Customer Reviews for

The Visibles

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I loved reading this. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Engaging

    I do not have a ton of free time to read so it is such a treat when I do. What I loved about the Visibles is that it sucked me in...I couldn't put it down. I felt like I wanted to jump in to help out. This is a great read that will captivate readers of all styles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Visibles is now my number one book of all time! The Kite Runner was my number one best book for a long time, until I read this book. Sure to be a bestseller, The Visibles is by far the best book I have read in a long time!

    Summer Davis is devastated and withdrawn after her mother suddenly leaves the family. She puts her life on hold, to care for her mentally ill father who, she knows, has also been keeping a secret for years.


    Summer becomes interested in DNA and the study of genetics, as she questions her own family's genetic makeup. Summer's coding binds her to her mentally ill father, her apathetic older brother, and her mother who is not part of her life, but is always part of her.


    When Summer goes with her father to Pennsylvania to Great Aunt Stella's house, she gains insight into the mysterious secret, as well as insight to her genetic makeup. The story delves into the dark corners of family ties, and that we each have no escaping our genetic code - our heritage. Sara's wording is sharp, clever, and insightful, with just the right amount of humor.

    This book is sure to be a bestseller! The Kite Runner has been my number one book of all time, but I have a new number one - The Visibles!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Visibles Review

    Sara Shepard is a gifted writer. I enjoyed reading her first adult novel, The Visibles. Sara has created a beautiful tale and her characters come to life in the story. It is a book that I couldn't put down- it will warm your heart!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Book

    This book sucks

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    This book sucks

    Thus is a bad book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A WONDERFUL FIRST NOVEL

    I read an advanced copy of The Visibles and absolutely loved it! The author's ability to deal with serious subject matter with humor and wisdom (especially in the character of Stella!) is refreshing.
    Some of the passages were so insightful and unique, I highlighted them and reread them often.

    I look forward to many more books by this new author!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good read!

    It's one of those books that pulls in right from the begging....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2