Customer Reviews for

Virgin Suicides

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Teenage Girl Trough a Remarkably Perceptive Eye.

This novel's strength comes from an unsuspected place; the beautiful, and insightful prose of its narrators. From the eyes of teenage boys, unnoticed, but faithful to the girls we learn more about the psyche of teenage girls than almost any other novel I have read. Capt...
This novel's strength comes from an unsuspected place; the beautiful, and insightful prose of its narrators. From the eyes of teenage boys, unnoticed, but faithful to the girls we learn more about the psyche of teenage girls than almost any other novel I have read. Capturing the essence of suburban life in 70's America Eugenides's voice draws you into the haunting world of the Lisbon girls as they spiral down in depression, eventually ending in their mass suicide. Rather than depressing, this novel reads like a hazy dream, with moments of perceived clarity. Like the narrator we never quite understand the motivation intellectually, though you are left with the feeling that you understand why they did. That the world was too bothersome, their life too oppressing. It deals with the themes of sexuality, and freedom and confident applied to these girls. You are left astonished by this novel, wanting to close your own curtains to it as if you are the neighbor across the street who wants nothing more to do with the tragedy.
- Cara Schumann

posted by CaraAnn on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Depressing...

I say first, Eugenides is a great storyteller. Well written, draws you in, descriptive. But this is not a great story. These boys aren't realistic, holding hands, fretting about the neighbor girls, stealing their stuff (makeup? Shoes?) to idolize it. Weird boys worship...
I say first, Eugenides is a great storyteller. Well written, draws you in, descriptive. But this is not a great story. These boys aren't realistic, holding hands, fretting about the neighbor girls, stealing their stuff (makeup? Shoes?) to idolize it. Weird boys worshipping weirder girls for no apparent reason other than they have to to make the book go. Nothing gets resolved but luckily there wasnt a big mystery to begin with so i didnt care. I felt depressed by the end--i'm not looking for happy endings when i read, but also not looking for anticlimactic absence of caring. I'd read another book from him, but their stoylines seem like real downers too, so no thanks.

posted by 2117601 on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    The Teenage Girl Trough a Remarkably Perceptive Eye.

    This novel's strength comes from an unsuspected place; the beautiful, and insightful prose of its narrators. From the eyes of teenage boys, unnoticed, but faithful to the girls we learn more about the psyche of teenage girls than almost any other novel I have read. Capturing the essence of suburban life in 70's America Eugenides's voice draws you into the haunting world of the Lisbon girls as they spiral down in depression, eventually ending in their mass suicide. Rather than depressing, this novel reads like a hazy dream, with moments of perceived clarity. Like the narrator we never quite understand the motivation intellectually, though you are left with the feeling that you understand why they did. That the world was too bothersome, their life too oppressing. It deals with the themes of sexuality, and freedom and confident applied to these girls. You are left astonished by this novel, wanting to close your own curtains to it as if you are the neighbor across the street who wants nothing more to do with the tragedy.
    - Cara Schumann

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Depressing...

    I say first, Eugenides is a great storyteller. Well written, draws you in, descriptive. But this is not a great story. These boys aren't realistic, holding hands, fretting about the neighbor girls, stealing their stuff (makeup? Shoes?) to idolize it. Weird boys worshipping weirder girls for no apparent reason other than they have to to make the book go. Nothing gets resolved but luckily there wasnt a big mystery to begin with so i didnt care. I felt depressed by the end--i'm not looking for happy endings when i read, but also not looking for anticlimactic absence of caring. I'd read another book from him, but their stoylines seem like real downers too, so no thanks.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Chilling and captivating

    Great book. I love the story and the sisters are beautifully written. Always read the book before watching a movie. Definitely a rule to live by.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Its only 170 pages but it has taken me forever to read this thin

    Its only 170 pages but it has taken me forever to read this thing. Its like wading through quicksand. I really don't see why this book is such a big deal. Boring, uninteresting and goes on for way too long.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    although interesting...somewhat, the author just rambles on and

    although interesting...somewhat, the author just rambles on and on and on and on. I found myself skipping paragraphs in a book for the first time ever. you could skip entire pages and miss nothing. it dragged on about unimportant subjects. found myself begging for it to end because it kept going.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Virgin Suicides

    Oh my god. Wow.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    great book

    wonderful book, writing well done but i dont think its for people who just want to read with out mutch thought. alot like Middlesex

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I thought reading the book would help answer questions I had abo

    I thought reading the book would help answer questions I had about the movie but I was dead wrong. Skip entire sections of the big because it was pointless details. I eventually abandoned the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent Read

    I just finished this and enjoyed it very much. Character development was outstanding. I found myself wanting to read it at every possible moment as tension was skillfully applied by the author. This may be one that I will re-read. Excellent...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Excellent Read

    One of the best books I've ever read. It doesn't offer a real explanation, but some of us "just get it". The Libson girls are brilliantly portrayed, and the confusion revolving around their acts is what you might expect from anyone. The nameless narrator give you a look into his home town and the girls down the street, while never really understanding why, they did what they did, though you can certainly speculate. It's a wonderful book that deals with uncomfortable subject matter. I have suggested it many many times, and likely will again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Amazing.

    Such a wonderful book! I couldn't put it down. I'd recommend this book to anyone, and I am definitely buying more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book.  It kept me reading and wondering.  

    I really enjoyed this book.  It kept me reading and wondering.  I am not one to write a book report when leaving reviews, in short i would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    One of the most amazing, intoxicating books ever

    This story is so strange and so moving and so cool all at the same time and you won't be able to put it down. When you finish it its one of those stories that sticks with you.... and a part of you wants to stay in that world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great

    Fascinating and dark. Gripping. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    While it has an interesting story line, the book was far too dru

    While it has an interesting story line, the book was far too drug-out. Eugenides goes into way too much pointless detail about every little thing. The boys were unrealistic and there was no character development whatsoever. I remained unattached the entire book and won't be picking it up to read again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Absolutely captivating

    The sense of mystery allowed a feeling of beauty to be felt throughout the story, the 5 sisters were fabricated in a chilling way
    xoxo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I expected something else. Maybe its my own fault for watching t

    I expected something else. Maybe its my own fault for watching the movie
    and then picking up the book. Like other reviewers mentioned it goes on
    and drags on. Im reading just to finish...I was hoping for more insight
    into the movie but the movie I think carried true to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    This is absolutely my favourite book. It is beautifully written,

    This is absolutely my favourite book. It is beautifully written, and haunting in an odd way that makes the reader become just as obsessed with the Lisbon sisters as the boys are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Awful!

    This is one of the most boring books I have ever stuck with. Had it been a library book I would have returned it. MIDDLE SEX was a favorite book for me, this did not measure up what so ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Amazing

    An amazing tale of the documentation of five sisters and their tragic deaths. Jeffrey Euginides' novel has sparked controversy. His book is captivating and beautiful, a hypnotizing account sealed in the memories of young boys. The Lisbon sisters will always be a mystery, and their legacy will "live" forever on bookshelves, and Jeffrey Euginides will no doubt go down in history as the author of timeless classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14