Customer Reviews for

The Virgin of Small Plains

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    A Must Read...

    I am not even finished with the novel, and I am writing this review. I chose this book because Pickard's other novel The Scent of Rain and Lightning was so good; I figured another one would be as well. This one is even better.
    Pickard's writing style is descriptive, which pulls the reader into the story within the first few pages.
    This particular novel has me guessing constantly about the mystery surrounding "the Virgin."
    I am enjoying the way that Pickard unveils information throughout the novel. It is not so easy to predict what is going to happen next.
    Even before I'm done, I'm on a quest for another Pickard story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    The Virgin of Smsll Plains

    Very well written and a page turner. Nancy Picard did the books flashbacks a little differently than most authors, to me that made the story easy to follow. I really enjoyed the book and the book's story charaters. The events in the story could happen in any small town.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Absolutely outstanding!

    I just picked this up at the library while browing through the new books section. I had not read this author before. The book has me totally mesmerized. It's the kind you simply cannot put down as each page beckons you to the next one to see what surprises are in store. All the characters are completely believable some are obvious villains and some are just plain nice folks. I'm not to the end yet but I simply don't want it to end! I don't know (but have some guesses) 'who done it.' This is one of the best reads I've had in a long, long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    A Solid Mystery

    A mystery with a solid arc that pays homage to the story's emotional centerpiece from the first to the last page. Characters react to events at two critical points in their lives, and their core values are put to the test in light of their maturity. Though I figured a few things out early on, the road to get confirmation was filled with doubt, as twists kept plopping down on the page like debris from a twister. It is a story of considerable power dealing with the choices people make throughout their lives, how they justify those choices, and how they reach for redemption later on. The few quibbles about coincidences are insignificant. Highest praises...5 out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    A Mystery Until The End

    Nancy Pickard did a marvelous job in creating a novel that was suspenseful until the very end. Her setting was in a small town in Kansas called Small Plains, which I believe added to the story line because who would think of a scandal occurring in such a small town especially one that involved everyone from the sheriff to the only doctor to the judge. I can never say no to a good suspense novel. Every turn of the page added another question to the back of my mind in trying to unravel the mystery of ¿the Virgin¿ of Small Plains. Once I answered one question, another would arise or I would find myself realizing I was wrong in an earlier assumption. The basic story line revolved around a women names Abbey who wanted to investigate ¿the Virgin¿s¿ unsolved death and give her a name to put on the grave. Through her search she slowly starts to unearth hidden secrets involving her father, Dr. Quentin 'Doc' Reynolds, and his scary involvement with ¿the Virgin¿s¿ unknown identity. There is also the sudden appearance of her childhood lover named, Mitch, who disappeared the morning after ¿the Virgin¿s¿ death and was quietly assumed to be her killer. Pickard leaves no downtime in her novel. The purpose of this novel was to tell a very strange story and entertain the reader. Pickard succeeded in every which way. I have never been so intrigued by a novel before. I cried and I laughed at this book. Pickard managed to show, not only the mysterious death of a girl, but the love of two people finding each other again, a mind opening tale involving a cancer patient, and families being ripped a part by death and deceit. She uses the present tense but flashes back into the past from time to time. Pickard also gave me a chance to see from other character¿s view points besides Abbey¿s. This allowed me to really get a close connection with each character and feel as if I was truly in Kansas and involved with uncovering the mystery. I believe that a writer has definitely succeeded in their goal if they are able to make the reader feel a part of the story. I highly recommend this book to others. It may seem as if there is a lot going on in this book and that is because there is. In the end it all comes together like puzzle pieces. There is not one insignificant happening in the book. Every slight even can be tied into some greater meaning. If the mystery of the unknown is not enough to grab other people¿s attention then I hope the knowledge of the deceit and numerous twists that occur can do it. The Virgin of Small Plains is a book that I know I will reach out for again to read sometime in the future and I hope all others will take my advice and read it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    This will be a classic

    This story will stay with you long after you read it. It is up there with my favorites, Gone With The Wind, Tender Is The Night and The Catcher in The Rye!! Well Written!! Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Great read!  And one that you won't want to put down.  I highly

    Great read!  And one that you won't want to put down.  I highly recommend The Scent of Rain and Lightening as well by this author.  That amazing book is what lead me to explore her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    HELP!

    A small kitten lay half-crushed under a boulder. Her eyes were milky, and she was ever so slightly breathing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Page turner!

    I really enjoyed this book. The ending was an unexpected twist. Very enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is one of the best books I have read. It totally drew me in from the first page to the last. It had mystery, intrigue, murder, romance, every thing I love in a book. The story line is excellent as are the characters. The author has a gift in using words and putting sentences together that just seem to flow. This is totally an awsome book and if i could give it six stars I would. Thank you Nancy Pickard for writing a book that I enjoyed so much.

    This book was written in2006, I found it by "poking" around on my nook. This is my gripe with B&N, I wish they would update their book list in all their catagories, especially the best sellers list. I bought my nook about a year ago and alot of books are still the same. They really need to update. I wonder if Kindle does the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    Keeps you guessing til the end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Wow

    I will definetly read more of her stuff. Couldnt put this book down....found myself sneaking my nook under my desk at work just so i could keep reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    An amazing read!

    The book delves deep into personalities of all involved. You will love some and hate others. It is a page-turner you won't want to put down, so allow time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    might as well

    superdeduper you won't miss on this one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpected, exciting book

    This is a book that I would recommend to everyone. The lies and deception are almost unbelieveable. Who would think that this could happen to anyone's family? I think it is a fast read and a story that will stick with you and one that you will want to discuss with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    VIrgin of small plains

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, love the characters, plot and I did
    not figure out the story. I loved that it closed all the characters.
    Loved reading it and couldn't wait to get back to it. It was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Probably the best book I have ever read

    This book was outstanding! I could hardly put it down. If you love plot twists then this is the book for you. The characters were great and the way their personalities worked together was even better. Needless to say, I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A special reading experience.

    The sheriff and two men found the frozen corpse of a battered young woman with blood between her legs. They bring her body to the local doctor and he smashes the visage beyond recognition. However, none of the men realize someone witnessed what they did. The judge¿s son Mitch, looking for a Trojan to make love with the doctor¿s daughter Abby, saw what they did and recognized the woman before they ruined her face.------ The next day his parents send Mitch off to college and cut him off from his friends and family in Small Plains, Kansas. They tell him to stay away or the doctor and the sheriff will accuse him of murder. The townsfolk feel sorry for the victim and when no one comes forward claiming her, they provide a descent burial. Over time people visit her grave because it is said that¿s she thanks the town by performing miracles. Seventeen years alter Mitch returns and the secrets that the powerful men hid are in danger of being revealed.---- Fans of Nancy Pickard¿s Jenny Cain mysteries will treasure her new work of psychological suspense with gothic overtones. As the story of what happened seventeen years ago parallels the subplot of Mitch¿s return to his hometown, readers feel a sense of foreboding as if something terrible is about to occur. Fantastic characterizations, several exciting subplots that tie into the main story line and a glimpse of small town justice make THE VIRGIN OF SMALL PLAINS a special reading experience.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4