are mesmerizing. Looking forward to reading many more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Listened to this on tape. Loved It!

    Listened to this on tape. Loved It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Virgin Blue

    I enjoyed the book, but found it rather predictable. It was a good vacation distraction, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Slow Beginning

    At first this book was kind of confusing for me and it was hard to read with the french words mixing in, but it got better once I knew what the word meant and what was going on. I don't normally like mysteries, but this wasn't just a plain jane mystery. This book had historic events in it and the fact the Ella was kind of like a reincarnation of Isabelle made it a unique book. Some of the things that both girls experienced, brought the two girls and the story together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Book Club Pick!

    Tracy Chevalier is my new favorite author, but not because of this novel, which is the one of hers that I least like. I was the one in my book club who recommended it, but it received mixed reviews from our members. Most of us enjoyed the historical point of view, but the modern story told through Ella could have been improved. I especially found the section where Ella visits her uncle Jacob lacking. But there were many things about this book I loved, including the character of the librarian, Jean-Paul, and the historical details surrounding the Protestant Reformation and its impact on the lives of everyday families. To read more of my book reviews, please visit my blog at bookclubpicks dot blogspot dot com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Great read

    Beautifully written. The story intertwines with the present and the past in a curious way. I recommend this book if you like historical romance novel with art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    History and Mystery in one tale

    This book flashes from the 1500s to modern day with an ease not usually encountered. I became endeared to the characters and engrossed in the mystery. THe only let down is the mystery of Nicolas is never revealed. It is left to the readers imagination. Not always a bad thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Excellent night light read

    This novel was excellent. The author pulls you in and you begin to forget whether the character is real or whether she is you reborn. lovely novel regarding the spirt of women and sadness of regret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Not Too Shabby

    I found this book a little hard to get into, but was hooked once the story picked up. I loved hunting for all the connections between Isabelle and Ella, it almost felt like a scavenger hunt. I can't wait to read more of Chevalier's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    A first novel gets a second chance at life

    I found this in Dublin and snatched it, having enjoyed Girl with a Pearl Earring and Falling Angels and was not disappointed--just plowed right through it. The ties between Ella and Isabelle are range from pretty overt to pretty subtle--I missed one entirely until a friend brought it up. it's a solid first novel I'm glad is being brought back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2