Customer Reviews for

The Virgin of Small Plains

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book / Easy Read

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I was in a hurry at the bookstore so I didn't put a lot of thought into the purchase, but I was glad I ended up with it. I like a good love story that's not too sappy, and I never figured out the mystery of the story until the author revealed it. I will definately seek out other books written by this author. I like her writing style and her story line.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    A Must Read...

    I am not even finished with the novel, and I am writing this review. I chose this book because Pickard's other novel The Scent of Rain and Lightning was so good; I figured another one would be as well. This one is even better.
    Pickard's writing style is descriptive, which pulls the reader into the story within the first few pages.
    This particular novel has me guessing constantly about the mystery surrounding "the Virgin."
    I am enjoying the way that Pickard unveils information throughout the novel. It is not so easy to predict what is going to happen next.
    Even before I'm done, I'm on a quest for another Pickard story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    The Virgin of Smsll Plains

    Very well written and a page turner. Nancy Picard did the books flashbacks a little differently than most authors, to me that made the story easy to follow. I really enjoyed the book and the book's story charaters. The events in the story could happen in any small town.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Absolutely outstanding!

    I just picked this up at the library while browing through the new books section. I had not read this author before. The book has me totally mesmerized. It's the kind you simply cannot put down as each page beckons you to the next one to see what surprises are in store. All the characters are completely believable some are obvious villains and some are just plain nice folks. I'm not to the end yet but I simply don't want it to end! I don't know (but have some guesses) 'who done it.' This is one of the best reads I've had in a long, long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Great Story Line

    Great Story Line. . .enjoyed reading this book. Suspenseful and not predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    A Solid Mystery

    A mystery with a solid arc that pays homage to the story's emotional centerpiece from the first to the last page. Characters react to events at two critical points in their lives, and their core values are put to the test in light of their maturity. Though I figured a few things out early on, the road to get confirmation was filled with doubt, as twists kept plopping down on the page like debris from a twister. It is a story of considerable power dealing with the choices people make throughout their lives, how they justify those choices, and how they reach for redemption later on. The few quibbles about coincidences are insignificant. Highest praises...5 out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    A Mystery Until The End

    Nancy Pickard did a marvelous job in creating a novel that was suspenseful until the very end. Her setting was in a small town in Kansas called Small Plains, which I believe added to the story line because who would think of a scandal occurring in such a small town especially one that involved everyone from the sheriff to the only doctor to the judge. I can never say no to a good suspense novel. Every turn of the page added another question to the back of my mind in trying to unravel the mystery of ¿the Virgin¿ of Small Plains. Once I answered one question, another would arise or I would find myself realizing I was wrong in an earlier assumption. The basic story line revolved around a women names Abbey who wanted to investigate ¿the Virgin¿s¿ unsolved death and give her a name to put on the grave. Through her search she slowly starts to unearth hidden secrets involving her father, Dr. Quentin 'Doc' Reynolds, and his scary involvement with ¿the Virgin¿s¿ unknown identity. There is also the sudden appearance of her childhood lover named, Mitch, who disappeared the morning after ¿the Virgin¿s¿ death and was quietly assumed to be her killer. Pickard leaves no downtime in her novel. The purpose of this novel was to tell a very strange story and entertain the reader. Pickard succeeded in every which way. I have never been so intrigued by a novel before. I cried and I laughed at this book. Pickard managed to show, not only the mysterious death of a girl, but the love of two people finding each other again, a mind opening tale involving a cancer patient, and families being ripped a part by death and deceit. She uses the present tense but flashes back into the past from time to time. Pickard also gave me a chance to see from other character¿s view points besides Abbey¿s. This allowed me to really get a close connection with each character and feel as if I was truly in Kansas and involved with uncovering the mystery. I believe that a writer has definitely succeeded in their goal if they are able to make the reader feel a part of the story. I highly recommend this book to others. It may seem as if there is a lot going on in this book and that is because there is. In the end it all comes together like puzzle pieces. There is not one insignificant happening in the book. Every slight even can be tied into some greater meaning. If the mystery of the unknown is not enough to grab other people¿s attention then I hope the knowledge of the deceit and numerous twists that occur can do it. The Virgin of Small Plains is a book that I know I will reach out for again to read sometime in the future and I hope all others will take my advice and read it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    This will be a classic

    This story will stay with you long after you read it. It is up there with my favorites, Gone With The Wind, Tender Is The Night and The Catcher in The Rye!! Well Written!! Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Great read!  And one that you won't want to put down.  I highly

    Great read!  And one that you won't want to put down.  I highly recommend The Scent of Rain and Lightening as well by this author.  That amazing book is what lead me to explore her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    HELP!

    A small kitten lay half-crushed under a boulder. Her eyes were milky, and she was ever so slightly breathing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars

    This is the second book I've read by Pickard and I truly do appreciate her style of writing. I like how she builds up the story by giving each of the main characters' point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Yikes

    I just cannot finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    I almost put this boook down halfway through, but hoped it would

    I almost put this boook down halfway through, but hoped it would get better. The end was sort of a surprise, but I think a little more complicated than it had to be. The thing that bothered me throughout the story was all of the characters to keep straight. There was Rex and Nathan and Abby and Mitch and Tom and Quentin and Patrick and Sarah and Jeff and Mr. and Mrs. this and that and Catie and assorted friends that often got only one mention...none of the people were very memorable or colorful and so I couldn't even put a face to them. The story just went on and on and seemed very pointless at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Page turner!

    I really enjoyed this book. The ending was an unexpected twist. Very enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    I like this author's style of writing!

    Another good mystery by Nancy Pickard, once again the author creates believable twits and turns that her readers think they have the plot and mystery figured out, until you turn the page! I am impressed that her books do not become simply the same story but different character names. This book is a good read not so intense that you feel dragged down by the plot; however, not a fluff novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is one of the best books I have read. It totally drew me in from the first page to the last. It had mystery, intrigue, murder, romance, every thing I love in a book. The story line is excellent as are the characters. The author has a gift in using words and putting sentences together that just seem to flow. This is totally an awsome book and if i could give it six stars I would. Thank you Nancy Pickard for writing a book that I enjoyed so much.

    This book was written in2006, I found it by "poking" around on my nook. This is my gripe with B&N, I wish they would update their book list in all their catagories, especially the best sellers list. I bought my nook about a year ago and alot of books are still the same. They really need to update. I wonder if Kindle does the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    Keeps you guessing til the end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Wow

    I will definetly read more of her stuff. Couldnt put this book down....found myself sneaking my nook under my desk at work just so i could keep reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great book.

    Kept me interested through the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10