Customer Reviews for

The Visible Man

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Visable Man

Dont read reviews. Read books.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

While it is certainly an entertaining read, and I don't regret p

While it is certainly an entertaining read, and I don't regret purchasing it, I did find myself often thinking "this is too contrived." Often the main character goes to extreme lengths to explain why her notes and transcripts read less like life and more like ...
While it is certainly an entertaining read, and I don't regret purchasing it, I did find myself often thinking "this is too contrived." Often the main character goes to extreme lengths to explain why her notes and transcripts read less like life and more like a novel. It's almost as if the author was apologizing for how roughly assembled it seemed.
All in all, a very entertaining and thought-provoking read that doesn't attempt to be anything other than what it is: entertainment.

posted by melanie_with_the_eyes on July 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    The Visable Man

    Dont read reviews. Read books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    While it is certainly an entertaining read, and I don't regret p

    While it is certainly an entertaining read, and I don't regret purchasing it, I did find myself often thinking "this is too contrived." Often the main character goes to extreme lengths to explain why her notes and transcripts read less like life and more like a novel. It's almost as if the author was apologizing for how roughly assembled it seemed.
    All in all, a very entertaining and thought-provoking read that doesn't attempt to be anything other than what it is: entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Very interesting!

    Not only is the subject very interesting, but it is superbly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Makes yi Makes you think

    Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First, I must state that I am a Klosterman fan, and have read mu

    First, I must state that I am a Klosterman fan, and have read much of his nonfiction. I love his style, and this book was no exception. Yes, it had its lulls, but it also had some truly exceptional passages on the philosophy of human nature. It had an original voyeur nature to it that I enjoyed. As for the writing, I must criticize the dialogue: all the characters talk like Klosterman. It’s just not natural. The biggest criticism I have of The Visible Man is the ending, which was hasty and unfulfilling, however; I would be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy the ride. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended! Fell in love page 1.

    Let me start by saying, I was not a HUGE fan of Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs (the author's first novel) SO I was hesitant to read this one. But a few of my friends suggested it, and went on and on about it. So I picked it up. And finished it within 3 days. (while still going to work, eating and sleeping)

    The book was amazing. With a limited amount of characters (really just 2 main ones, and a few anecdotal appearances) the book had me flipping page after page, enjoying every minute of it.

    Long story short, this book is now in my top five favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Liked it

    A bit of a rushed ending, but very readable. Liked it a lot. Entertaining, but not fluff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    RECOMMENDED but don't expect it to be fabulous

    It was simply an ok read. It had it's very good moments but also had much that was completely boring. I'm big on endings and this was just "fair". Personally, I don't think I'd read another one of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Decent read

    I am a huge Klosterman fan and this book was a decent read but it is not his best work. The second half of the story seemd to develop too quickly and left me wanting more at the end. Still worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great Read

    I'm about 70 pages in and so far the book is Fantastic. Written with great pace and back and forth dialogue that keeps the reader involved as if he/she was there as it is happening. Can't wait to see how the rest of the story unfolds. So Far a WINNER!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2