Customer Reviews for

The Vision of a Champion: Advice and Inspiration from the World's Most Successful Women's Soccer Coach

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    The Soccer Bible for Females and Those Who Love Them

    After reading this book, it's no wonder that many of the women trained by Anson Dorrance are wonderful role models as well as amazing soccer artists. The game of soccer is not just about good technique, but also how the female soccer player develops into a responsible person, challenging herself physically, mentally, socially and emotionally. Dorrance and Averbuch have combined here to write the definitive work on growing a soccer player. This book is for the players, their parents and their coaches. If there is anyone who believes that coaching girls is no different than boys-this will prove otherwise. Bravo to the authors!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    A true inspritation to young girls who love soccer and want to fullfill their dreams!

    This is the best soccer book that I have ever read. That was the first book that i had read by Anson Dorrance, and i loved it! i appreciate all the hard work he has done to create some of the best soccer players in the world! this book is such an inspiration to young girls everywhere! He teaches you the importance of human relationships. his environment at UNC, is the best in the country!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2002

    The Ultimate Guide to Soccer success

    For all those girls who have aspired to achieve the highest possible in the fastest growing sport in america, Anson Dorrance has put together a highly detailed and motivational book that truely gives a clear picture of what it takes to be the best in womens soccer. Very readable for the younger reader and very inspirational. A MUST for anyone who is half serious about any kind of college soccer career and how to achieve the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    A must buy!

    I am a professional youth soccer coach, with my own company. I also played semi-professional soccer in my native England. I read this book--twice--and was so impressed, I bought 50 copies for my players. I have loved the flair of this game all of my life. My emphasis as a coach is bringing that love of the game, with all of its skill, to American youth soccer. This book communicates the essence of the game, and more, it's a great guide for soccer and life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great soccer book The vision of a champion is bent over, drenche

    Great soccer book
    The vision of a champion is bent over, drenched in sweat, at the point of exhaustion, when nobody else is looking."

    This is a great quote that was cooked up by the dynamic duo of Anson Dorrance and Mia Hamm. Dorrance's understanding of the female soccer psyche is unparalleled by any other male coach, in my opinion, and this book is extremely valuable for players and parents.

    It describes the philosophy of how to become a champion in soccer and in life by challenging oneself physically, mentally, socially, and emotionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Brilliant!

    This book was fantastic... Hands down.
    No review is andequate description of the power this book has. It will change how you feel about the game. Anson Dorrance's use of personal experience, stories of past UNC leaders, and personal notes and recounts from UNC alumni is brilliant and his understanding of the game allows him to provide the reader with descriptions and concepts otherwise difficult to express and easy to miss. If you are a serious soccer player who wants to improve her game and achieve her soccer goals, read this book, it will change your entire experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    I LOOK FORWARD to reading it

    as a 12 year old soccer player and as a person that has met anson dorrance on several occasions I look forward to reading this book. While at UNC camp in greensboro, durin our 8:45 lecture Mr. Dorrance would share stories about Mia Hamm and Heather Orielly, etc and that is also why i look forward to reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Inspiring Story

    This is a story about someone who is passionate about building a team and building character. It is inspiring to read about Anson Dorrance's own search for excellence in his field and in the lives of the young women who play for him. Bravo to all those involved in producing this excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    A Great Gift

    The book is inspirational. I've ordered several copies to give as gifts to business friends where I know thay have college age girls who play and are passionate about soccer. One such gift got into the hands of a coach who remarked that it gave him greater insight into coaching women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    When it comes to soccer...

    When it comes to soccer...there has never been a more knowledgeable pair than Anson Dorrance and Gloria Averbuch. If Dorrance's insight into the sport of soccer (and her career as a coach!) isn't enough to interest you, Averbuch's unique view on the scene might. With two daughters of her own playing competitively, Averbuch has the "other side" experience and perspective that made reading "Vision" (even in bits and pieces) worth my while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Practical help and inspired guidance

    A simply wonderful book chocked full of practical advice for aspiring young female players, their parents as well as all coaches. The book details specifics on how to become a complete soccer player. Specifically, the technical, tactical, mental and physical challenges involved are discussed thoroughly in an easy to comprehend manner, with numerous first hand accounts from Dorrance, and U.S. Womens national team and UNC players, recounting their own experiences in the process, are informative, compelling and inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1