Customer Reviews for

Visions in Death (In Death Series #19)

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2015

    Always excellent

    Must read for any fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2015

    Another enjoyable caper with the futuristic cop, Lieutenant Eve

    Another enjoyable caper with the futuristic cop, Lieutenant Eve Dallas, her sidekick Peabody, husband Roarke and the other members of her team.  This case has murdered women "gift wrapped" in ribbon for Eve.  The killer is gone and so are the victims' eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Another great one from JD Robb.

    If you like the "In Death" series, this one will not disappoint.

    Series fans have come to expect the usual great things: a tight plot, driven by somewhat eccentric yet completely enjoyable characters, he who-done-it slowly revealed through a number of unanticipated twists and turns, and story lines threaded from novel to novel which bind the characters ever closer together.

    "Visions in Death" had all of these...and a fabulous plot twist at the end. It also provides Eve with a personal challenge when facing a new foray into the world of "consultant, civilian." Her struggle to accept this new mode of assistance stays true to her character stays true to Eve's typical resistance to that sort of thing. ("Thing" not specified to prevent spoiler alert.)

    Another fun read that keeps one guessing all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    To Ash

    I likes it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    When I started this series earlier this year mystery was not a g

    When I started this series earlier this year mystery was not a genre that I followed, but ever since Eve made me love a good investigation and I added several other books to my growing pile, but nothing is better than a good dose of Eve and Roarke. The last book was a little difficult for these two and thank god this one was more simple.




    There was a lot of drama and Eve suffered for Peabody, but the investigation was perfect. I wasn’t really in favor of the visions in this case and Eve was so right in all her deductions that at moments I actually thought she had a gift, but the killings were brutal and Eve managed just fine to keep everything away.




    Another great book for this series and Roarke was merely a sidekick in this one. Pity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You are getting sleepy....you are getting VERY sleepy....now sle

    You are getting sleepy....you are getting VERY sleepy....now sleep while I watch the killer kill you!!!

    In Visions in Death, Eve Dallas has one ugly crime scene that she has to walk into. Everything seems
    to be symbolic rituals: hands praying, eyes are surgically removed, all tied up with a nice Red bow. And
    quite literally. It's so grizzly and so horrible it's even more amazing seeing it all happen...from your bed
    20 blocks away!

    Eve Dallas doesn't want to but she's trying to figure this out, actually gets help from a psychic who has
    SEEN the murders take place. The outcome is nothing anybody can forsee!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Must Have

    excellent thought provoking yet eminently readable. My 15 year old daughter is inhaling these books - which I also did when I first discovered them. Great escapism. Fascinating concept of what life might become. Well crafted murder mysteries throughout the series, we just wish she could write faster! (although reading Nora Roberts releases I can't see that's possible.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Another must read

    Great book! As always, JD Robb delivers. Lots of twists and turns and of course, the unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi Visions in Death is the 19

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    Visions in Death is the 19th installment of Nora Robert’s futuristic In Death series written under the name J.D. Robb.

    The summer of 2059 seems like it will never end. While Eve and Roarke are on their way back home from an event in Chicago, Eve gets called to a case. Elisa Maplewood had been brutally attacked, raped, and murdered in Central Park. Then, she was placed on the rocks overlooking the lake, nude, with her hands posed to look as if she’s in prayer and then her killer surgically removed her eyes and took them with him.

    The next morning, Eve is contacted by a sensitive, Celina Sanchez, who claims to have had a vision of the murder. She tells Eve details that were never released to the media and Eve reluctantly believes her and even uses her as a consultant on the case, knowing that Elisa isn’t going to be the only victim.

    Eve’s instincts are right and the bodies start adding up, but the case takes a completely different turn when the murderer changes pattern and attacks Peabody on her short walk from the subway to her apartment. The killer is interrupted and Peabody is in the hospital in critical condition and the whole police force wants to see this guy go down.

    I thought this was a pretty good story, one of the better ones in the series so far. I found the murders to be interesting and they definitely kept me wanting to read more. I was surprised at the twist at the end, although I had suspected a second killer earlier in the book and dismissed it.

    I loved Peabody and McNab in this one and just seeing how much he loved and worried about her after she was injured. It was very sweet and they light the entire story with their great personalities. I can’t wait to see more from them.

    And Roarke’s great sarcasm is back!! He and Eve always had a little sarcasm, but I found some of the books had lost a lot of that, but it was back in full force in this installment, and brought a light humor to the story that I loved!!

    This was a good book that any murder mystery fan will adore.

    For this full review and more-- openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    fun and fast read

    The "In Death" series are fun, fast reads. Great for crime/mystery fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    read

    One of the best vrry good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This is one of J.D. Robb's best. I loved everything, the story line was very gripping and the characters were great. Nixie is one little girl with almost as much moxie as Dallas. I only wish Dallas and Rourke would have adopted Nixie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    A must read!

    This is one of the best book series I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    It felt like I was in an actual case,

    Though I felt like Eve was a bit out of character a few times in this book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I couldn't help but smile when Mavis made her appearance, laugh when Eve argued with her computer, or relax during the consult with Mira. All of my favorite characters made their appearance and left me with the contentment felt after a get-together with life-long friends.

    I enjoyed the mystery even though it wasn't terribly shocking or gruesome. I think I like this book so much because it wasn't a case that directly involved a friend of either Eve or Roarke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I find the J.D. Robb (Nora Roberts) In Death Series very enjoyable. This is just another one of her great books. Her books are fast paced and easy to understand. The story lines always have an unusual twist to them and in most cases have great endings. I recommend this book for the more mature readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific series

    Nora Roberts writing as JD Robb has a winning series here. Eve Dallas is the Homicide detective of the future and Roarke is her exciting sexy spouse. The mysteries keep you guessing to the end and romance is steamy while still sweet. The characters keep things interesting. I enjoy the images Ms Roberts gives us of her idea of the future. The imagery is clear, makes me, as the reader believe its really there while I'm reading the story. Even with all the extras, the murder mystery remains the main focus. She always throws in exciting twists that really keeps you on your toes. Sometimes Eve "just knows" who the killer is, but doesn't know how to prove it, and sometimes she struggles with the outcome until the very end. Either way, If you like mysteries, this series is going to keep your attention. The books can be read in order but don't need to be to be understood. Each book, while it may refer to things that happen in previous books, will stand alone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    J.D. Robb is great!

    I always enjoy any of the J.D. Robb stories. Her characters are alive, believable and the plots keep me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    Visions in Death by JD Robb

    I have listened to allof the In Death series up to this one and they continue to be captivating, funny, suspenseful, and romantic. The reader of the books, Susan Erickson, gives life to the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Future

    JD Robb has a wonderful series going, start from the beginning (Naked in Death) to enjoy them the most. Excellent combination of romance and crime solving drama.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Best fast reading

    Is there a reader (esp Female) in the world who's read the In Death series and doesn't absolutely LOVE Roarke? He's totally unrealistic, too good to be true, etc but can't get enough of him and Eve. I listen to these books on MP3 and the reader does such a fabulous job of accents and inflections. Then I go back months later and read them for an extra layer of excitement. I even got my boyfriend hooked on them!<BR/>If you like mystery, murder, suspense, humor and sizzling hot romance scenes, start the In Death series and don't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8