BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Visible Threat (Critical Pursuit Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    This books is an awesome follow-up to "Critical Pursuit&quo

    This books is an awesome follow-up to "Critical Pursuit"!!  I didn't want to put this book down either!!!  If you haven't ever read a book by Janice Cantore you should check her books out.  I am looking forward to reading all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    I liked the continuing story of Brinna and Jack from Critical Pu

    I liked the continuing story of Brinna and Jack from Critical Pursuit. I do suggest reading that before this one so you can really understand the characters but the suspense storyline is completely separate. This story is about Brinna and Jack and their investigation of a human trafficking ring. The topic is difficult but I felt that the author was realistic in her portrayal. While I rated the first of the series 5 stars, I would give this 4.5 overall. The suspense is a five but I was wishing Brinna's questioning of faith and spiritual growth was more developed instead of just questioning the "peace" that others in her life have so that is why I dropped the overall. I would recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    What a great suspense novel! Janice Cantore is a former police o

    What a great suspense novel! Janice Cantore is a former police officer, so her books always ring true. I felt that was even more the case with Visible Threat than her previous books.

    Visible Threat is fast-paced yet believable with the amount of action. I was intrigued by the human trafficking aspect as well, since that seems to be front and center with the media these days. There were a couple of places that I thought the explanations were a little trite. Wouldn't police officers be aware of human trafficking already? But the attention brought to this issue through this book was spot on.

    I enjoyed following Brinna Caruso through another harrowing journey. I hope there will be more books about her in the future!

    Fans of suspense will definitely enjoy this book! [4.5 stars]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    We catch up with Police Officer Brinna Caruso following the deat

    We catch up with Police Officer Brinna Caruso following the death of her nemesis, and although she is still the "Kid Crusader," in this book she is thrown into the fire surrounding the human trafficking industry. While helping with a rescue that leaves another officer permanently disabled and Brinna herself injured, they discover much more than they bargained for. The funding for Brinna's K-9 partner, Hero, has just been cut and she is concerned.

    Happily married and a mother of twins, specialty shop owner Magda Boteva has a secret that not even her husband knows - and she has been living in fear for far too long. She is just about to her breaking point - no matter the cost.

    Office Jack O'Reilly is moving past the death of his wife and may be beginning to have feelings for Brinna that are moving past friendship...but does she feel the same way?

    This is the second book about Brinna Caruso, written by real-life retired police officer Janice Cantore. You will enjoy the mystery, suspense, and behind the scenes police info you'll find in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Excellent Book! This was another exciting book about Brianna an

    Excellent Book!

    This was another exciting book about Brianna and her work with the police department. Brianna works
    with some fellow officers to save a young girl from drowning only to discover that she has the same identical tattoo as an earlier victim.  The girl is saved but an officer is injured and Brianna's own life is turning upside down. When it is discovered that the girl is part of a human trafficking ring Brianna works hard to protect her but at what cost to her own family?  This was an excellent book and hard to put down. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Visible Threat starts off on page one with action and continued

    Visible Threat starts off on page one with action and continued on to the last page. I haven't read any of Janice Cantore's work before and I am now questioning why that is I loved the action, characters, mystery and suspense. 
    I think the story line is really good. I liked how Janice shows the awareness of human trafficking. How shocking that this happens in this country. 
    I look forward to reading more by this author and will adding her books to my wish list.
    5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Janice Cantore has done it again! Written a book that grabs and

    Janice Cantore has done it again! Written a book that grabs and won't let go until you're done reading. She did a great job of showing the awfulness of human trafficking. Brinna, the police officer & main character, is passionate and driven without being unrealistically perfect. I'm hoping there's another book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    I really enjoyed this story. Since it's the second book in a ser

    I really enjoyed this story. Since it's the second book in a series, the reader already knows the characters and can hit the ground running.
    I love Brinna--she's strong and capable but still a little too independent. I really like her determination to protect and to serve.
    The topic is a tough one--human trafficking. It's heartbreaking, and I thought the author handled the topic well.
    The action is fast, and I stayed up late to finish.


