Customer Reviews for

The Virgin's Lover

Average Rating 4
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good characters, overall a good read

First things first. I recommend you read The Queen's Fool before reading this one. It contains a bit background information and a bit of a foundation to carry you over to The Virgin's Lover. It's not necessary but it's nice to have that extra bit of info in the small mo...
First things first. I recommend you read The Queen's Fool before reading this one. It contains a bit background information and a bit of a foundation to carry you over to The Virgin's Lover. It's not necessary but it's nice to have that extra bit of info in the small moments where the book makes a reference to the past. Besides, The Queen's Fool was a good book so why would you not want to read it? :)

There's plenty of intrigue and double crossing in here, so if you're really into that this is the book for you. I love that stuff. I love seeing characters you don't like get the axe because they were too careless and got double crossed. It's just so satisfying. Which brings me to this other point.

I hate Robert Dudley.

Everything about him made me want to grind my teeth, made me want to jump into the book and punch him in the gonads, or made me want to run a lance into him. I just can't stand the guy. He oozes sliminess and his ambition is just way over the top it made you want to roll your eyes and slap him across the head with a sledgehammer. His arrogance made me want to scream. He was all right at first but once you saw past his true colors you just wanted to curl your lip in disgust at the guy. Either I need serious help, or Ms. Gregory just did a wonderful job at character development and creation here. :P I have never hated a character so much until I came across Robert Dudley.

Amy (Dudley's wife) made you want to cringe because she was everything you didn't want her to be. She was the epitome of submissive wife. There were moments where she finally grew a backbone (and you had to cheer for her during those times) but you just can't help but pity the poor woman. Of all the characters in the book I sympathized with Amy the most. It was just painful to see her pain and suffering and the way she fawned at Dudley made you want to pity her, but at the same time be quite disgusted with her. She admirable though. She put up with a lot of issues and crap for that time.

It's hard to decide how I feel about Elizabeth. She's whiny. She's NEEDY. She's clingy. She nearly made me want to jab something in my eye. However there were moments where I thought "Heeeey..she's not so stupid after all!" so it's very hard to see Elizabeth in a different view than what you usually see (usually as a very strong character who defied the Spanish Armada). So I thought it was difficult to like her in this novel. I was on the fence with her.

Overall, I thought it was a good read. There are romantic parts but not that explicit and quickly done and over with. So to me, they were tolerable. No battle scenes here which was unfortunate but wasn't really the main part of the subject anyway (this book rather focuses on Dudley and Elizabeth). The intrigue of court life was here as usual (all of Gregory's novels have it) so that was good to see. I just really enjoyed the character development and creation in this book.

posted by Sensitivemuse on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Take on History

Based on real historical figures, it is an easy read. However, not as well-written as her Boleyn books.

posted by daisy7 on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    Interesting Take on History

    Based on real historical figures, it is an easy read. However, not as well-written as her Boleyn books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good characters, overall a good read

    First things first. I recommend you read The Queen's Fool before reading this one. It contains a bit background information and a bit of a foundation to carry you over to The Virgin's Lover. It's not necessary but it's nice to have that extra bit of info in the small moments where the book makes a reference to the past. Besides, The Queen's Fool was a good book so why would you not want to read it? :)

    There's plenty of intrigue and double crossing in here, so if you're really into that this is the book for you. I love that stuff. I love seeing characters you don't like get the axe because they were too careless and got double crossed. It's just so satisfying. Which brings me to this other point.

    I hate Robert Dudley.

    Everything about him made me want to grind my teeth, made me want to jump into the book and punch him in the gonads, or made me want to run a lance into him. I just can't stand the guy. He oozes sliminess and his ambition is just way over the top it made you want to roll your eyes and slap him across the head with a sledgehammer. His arrogance made me want to scream. He was all right at first but once you saw past his true colors you just wanted to curl your lip in disgust at the guy. Either I need serious help, or Ms. Gregory just did a wonderful job at character development and creation here. :P I have never hated a character so much until I came across Robert Dudley.

    Amy (Dudley's wife) made you want to cringe because she was everything you didn't want her to be. She was the epitome of submissive wife. There were moments where she finally grew a backbone (and you had to cheer for her during those times) but you just can't help but pity the poor woman. Of all the characters in the book I sympathized with Amy the most. It was just painful to see her pain and suffering and the way she fawned at Dudley made you want to pity her, but at the same time be quite disgusted with her. She admirable though. She put up with a lot of issues and crap for that time.

    It's hard to decide how I feel about Elizabeth. She's whiny. She's NEEDY. She's clingy. She nearly made me want to jab something in my eye. However there were moments where I thought "Heeeey..she's not so stupid after all!" so it's very hard to see Elizabeth in a different view than what you usually see (usually as a very strong character who defied the Spanish Armada). So I thought it was difficult to like her in this novel. I was on the fence with her.

