Customer Reviews for

Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful romantic adventure!

"Heather Cynster knew that her latest plan to find a suitable husband was doomed the instant she set foot in Lady Herford's salon." And so begins the adventure of Heather Cynster and her search for her hero. Heather quickly catches the sharp hazel eyes of Viscount Breck...
"Heather Cynster knew that her latest plan to find a suitable husband was doomed the instant she set foot in Lady Herford's salon." And so begins the adventure of Heather Cynster and her search for her hero. Heather quickly catches the sharp hazel eyes of Viscount Breckenridge, family friend, and decides to just ignore him and pray he leaves her be. That is not to be so and Breckenridge gracefully helps the bane of his existence exit the salon....only to watch her be kidnapped before she can reach her carriage!
Heather is quite stunned by this quick turn of events but does not put up a fuss, especially when her kidnappers inform her they are not to harm her in any way. She slowly starts to question the two men and women as to why she was kidnapped but her captors do not tell her much, just that they were hired to capture "one of the Cynster sisters". As Heather has two other sisters who also fit the bill she decides to try to uncover as much as she can about her captor before attempting escape. She is quite surprised on their first stop for the night at an inn when she hears a noise outside her window and she looks out to see Breckenridge there. Over the snores of her 'maid', she tells him she must stay with the kidnappers, that they are not out to harm her and she must find out who is behind this and why to protect her family. Breckenridge reluctantly agrees and states that he will follow her and will get her out if the tides happen to turn. When the party eventually arrives and means to stay until the laird behind the capture arrives in Gretna Green, they both know the time has come to escape.
Circumstances force the two to travel to Vale, home of Heathers cousin, on foot with the unknown laird close behind searching for them. Near the beginning of their foot travels, Breckenridge grabs Heathers hand to steady her and they never let go, continuing to walk the entire journey hand in hand, emotions for each swirling and growing. Once they finally reach Vale and its protection, Breckenridge tells Heather that the natural conclusion from both of their absences from Londons society will be to marry to protect her reputation. This throws Heather for a tailspin will not marry unless for love. Love for her and no other reason. Naturally, these two are extremely stubborn about who will say those magic words first. Heather wants to hear Breckenridge say them first but he was burned once by love in his past before and puts no faith in love anymore. It takes a terrifying accident to finally get these two to open their eyes to what is right in front of their faces!
I really enjoyed the beginning and the abduction and following results. I enjoyed seeing a strong, smart women in Heather and a dashing, smart hero in Breckenridge try to figure out the best course of action for Heather and the protection of her family. The mystery as to why she was kidnapped was revealed a bit but still left me anticipating the next book for more clues as to why this mysterious laird has to kidnap one of the Cynster sisters. However, once the pair arrive at her cousin Richards home, the story slowed down a bit for me and just circled around the same topic....who will bend and say 'I love you' first. Even with this slow down, I was impressed with the lovely, sexy, hot, emotional love scenes between Heather and Breckenridge. Overall, a wonderful romantic adventure with heat and passion that will leave you ready for more!

posted by lisa_romancereader on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hard to get into

I bought this after reading the summary. Very disappointed in how long it took to really get into the story. I literally skipped paragraphs because it just was blah blah blah. In the end though if you have no distractions its overall a good book. Just be prepared to...
I bought this after reading the summary. Very disappointed in how long it took to really get into the story. I literally skipped paragraphs because it just was blah blah blah. In the end though if you have no distractions its overall a good book. Just be prepared to be reading it for awhile.

posted by 8930528 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful romantic adventure!

