Customer Reviews for

The Virtues of War: A Novel of Alexander the Great

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    Why Bother?

    The Nook version is more expensive than the paperback?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I found my self asleep

    I started reading this book last week and I literally feel asleep reading it. Don't get me wrong many people might find this highly interesting. With Alexander the Great talking about his travels. But I have always like action in my books and this just doesn't have what I am looking for. It's just a man talking about the old days. I would not read this book, unless you really need to fall asleep and the 800Mg sleeping pills are just not working for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Awesome

    I read this book and i think that it was the best Alexander the Great based book i have ever read. Unfortunatley i lost te book near the end so i never got to hear the end i hope to buy it again to finish this thrilling adventure. But all in all i would recommend this to any medevial lover reader. Or any person that loves history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Virtues of War is often misinterpreted as an attempt at the creation of a classical war novel, or is branded dull for overstatements and unneccessarily colorful descriptions of battlefields. However, the novel is not merely a masterful portrayal of the tides of battle during the period of Macedonian expansion, but is a powerful glance at Alexander the Great for what he truly is, and what most people usually forget he is as they are blinded by his accomplishments and failures. He was a man. And he made miskates, had feelings, fell in love, had friends and companions and a family which he cared for. And that it the foucs of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Outstanding

    This was an amazing read....written from Alexander's viewpoint. The imagery was phenomenal...I felt as if I was in the battles. I also understood the author's opinion of what would drive a young man to try and conquer the world...Deserves every critical acclaim...Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Great Read but not for Historian

    This book is great for anyone wanting a different look at Alexander and how he fell apart. It is not for Historians, however. This book is for someone wanting to have a little fun with the story of Alexander and for someone who enjoys a good battle scene. I agree that the description of the battles get a little tedious, but that's also what makes it easier to imagine all these men standing out in the desert. The first person point of view shows how Alexander destroyed himself as much as his men did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Tale of a Warrior

    The life of a legend. An ispirational read, almost like Steven Pressfield was enlightend with Alexanders spirit. Truly amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Virtue of good writing

    Quite simply, this book is dull. I am an Alexander the Great fanatic, and I hardly read through the battle of Chaeronea before I put the book down. The prose is tedious and awkward. It's narrated in first person by Alexander, who sounds more like a chivalrous knight than a Macedonian conqueror, and is pedantic to boot. I came away feeling I'd got to know some new Greek words, but nothing really about the characters or the way people thought -- or, at least, nothing compelling. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Couldn't even finish it

    This is a very lackluster novel. Pressfield hasn't managed to bring anything new to the story of Alexander and fails to get anywhere below the surface of his tale. What a letdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Pressfield is pretty great, yeah?

    Okay, so this wasn't my favorite SP book. That would be Gates of Fire. But it's still damn good. Pressfield knows his ancient world and brings it to life with a quality above and beyond the norm. If this is your type of material go ahead and buy this. You won't be disappointed, and you probably know what to expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Mediocre

    This novel is a fictional narration of Alexander himself reccounting his staggering conquest covering over 11,000 miles from his homeland Macedonia and all the way to the doorsteps of India. Although it is a grand tale of a grand person, but the book is watered downed and brief. This nothing compared to Pressfield's previous book, Gates of Fire, which sold gazillion copies worldwide and was reprinted six times. His strength was character development, and in GoF, he made us care deeply about the protagonists. While reading this book, I realized I wouldn't really give a hoot if Alexander himself was struck down in battle. Nevermind the minor characters. Not even the battle scenes were exciting. It ain't what it used to be. There is no emotion. This book informs readers of ancient war tactics and the definition of a soldier. Besides that, it doesn't offer much. This is not a memorable book. If you are not a fan of historical fiction, might as well just crack open an encyclopedia and look under 'A' and save time. I was quite disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Not a Military Historians Book

    This is not a book for a history major. While it is interesting, its fictional and literary side is the main focus. It is written in the same 1st person listening to a story 3rd person that the author used in Gates of Fire which can at time be confusing. As a fictional account it is interesting, but but historically it could be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Fascinating

    I picked this book up at Heathrow Airport in late September, and couldn't put it down until finished. Maybe historians are familiar with Alexander the Great's exploits, but not this liberal arts major. Details the life and times of this Macedonian king and his defeat of the Persian empire. His alliances, his enemies, his battles. He fought what are now the peoples of Iraq and Iran, and the comparisons to modern history of that area are compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2