Customer Reviews for

Vision in White (Nora Roberts' Bride Quartet Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1003 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(539)

4 Star

(240)

3 Star

(127)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very good book. one of the better Nora roberts reads I enjoyed

Very good book. one of the better Nora roberts reads I enjoyed

posted by sand7s on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

highway robbery

I think it's pretty low that you can buy the paperback for $3 cheaper than the e-book. I love my nook but i'm starting to wonder if im getting ripped-off. Will not read these books for that reason!

posted by 3985810 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1006 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 51
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    highway robbery

    I think it's pretty low that you can buy the paperback for $3 cheaper than the e-book. I love my nook but i'm starting to wonder if im getting ripped-off. Will not read these books for that reason!

    33 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    really???

    Why would the ebook be higher than the paperback. Based solely on that fact, I certainly wouldn't start this series.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    Nook Price TOOOO Much

    How sad, I own a Nook and bought the paperback because of the price. This needs to be changed.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. one of the better Nora roberts reads I enjoyed

    Very good book. one of the better Nora roberts reads I enjoyed

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My First Nora Roberts' book was amazing

    I have read tons of different books but never a Nora Roberts book...but this was a good book. I took it on my beach vacation and it took me 2 days to finish and i didnt want to put it down. I cant wait til December to get the next part of the series.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    deep relationship drama

    Mac, Parker, Emma and Laurel have been friends forever so it is not a shocker that these buddies formed a business together; nor that their company Vows provides wedding and event planning, as they used to play at bride and groom as kids. When Parker's parents died, she renovated the house so her friends could comfortably move in with her as well as be on site at all times for the business.

    During the planning of a wedding, Mac (short for Mackenzie) runs into classmate Carter Maguire; he had a crush on her back in their school days. Mac fears relationships ever since her father abandoned his family to marry someone else and her mother's marriages turned her trepidation into a phobia. While Carter courts her thinking long term, she prefers a short fling. Meanwhile Mac's mother Linda makes a zillion selfish demands on her, but that does not disturb Mac as much as her feelings for Carter do.

    The first book in the Bride Quartet is a deep contemporary tale that contains the profundity expected of a Nora Roberts story. Mac is still hurt by her mother, but hides from understanding what is happening because she is expected to love her mom right or wrong. Carter has the patience of a saint as he tries to be there for his Mac and demonstrate love does not mean abuse. Ms. Roberts provides a deep relationship drama starring a wedding photographer caught on the one hand in a dysfunctional relationahip with her mom and if she reaches out with the other hand a warm caring sharing with her beloved.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Different from her other series, and in a not-so-good way

    In the romantic genre, I pretty much exclusively read Nora Roberts books, as I have never found another author with the same feminist, creative female and male characters and story-lines that involve single 20- and 30- somethings in large family situations. My absolutely favorite series was the Chesapeake Bay series, with the four adopted Quinn brothers - the characters had difficult pasts, a challenging present and a very menacing villain to sort through and they did so with admirable character, while going through the usual romantic-novel-plot-points. I have also enjoyed Nora's other series with magical elements to them as the paranormal world is interesting in its own way.

    What I didn't care that much for, is the wedding planning world. The four women are bound together by their history playing together as kids - in one too many make-believe weddings. The women grow up (so to speak), and begin organizing real weddings but with the same kiddie-style drama and wedding-speak - the MOB, MOG, BM and what not. Are we in high school? Evidently not. But we seem to have emotional breakdowns that are dealt with using profane yelling, denial, dramatics and chocolate, in that order. The men come and go on the periphery, but the meat of the matter is the wedding, not the relationship.

    And then we have several cliched wedding scenarios that are dealt with as if the city is on attack. I understand that in wedding planning, these situations may seem as critical as anywhere else. But we are not pulled all the way into this world, so we end up seeing these women dealing with made-up crises in a superficial manner.