    "Heather Cynster knew that her latest plan to find a suitable husband was doomed the instant she set foot in Lady Herford's salon." And so begins the adventure of Heather Cynster and her search for her hero. Heather quickly catches the sharp hazel eyes of Viscount Breckenridge, family friend, and decides to just ignore him and pray he leaves her be. That is not to be so and Breckenridge gracefully helps the bane of his existence exit the salon....only to watch her be kidnapped before she can reach her carriage!
    Heather is quite stunned by this quick turn of events but does not put up a fuss, especially when her kidnappers inform her they are not to harm her in any way. She slowly starts to question the two men and women as to why she was kidnapped but her captors do not tell her much, just that they were hired to capture "one of the Cynster sisters". As Heather has two other sisters who also fit the bill she decides to try to uncover as much as she can about her captor before attempting escape. She is quite surprised on their first stop for the night at an inn when she hears a noise outside her window and she looks out to see Breckenridge there. Over the snores of her 'maid', she tells him she must stay with the kidnappers, that they are not out to harm her and she must find out who is behind this and why to protect her family. Breckenridge reluctantly agrees and states that he will follow her and will get her out if the tides happen to turn. When the party eventually arrives and means to stay until the laird behind the capture arrives in Gretna Green, they both know the time has come to escape.
    Circumstances force the two to travel to Vale, home of Heathers cousin, on foot with the unknown laird close behind searching for them. Near the beginning of their foot travels, Breckenridge grabs Heathers hand to steady her and they never let go, continuing to walk the entire journey hand in hand, emotions for each swirling and growing. Once they finally reach Vale and its protection, Breckenridge tells Heather that the natural conclusion from both of their absences from Londons society will be to marry to protect her reputation. This throws Heather for a tailspin will not marry unless for love. Love for her and no other reason. Naturally, these two are extremely stubborn about who will say those magic words first. Heather wants to hear Breckenridge say them first but he was burned once by love in his past before and puts no faith in love anymore. It takes a terrifying accident to finally get these two to open their eyes to what is right in front of their faces!
    I really enjoyed the beginning and the abduction and following results. I enjoyed seeing a strong, smart women in Heather and a dashing, smart hero in Breckenridge try to figure out the best course of action for Heather and the protection of her family. The mystery as to why she was kidnapped was revealed a bit but still left me anticipating the next book for more clues as to why this mysterious laird has to kidnap one of the Cynster sisters. However, once the pair arrive at her cousin Richards home, the story slowed down a bit for me and just circled around the same topic....who will bend and say 'I love you' first. Even with this slow down, I was impressed with the lovely, sexy, hot, emotional love scenes between Heather and Breckenridge. Overall, a wonderful romantic adventure with heat and passion that will leave you ready for more!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    I enjoyed this book. A very original story with a believable heroine and so romantic.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When you go looking for a hero, will anything less than that be acceptable?

    Well-bred Heather Cynster is 25 and sitting on the never getting married shelf. The one night she decides to live life outside the boundaries of proper society two terrible things happen - she meets the bane of her existence Timothy Danvers, Viscount Breckenridge, and finds herself being kidnapped. Now for most women the kidnapping would be the worst of it but Heather really does dislike Breckridge so for right now that encounter is worse than the carriage she is in bound up like a goose, not knowing who kidnapped her or why.

    Breckenridge watched in horror as they stole Heather away and the last thing he wanted was to be her savior but that is the only recourse to this action. Breckenridge follows stealthy behind them and due to her captors being so remiss about watching her Heather is able to sneak out every night so they can try to hatch a plan of escape. But the more information Heather learns about her kidnappers tells her that the threat is so much larger than just to Heather. With this information Heather is prepared to stay the course of being kidnapped until they find out who is behind it and what this mysterious someone who no one really knows truly wants. When the tide turns and she no longer can pretend to being kidnapped Heather and Breckenridge set out for her cousin's home and safety. While the trip is long and dangerous Heather shows she is a sturdy Cynster woman.

    From the moment Breckenridge involved himself in Heather's kidnapping he knew in that he would have to marry her as she is now compromised. Despite the dire circumstances no one inside proper London society will accept any other result. Breckenridge assumes that Heather understands this as well but to his surprise she does not and so the battle begins over what will happen. Cynster women are strong and opinionated so Breckenridge has to try every tactic in his arsenal to make sure she understands his offer is being offered with sincerity. Heather does not want a savior she wants to be shown love and affection - can Breckenridge provide that as well as a well-funded estate?

    This book has great elements of suspense, romance and some battle of wills, which I always enjoy. The Cynster women are fascinating and the men involved with them are driven crazy, which makes it even more fun to read. I thought perhaps this might have wrapped up quicker at the end but that is never a problem as I enjoy the book going on forever.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Mystery, Adventure, and Romance - I Agree!

    One of the reviewers below put 'It starts off with mystery, moves to adventure, and turns to romance' and that was a perfect way to say it!

    4 1/2 stars!

    I was thrilled when I saw Pam from Avon post on Facebook asking if anyone was interested in previewing the new Stephanie Laurens book. Um, yes! She is one of my 'Must Read' authors and up in my special bookcase so I would love to get my grubby hands on that ebook! Especially a full month early... I did a little dance as I downloaded it!

    Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue is the 1st in a new trilogy yet it's the 16th Cynster novel. If you haven't read Laurens before, don't fret, you can easily start with this one.

    The book starts quick and captures your attention. I must admit I had to flip back to the beginning (scroll back, rather...) and read it again to try and figure out who exactly was speaking in the prologue.

    The first few chapters had me hooked. Heather was taken away in a coach yet there was a maid/chaperone to watch over her so technically they were keeping it all very proper. Yet, when Heather finds out that Viscount Breckenridge has followed her to rescue her, she tells him that she can't leave. She needs to find out who is behind this because she wasn't sure that she was the actual target. If her cousins/sister could be harmed, well, she had to find out what was going on. Completely sequel bait but I'm along for the ride.