    Overall, I thought it was a good read. There are romantic parts but not that explicit and quickly done and over with. So to me, they were tolerable. No battle scenes here which was unfortunate but wasn't really the main part of the subject anyway (this book rather focuses on Dudley and Elizabeth). The intrigue of court life was here as usual (all of Gregory's novels have it) so that was good to see. I just really enjoyed the character development and creation in this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    great read!!

    read this book in one day! couldn't put it down. great for a rainy day or if you just want to escape for awhile. i love the tudor dynasty and just love philippa gregory's books and style of writing. its intriguing and sucked me in instantly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sort of Dissapointed

    I like most of Phillipa Gregorys books, and I find them hard to put down. This story was no different. My main issue was the portrayal of Elizabeth, one of the greatest monarchs England has ever had, as a weak bumbling idiot. I had great pity for Amy, and hatred for Dudley. The characters were mostly wonderful and the book definately held my attention.
    I just REALLY take issue with the portayal of Elizabeth. Other than that, the book was excellent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dramatic and stimulating.

    Extremely informative about royalty and their interacction with "seers". Also,the long time persecution of the Jewish faith or anyone in conflict with the Church was eye-opening. Well written and well researched.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Boring

    I love historical fictions, yet found this book to be extremely disappointing. I have read other books by Phillipa Gregory which have proved to be quite good, yet The Virgin's Lover was sadly lacking. This book was far too long and drawn out. The story was that of an interesting one, yet due to the manner in which it was written became strangely boring and, frankly, annoying to read. Gregory spends far too much time emphasizing what each and every character thinks during moments of dialog, which results in the dialog becoming tedious to read and also makes the characters seem silly and immature. The story of Elizabeth and her lover should have been very interesting and passion filled, but even the slightest hint of these things was brought down by extreme boringness. I generally read books 'especially ones that I like' in 1-2 days. This book took me a whole week to get through. Unfortunately, the ending was just as boring and terrible as the rest of the book. Nothing really happened. The last page was almost completely pointless. If you are looking for a book with long and great detail, this book is worthy, however if you want great detail with an interesting story, it isn't.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Female sex slave

    Im in need of a male master.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Disappointing

    Ok this is one of my favorite authors, and my favorite genre of reading. Yet this reduced Elizabeth I to a whiney, simpering mess. No one has ever done a worse or more annoying portrayal of her that I know of. I do not recommend unless you look forward to rolling your eyes at every turn of the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Virgin's Lover, a different look

    This story is an interesting take on the alleged love affair between Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley. I have read many books by Philippa Gregory and I always like her stories. She has a way of making stories about the Tudor period very interesting when if you listen to other historians it sounds dull. The story of Elizabeth and Robert Dudley is an emotional rollercoaster with many twists and turns. Philippa does a great job at painting a picture and in this story, Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley are ruthless, selfish and menacing people. I rarely liked either of them in this story, but a good villan makes for a riveting story. All in all, this story is classic Philippa. It's not as involved or passionate as The Other Boleyn Girl, but that one has no equal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Cody

    Ok bai

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    A very good read.

    Another awesome saga!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommended

    Gregory covers the supposed romance between Elizabeth I and Robert Dudley in the first years of the queen's reign. Interesting view of the constant intrigue in court and the effort to get Elizabeth to marry a foreign prince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Good

    I love her books they r so hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great book

    Wonderful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    What a wonderful, engaging read and tale of Elizabeth, Queen of England. Oh how i turned the pages of this book. Its so good you can hardly put it down even if you are so tired you can hardly keep your eyes open, this page can make you turn, turn, turn, at every period at the end of a paragraph, left alone the end of a page or chapter. Im sure it helps when Elizabeth is such a young full of passion, and larger then Life Tudor and Heir to the throne of Henry VIII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    YxusisushzhshsasshhyyygANTCHDXGVVFHMWNh hgjcfkcndjmj ffgd

    Jrttt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    It's.......Ok

    When I read it, it kind of played out in my mind like a movie. It had the perfect, exact "play out" that you would see in a movie.

    But this book was just a little too movieish for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Another hit by Philippa Gregory

    One of my favorite authors hit another home run!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    ok

    ehhh this one was okay for me, unlike her other books in which i stay up late to continue reading and finish the book quick, this one took me quite a while to finish, it wasn't that addicting in my opinion. It got pretty boring after awhile it was the same thing over again. The book would often switch too: the lustful relationship of Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley and them the heartbreak life of Roberts wife, Amy. It just got boring after a while.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14