    I am quite disappointed that this book does not have the same bite as her other series, and I dread having to read three more books in the same vein. Looks like I might have to shop for another author until this series runs its course by the end of 2010.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Visions in White

    I was disappointed in this new book by Nora Roberts. I was bored from the very beginning but decided to plow through because I normally enjoy her books. Sadly, for me, it just stayed so-so throughout the book. I could of put it down and totally forgotten about it if I chose to.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eagerly awaiting the next in the Quartet Series

    I have been a Nora Robert's reader for many years. She is my go-to author for escapism and romance. I read this book in less than two weekend evenings. It was not particularly original although I enjoyed the characters and found it romantic (the characters are wedding planners). Reading this book was a good escape on a hot, humid weekend in NYC with ice tea in hand and the air-conditioner on cool. After a stress-laden work week, it provided exactly what I needed. Thanks again Nora Roberts.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Great Summer Reading!

    I enjoyed Visions in White. It was romantic and sweet. Can't wait for the rest of the series. It was my vacation book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nook price too high

    An ebook should not cost this much...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    my first nora book

    i read this book mostly because of the cover, and in hopes that my now husband would get a clue and propose already! i found this book to be ok. i'm not a big fan of reading. i've only become a "reader" the past few years in hopes to not get alhimerz like my grandmother. i find most books have that "slow" period in the first few chapters that describe the characters and what not, that's what this book is. i wasn't planning on buying the second book, but my husband saw it, remembered i read the first, and bought it one day when i was sick. i'm glad he did I LOVED IT!!! i just got done with the third, and am impatiently waiting to see how they end!! if you can bare through this one the other two, so far, are well worth it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    Fabulous romance!

    This book is another winner by Nora Roberts! The heroine and the hero were terrific and the whole book was fabulous. Their relationship was believable and enjoyable to read. I also loved the interaction among the four friends who owned the bridal business. Can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    Vision in White

    I wasn't sure I would like it but I am glad I read it.
    I love Nora Roberts and she didn't disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Romance!

    I read this book in one day! I have always enjoyed reading Nora Roberts, this was definitely a true romance. No paranormal and no suspense but still great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Takes time!

    This was my first time reading a book by Nora Roberts, i read her book because of all the raving reviews. This book took some getting used to because of her writing style i felt it very hard to understand which character was speaking and when, it is very easy to get lost in this book in the beginning. Also there are a lot of characters so try to understand their personalities or else the book wont be as good. The ending was too quick i had to read it twice because it came so fast. Other than that the book was not an escape but it was a good read to pass the time by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    It's just fun

    It's a book about four best friends who are living their dreams. They are also working their tails off in a creative business venture that would be my worst nightmare. Breezed through Mac and Emma's stories. Looking forward to the last two. Hurry. Please.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Plot disjointed. Nora Roberts disappoints

    I have read Nora Roberts for a long time and was terribly disappointed with this book. The plot was horribly disjointed and seemed like a patchwork of plots that were hurriedly sewn together with minimal attention to pace and flow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read Nora Roberts Classic

    Nora Roberts continues to excell in everything she writes. I have always loved her "family" series and with the Bride Quartet Series she redifines the word. Mac Elliot is the girl all of us can see a little of ourselves as. Not quite as cute, sweet or built like the others but still alot to love. Speaking of love, Carter McQuire as the man we all love with his sexy understated bubbling professor person. The sparks that fly between these two are even hotter than Mac's red hair. What a book!Five Stars! A must read for all Nora fans and all this series will add many, many new fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good feminist/Romance Novel

    This Novel is a good well clean book. There is Little foul Language and sex. I will have to say it can be a Book Club/Library book due to its Feminist/Romantic charector ladie/s who own there own partner business and are work driven in a fast all seasons business industries. You can say there would be no time for Romance. They hardly get time to go out and enjoy a night on the town. Even with the main charecter finding Romance. Mac goes to dinner and tangles in the sheet but right after the deed she has to leave due to work. During this she is finding she is attracted to this man but between work and a disfunctional mother who feels her successful daughter should owe her and pay her way.....typical mother who puts guilt and doesnt let up on her daughter to were Mac gives in but later with the help of friends they let her see the lite of putting your foot down. There is a good support of friends and the male charecter who romances her.
    To me this is a good book club book. This give readers some thing to discuss with real life situations all around.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1006 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 51