    The Cynster's are a beloved family that are quite distinctive in Laurens world. My favorite Cynster novel is 'A Secret Love' but I really love that 'friends become lovers' trope. The current novel, Breckenridge, has a little of the same vibe but most of it is tied up in the kidnapping so it has a different tension.

    A few of the things I didn't like. It was hard to believe that she wouldn't just leave. Why in the world would you keep staying with your kidnappers? Get out of there! She gave good reasons though. Once they did in fact escape, Laurens takes you on quite a jaunt in a few different ways. It gets a little tedious as it goes back and forth to keep the tension going in the last half of the book. It did give her an opportunities to get in quite a few sexy-times, so I guess there is that... She also throws in a little fate/magic which seems is just done to bring us some closure with a few of the past characters. It felt a little too much which is why I didn't completely love this novel.

    Having said that, I really like how Stephanie Laurens writes. She is a solid writer and takes you deliberately through every feeling and thought.

    Laurens also uses crazy language. Adamintine? My Wordpress spell check doesn't even recognize that word! She tends to do that in all her novels, so it is like an exciting learning experience.

    It's all very deliberate. So the tension is very sizzling.

    I was thrilled to get a chance to read this book early, as I would have purchased it anyway. If you get the chance to read this novel, or any of Stephanie Laurens, I highly recommend it. It comes out August 30, 2011!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Hard to get into

    I bought this after reading the summary. Very disappointed in how long it took to really get into the story. I literally skipped paragraphs because it just was blah blah blah. In the end though if you have no distractions its overall a good book. Just be prepared to be reading it for awhile.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Best Stephanie Laurens novel yet!

    VISCOUNT BRECKENRIDGE TO THE RESCUE is awesome! Best Stephanie Laurens story yet! It has mystery, adventure, and romance (of course). The Cynster women are as intelligent as the Cynster men, and thankfully, their consorts know it. It starts off as a mystery, moves into an adventure, and ends with romance. This story will grab you in the beginning and keep you even after the end. This is a great way to start the stories of the Cynster Sisters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Boring!!!!

    All the suspense lead no where!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    repetetive

    I had to skim through parts. Honestly, it doesn't take 5 pages to describe ONE feeling. This book certainly could have been done in half the pages. The story line was ok, but it could have been better. The antagonist gives up too quickly & doesn't care enough for the drama of the book to get up to a great height. So, as much as I hate to give a bad review - I would not reccomend this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Difficult read

    So unlike previous Stephanie Laurens books. This the most boring book I have read in a long time. Half the book is about a kidnapping that really wasn't, and did we have to read about every stop they made with their supposed kidnappers? Why didn't they get back to London the same way the maid did. Will this fiasco of a story ever end.........and so it continues across Scotland.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Good story but tooooo drawn out

    Loved the story line, but found myself bored.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Not her best.

    After reading some of these reviews, makes me think I read a different book. (NOT)
    The book started out good then the next 150 pages were hard to get thru.
    Skip the middle of the book, read the last 30 pages and move on to the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Very sloooow

    This book is not up to Laurens standards. It could have been cut by least half. The following one about Eliza was much better!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Just what you expect

    If you want a typical 'Laurens Love Story', you won't be disappointed. All of the gang are here and make for a comfortable escape into that other world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will relish the action packed first Cynster Sisters historical romantic suspense

    In 1829 unmarried twenty-five year old Heather Cynster decides to no longer wait for her hero to sweep her off her feet or for her to be declared an on the shelf spinster. Instead she chooses to sweep the man of her dreams off his feet.

    Heather crashes a non-sanctioned gala only instead of her dream mate, notorious rake Viscount Breckenridge, Timothy Danvers, intercepts her. Timothy charmingly in a rage kicks her out of the party before she becomes the subject of scandal while Heather declares he is too old for her. However, hooligans abduct Heather, but once again Timothy comes to her rescue by pretending to be a clerk who seems to help her captors only to free her when the opportunity arises. This time he stays near her to keep her safe though he wonders who will keep her safe from him.

    Readers will relish the action packed first Cynster Sisters historical romantic suspense due to a strong lead couple and the villains whose motive for the abduction rings true to followers of the saga. Fans will enjoy this fun tale as the rake and the spinster fall in love but he must convince her that he is her hero.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Angela Shikany

    Excellent. Absolutely one of her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    I really really wanted to love this one

    I usually love everything by Laurens but this one just didn't grab me. There wasn't enough sexual tensions and alpha male protectiveness that I love about Laurens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed the book but it was a little slow at points...particul

    I enjoyed the book but it was a little slow at points...particularly getting to the actual resue. Other than that I enjoyed the exchanges between Heather and Viscount Breckenridge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend- If you like the Cynster series

    Kept my interest from start to finish. I throughly like the Cynster series, wish their were more...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    commas!

    i have to honestly say that i like her earlier work. i'm a classics and poetry major so it was sort of hard to read with all of her commas. great story and romance but the wording could be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9