Customer Reviews for

Virtuosity

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a Page turner that keeps you reading.

Wow! It is a page turner from the beginning. I could not put it down. I really enjoyed the glimpse in the life of a young musician. The stress and extent people will go to in order to be on top. It is a story of coming to terms with ethics and how far will Carmen go in ...
Wow! It is a page turner from the beginning. I could not put it down. I really enjoyed the glimpse in the life of a young musician. The stress and extent people will go to in order to be on top. It is a story of coming to terms with ethics and how far will Carmen go in order to be on top. Who do you trust?

Jessica, great writing! I look forward to your next book!

posted by songbirdsue on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Personally I thought this book was a good book with a interestin

Personally I thought this book was a good book with a interesting story line. You do not see a lot of young adult books about music, and that really intrigued me. To be honest the first part of the book was a little slow and took me a while to get into. But once you get...
Personally I thought this book was a good book with a interesting story line. You do not see a lot of young adult books about music, and that really intrigued me. To be honest the first part of the book was a little slow and took me a while to get into. But once you get closer to the middle it starts to pick up. I thought the relationships between the characters were developed nicely and seemed realistic rather than fairy tale. It has depth, action, mystery, and romance. It's really interesting to see a different side a the music world, especially that it's classical music not modern. Overall, I think it was a nice book and a great read for the summertime.

posted by 13299489 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    a Page turner that keeps you reading.

    Wow! It is a page turner from the beginning. I could not put it down. I really enjoyed the glimpse in the life of a young musician. The stress and extent people will go to in order to be on top. It is a story of coming to terms with ethics and how far will Carmen go in order to be on top. Who do you trust?

    Jessica, great writing! I look forward to your next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Hook, line, sinker

    Carmen pulled me in. Relatable and engrossing this is definitely something to be read. Especially if you have a background in orchestra. And even if you've never played before you can still feel the same elation as that characters.

    Most easy description i will give of thus book... alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Best book ever

    I absolutely loved this book! So sweet and cute! With a couple twists in the book it keeps you confused on who to trust! The author is very detailed and i suggest if you like this book try reading her other book the space i between us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Amazing debut and Contemporary

    I was not expecting to like this book as much as I did. I thought it would just be a quick read (which it was) but it was so much more.

    I really felt like I could relate to the subject matter as playing an instrument myself. Although I play the cello instead of violin and I'm nowhere near as talented as Carmen is. But I do think that those who don't have a musical background can also enjoy this book.

    Carmen was my favorite part of this book. I loved watching her grow throughout the book. She learned how to decide for herself what she wants and what she does. She was a little weak in the beginning, which was a tad bothersome, but she grew and became a stronger person, which I liked that about her.

    Virtuosity is a fantastic debut--one that I wasn't expecting to like so much. Even with its short length, there is an addictive quality to it and wonderful character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Good Read

    Great Book. Martinez does a great job at creating a sense of what is actually going through Carmens mind when she interacts with other charaters in the novel. As a fellow pianist I felt as if I could strongly relate to Carmens feelings and emotions of what she was thinking when she was torn betweening having to decide whether to chose a "muscians" career - full of expectations and obligations- or Jermey - someone who makes her happy, free, and able to forget about and get away from the stress of the competitive music world. When she got nervous I could feel myself getting nervous for her. The characters in the book are outstandingly realistic, which I guess is why I loved this book so much. I kept reading and couldn't put the book down, I just had to keep reading. Its a page turner that keeps you wanting to know more about whats going to happen next. I would most definitely refer this book: First, to all my muscian friends who and then to everyone else!!! Love this book! Thank you sooo much Jessica Martinez!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Unique and Wonderful!

    As someone who grew up on the stage, in front of audiences, and in the professional world, I could really relate well to this book. Jessica captured the pressure and demands of that lifestyle so well. And besides that, there is a hot British boy and a killer opening scene - one of the best I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hobbitsies Reviews: Fantastic contemporary with an awesome MC

    I was absolutely blown away by Virtuosity. I've read a few books where the main character was some sort of musical goddess, but never anything as good and as real feeling as Virtuosity.

    Because Carmen? Yeah, she's in my Spanish class and I just spoke to her at the library and I went to high school with her and oh, hey, Carmen is me! That sounds weird. Do you get it? Carmen is real. She has a seriously whack and controlling mother, and issues with anxiety and boys and friends and family and isn't that everyone? She has a passion and she doesn't know what is right and wrong and what to do about it.

    And Jeremy. Maybe I didn't necessarily feel anything towards Jeremy alone, but I loved Jeremy and Carmen together. How they interacted with each other and their insecurities and trust issues and their mutual love of music. I loved that.

    Let's not forget the (awesome) craziness that went down at the end of Virtuosity. I definitely did not see that coming. I mean, I didn't see any of it coming! Something big had to happen, of course, but.wow! Definitely through me for a loop there. And the ending itself - open ended in a way that I think I know what happened, but not too telling.just enough to leave me guessing! Perfect.

    Overall, I loved Virtuosity. It's an absolutely amazing contemporary and stunning debut. I loved the characters (except for the mother rahrghahrw) and the storyline, and my god, this book made me want to start playing the cello again. Be sure to pick up a copy of Virtuosity as soon as you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1