    Fans of Christian suspense/action will enjoy this one.
    I'm looking forward to the next one--especially to see what happens with Brinna and Jack. I like them a lot and like the pace of the relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    Amazing! I loved this book. This is the second book in the Criti

    Amazing! I loved this book. This is the second book in the Critical Pursuit series, and it is just as good, if not better, than the first. The
    two books should definitely be read in order, otherwise some parts of this book may not make sense. I loved that this book spoke to the
    topic of human trafficking. It is a problem in today's society, but not one many people know a lot about, so it was nice to see a book
    touching on that topic, especially from a police officer's point of view. I loved that this book picked up almost right where the first left off
    and I felt like I hadn't missed anything. In the last book, Officer Caruso was just coming around to the idea of a relationship with Christ,
    and in this book, although she is further long in the process, she is still struggling with the question of "Why would God allow bad
    things happen to good people?" Which is where the main storyline comes into play. This book has a little bit of everything: adventure,
    faith, romance, and suspense. It is definitely book I would recommend to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    This was another great book by Janice Cantore. She continues the

    This was another great book by Janice Cantore. She continues the story of Brinna, adding in a touch of romance along with Brinna's continual search for God. Brinna continues to wrestle with the question of how God can allow evil to happen in the world, but does have to realize that her abduction at the age of 6 made her into a much stronger, more compassionate police officer. In this book, she has to deal with her mother's abduction and starts to do a bit of praying on her own. I just really think Janice has an excellent style of writing and addresses issues that are prevalent today. It's scary to realize how much human trafficking is really going on even today. I will definitely pay more attention to this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Great suspense novel Another great suspense from Cantore! The a

    Great suspense novel

    Another great suspense from Cantore! The action was great, the plot took some good turns to keep it interesting, and I liked the inclusion of more steps in Brinna’s faith-journey. A little romance didn’t hurt, either. ;)

    I look forward to any future novels with Brinna and her cop friends, and I’m planning to find the Pacific Coast Justice series as well. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A suspense filled story about a young policewoman with the LBPD.

    A suspense filled story about a young policewoman with the LBPD. Pursuit of the worst types, predators and human trafficking, doesn't stop at the end of shift. I plan to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Janice Cantore in her new book, ┬┐Visible Threat┬┐ Book Two in the

    Janice Cantore in her new book, “Visible Threat” Book Two in the Brinna Caruso series published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us another adventure with Officer Brinna Caruso.




    From the Back Cover:  Officer Brinna Caruso wants perfection—perfect justice and a perfect world. She wants to save and protect all the innocents in the world, no matter the cost.




    Orphaned and struggling to get by, Ivana and her sister left Bulgaria for America with dreams of a better life. But since they arrived in Long Beach, everything they were promised has turned out to be a lie.




    After a dead girl is found in the river with a mysterious tattoo on her hip, homicide detective Jack O’Reilly asks for Brinna’s help. Unaware of the depths of evil that will be uncovered, Brinna finds herself flung into a dangerous frontier—an organized human trafficking ring.




    I think the worst thing in the world that you can do to someone is to take away their freedom completely and buy and sell them on the underground market.  These people have been stripped of their identities and they have no hope.  It is into this world that Jack O’Reilly asks for Brinna’s help.  Now Jack, Brinna and her K-9 search and rescue dog, Hero are involved in an investigation that will test the limits of how far they can go to rescue these people.  “Visible Threat” is how you define exciting!  Ms. Cantore is a retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years.  If anyone can write these kind of stories with authenticity and sheer excitement she most certainly can.  “Visible Threat” is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger.  Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe.  I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the next book in this exciting series from Ms. Cantore.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Fabulous book! The writing and attention grabbing of this was

