Customer Reviews for

Virgin River (Virgin River Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

delightfully amusing small town character study

Nine months ago her beloved husband Mark Monroe was murdered during a convenience store robbery. The physician¿s widow Melinda, a nurse and midwife needs to escape Los Angeles which over night went from her home to a place of trauma for her. She accepts a job as a doc...
Nine months ago her beloved husband Mark Monroe was murdered during a convenience store robbery. The physician¿s widow Melinda, a nurse and midwife needs to escape Los Angeles which over night went from her home to a place of trauma for her. She accepts a job as a doctor¿s assistant in the small isolated Redwoods town of Virgin River. --- However, nothing is quite what was advertised as her cottage is a filthy dilapidated cabin and the crusty elderly Doc Mullins does not want her. Though restaurant owner Jack Sheridan is welcoming, she plans to leave and to stay with her sister in Colorado. Her plans change when she finds the newborn left on Doc¿s doorsteps. As one day leads to another and new patients arrive, Melinda has found a new home though she is unaware that Jack loves her but is patient as he knows her heart belongs to someone else. --- VIRGIN RIVER is a delightfully amusing small town character study that enables the audience to see deep into the souls of several key players but especially Melinda, Doc, and Jack. The support cast augments the solid story line whether they are the baby, the ¿realtor¿, the cook or patients. Fans of character driven poignant contemporary tales will want to drive the winding mountain road to VIRGIN RIVER. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Oh My

This was my first experience with this author. I was hoping for romance like Nicholas Sparks, not sex bordering on porn! I read about halfway through the book and then got rid of it. I really enjoyed the characters and storyline but I just felt so uncomfortable reading ...
This was my first experience with this author. I was hoping for romance like Nicholas Sparks, not sex bordering on porn! I read about halfway through the book and then got rid of it. I really enjoyed the characters and storyline but I just felt so uncomfortable reading this type of skanky material. What bothered me the most was the graphic description of the teenage sex between a 14 year old girl and a 16 year old boy. WRONG!!!

posted by 7224307 on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightfully amusing small town character study

    Nine months ago her beloved husband Mark Monroe was murdered during a convenience store robbery. The physician¿s widow Melinda, a nurse and midwife needs to escape Los Angeles which over night went from her home to a place of trauma for her. She accepts a job as a doctor¿s assistant in the small isolated Redwoods town of Virgin River. --- However, nothing is quite what was advertised as her cottage is a filthy dilapidated cabin and the crusty elderly Doc Mullins does not want her. Though restaurant owner Jack Sheridan is welcoming, she plans to leave and to stay with her sister in Colorado. Her plans change when she finds the newborn left on Doc¿s doorsteps. As one day leads to another and new patients arrive, Melinda has found a new home though she is unaware that Jack loves her but is patient as he knows her heart belongs to someone else. --- VIRGIN RIVER is a delightfully amusing small town character study that enables the audience to see deep into the souls of several key players but especially Melinda, Doc, and Jack. The support cast augments the solid story line whether they are the baby, the ¿realtor¿, the cook or patients. Fans of character driven poignant contemporary tales will want to drive the winding mountain road to VIRGIN RIVER. --- Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I loved this book. I thought the characters were very well developed and seemed very real to me. I found myself connected to them. I absolutely adore how the landscaping is described, it definitely gave a clear, beautiful picture! As for the comments about "graphic sex" or this being "smut" or any of the comments on the sex in this book, you all are really being childish. Sex is a very natural, very beautiful part of life. I thought it was well written into the story. Teenage sex is real wether or not you like it. In my opinion it was tastefully written. If you are that offended by sex between consenting adult lovers than you have to get out more, it wasnt that graphic. In all honesty I have enjoyed every word written and I cannot wait to read more of this series!! (GRAPHIC SEX AND ALL) ;)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    I just love this book

    The whole Virgin River Series was great. The characters came to life,as if I knew each one personally.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    Great book!

    I wasn't sure if I was going to even like this book. The only author I have really read is Nicholas Sparks. I figured since I was done reading most of his, I should probably find another author to get into. I picked the right one! This book was way better than I thought it would be. I couldn't put it down and when it was over, I found myself wanting more! I am excited to start the second book now.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Super intro to the town and characters-Beautiful!

    This book was so great. The descriptions of the town, the characters, how they are related, how they meet and the real life situations that bring them together are so touching. It makes you want to pack up and move there to such a beautiful place and meet those people who are so community and family oriented with good morals. This was just such a great book. I just finished Forbidden Falls and started Angel's peak. The entire series is so good so far and what I like the most as the characters go through real life challenges and situations that everyone does and just the loyalty of the townspeople etc. The author writes so beautifully, the new characters dont just come out of nowhere it is all a smooth transition related to characters and situations in the book. I highly recommend this series. These are not your typical romance books where there are a few characters and you know in the end the couple will hook up, this is about the growth of a new town, the lives of the people who there or come there in family or as needed in the town, romances that happen in the process of all of this and its very exciting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    First book of the series - made you want to read all the books.

    Unfortunately, I didn't start with the first book, but after reading this one, I was able to fit all the pieces together. Very good introduction to the upcoming series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    A Relaxing Read with Engaging Characters

    This is the first book I've read by this author, and have just read the second in this series and started the third - back-to-back. The characters are very good and they are an easy read - but enough plot to hold your interest. Definitely read these in sequence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    More territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Warriors den

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    I love this and all of The Virgin River Series book. The charact

    I love this and all of The Virgin River Series book. The characters were so real that I felt like they could be my neighbors. I would highly recommend this whole series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    TRAING HOLLOW

    Lepardfur

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Well written

    The book that started it all! Now I'm hooked on her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Wren

    Pads in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Collin

    Here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    To collin

    Im here to

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Blazeclaw

    Gtgtb bbt

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Part 3 of isabels story

    Coming soon

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    GREAT SERIES!

    Love this series. Makes you want to move there. There's humor and romance in all of the books. Happy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Would Love to Live in Virgin River

    The Characters draw you in, the lifestyle makes you wish you were there, the area sounds seems like a dream come true. This small town is filled with love and tragedy and a small town of people that are the glue that holds it all together. I tried this first book, met Jack and Mel, and am now on #11 in the series and loving it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    A must read, best series

    Love the books. this is a great series of books, wish there were more of them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8