    Fabulous book! The writing and attention grabbing of this was outstanding – as well as the way a sensitive topic was broached without being graphic. Unfortunately it does deal with a subject, human trafficking which needs to have light brought on it but is not for the faint of heart – I wish it did not even exist.
    Officer Brina Caruso was kidnapped as a child. As an adult she wants nothing more than to save innocents. She unwittingly finds herself involved in a human trafficking case, which then becomes personal.
    Brina is also seeking God – desiring to know where He is in situations like this and why is there evil anyway. I love how her mother Rose continues to have peace and even says, “All any of us can control is how we respond when tough times come. This does not diminish God or his Sovereignty in my mind.” There were lots of really good conversations about God in this book – like, “If he is a good God, why would he stop something in your life that will make you stronger, make you a better person?”
    Great book! I highly recommend it for its fast paced, intriguing story with real questions being responded to by the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Intense and Well Written! This book was hard to put down. The pl

    Intense and Well Written! This book was hard to put down. The plot kept me fascinated, and the characters were likeable and sympathetic. The dangers were reflected with realism, and the police action was convincing. Janice Cantore does a great job with the camaraderie among officers and the ways they deal with stress. Brinna's soul-searching pervades the story, but it brings a continuity to it, while giving insight into this main character. I enjoyed this very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    Wow! Janice Cantore has done it again! I am never disappointed w

    Wow! Janice Cantore has done it again! I am never disappointed with her books. This is Book #2 in the series of Brinna Caruso. In this book, Brinna gets tangled in the web of organized human trafficking ring. This book did not fail to disappoint in keeping my attention. It had suspense and a little romance. I highly recommend this book and any other book by Janice Cantore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    This exciting and well written book deals with the horrors of ev

    This exciting and well written book deals with the horrors of evil people tricking foreign women to accept their help to enter the United States and get a job only to find out they are slaves, forced into prostitution without any money coming to them and kept locked up. When one young girl dies trying to escape, the strange tattoo on her hip causes one police officer to investigate. The closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous it becomes. Although fiction, this problem does actually exist according to our local police.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    The second book in Janice Cantore's series, Visible Threat, foll

    The second book in Janice Cantore's series, Visible Threat, follows Brinna as she finds herself caught up in a human trafficking ring. Brinna is a strong woman who was kidnapped as a child, which developed into a thirst and desire for justice against missing children. She's the person to call to find a kid who's gone missing. A young girl is found dead in a river with a tattoo on her hip, and Brinna begins the hunt for the killer, which will eventually lead her to more victims, Ivana and her sister, who left Bulgaria after promises they will work for rich Americans. However, they've had their heads filled with lies and soon find themselves part of the human trafficking ring.

    Fast-paced, exciting, and touching on the horrible topic of human trafficking, Cantore has created a wonderful story and character in Brinna and the others as well and brings to the light the cruel and evil issue of human trafficking. Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Visible Threat is book two of the series staring Brinna and her

    Visible Threat is book two of the series staring Brinna and her K-9 Partner, Hero.  In most ways it picks up where the first book Critical Pursuit left off.  You could probably read it without having read the first, but why?  Brinna is driven to take predators off the streets.  She has always focused on those kidnapped, as she was a victim as a child.  However in Visible Threat, Brinna finds herself facing a different predator.  Visible Threat deals with human trafficking.  So often we feel that it happens elsewhere.  The reality is, it's happening all over.  Maybe even in your town. Brinna's faith continues to be challenged.  She wants to know how a God good, let's bad things happen.  Cantore does not give a pat answer.  Jack and Brinna continue to develope as well.  I'm sure we've not seen the last of Brinna... 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Brinna Caruso is an amazing cop with a hunger to catch the crimi

    Brinna Caruso is an amazing cop with a hunger to catch the criminals, especially those who target children. She has an aggressive attitude and is a very good cop. Even though sometimes her ways go against her superior. She struggles with how can a God who loves us allow bad things to happen to good people. Will she ever be able to understand what God is showing her? Once the case she is working on turns personal can she find a way to save those she loves the most? And will her co-worker be able to get over the loss of his wife and find a relationship with her?

    This book is action packed with twist and turns in all the right places. It has just enough romance and some hard to deal with issues. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading contemporary, fiction (which could be no-fiction), police type books. I won this book in a contest on the authors blog. I was not asked to write a review but count it a privilege and look forward to reading more by Janice cantor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2