Customer Reviews for

A Visit From Sir Nicholas

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific holiday Victorian romance

    In 1843 Lady Elizabeth Effington is confused as much as perhaps Scrooge was when the first two ghosts and Marley visited him. Elizabeth has loved Charles for a long time, but the kisses of Nicholas Collingsworth send her into ecstasy. She tells Nicholas she loves him, but he insists she marry his friend and forget him as he will go to America. Nicholas leaves and Elizabeth marries Charles and has two children with him, but her spouse dies................................ In 1853 Nick returns to England responsible for Elizabeth¿s finances as his friend her late husband stipulated he would. To her chagrin Elizabeth still wants Nick, but she refuses to embarrass and humiliate herself again. Nick has always regretted his rejection of his beloved though he did so for noble reasons. Now he wants her in his bed bit not just as a temporary companion, but as his wife.......................... This terrific holiday Victorian Effington romance is a superb tale starring two likable protagonists and the ghost of Charles, beloved by both of them. The outtakes from Dickens¿ A Christmas Carol add depth by emphasizing the season and in some ways paralleling the main story line. Fans will appreciate this delightful yuletide historical second chance at love tale that emphasizes the belief in late December miracles........................ Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Hmmm...

    Who the heck is harriet klausner?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    A sweet read

    This book was one I didn't want to put down. Just wondering what was going to happen next..and will She ever realize and accept that Nicholas was her one and only "grand Passion!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Highly recommended - I love Victoria Alexander

    I read everything Victoria Alexander writes and this did not disappoint. I stayed up late to finish this book. I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    FUN & EXCITING!!!!

    A must read for romance lovers. You will absolutely fall in love with Nicholas and Elizabeth. This is a keeper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Worth reading

    The plot and story line were very good. The charaters are a little frustrating. Mainly Elizabeth...a little to clueless about her life for my taste. But since she does end up growing and learning it works out. She never seemed to really explain the relationship and feelings Elizabeth and Charles had together, but again since Nick and Elizabeth were the real story it was definitly workable. I will be sharing this book with my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Ttgg

    Yhgghhgggfgggh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    LOVED - LOVED - LOVED IT!! This is my first book by this autho

    LOVED - LOVED - LOVED IT!! This is my first book by this author and will not be my last. I loved the story of Elizabeth and Nicholas. I truly loved the banter between the two of them. Sometimes it did get a bit much, but the sense of love, mixed with misunderstanding made the story come to life. The way the author discribed the new house Nicholas bought made me feel right in the room - her words just came to life. Highly recommend even though Christmas is past, still a wonderful story. I almost passed it up because of the Charles Dickens back story, thought it was silly, but I WAS SO WRONG. Also, the interaction between Nicholas and Elizabeth's boys was so enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Easy read. Different thoughts regarding "A Christmas Carol"

    I enjoyed this " old" English style story. I didn't find it hard to follow. When 2 heart that have lost each other when young and then find each other again to become one, it make one feel like this can still happen today. I do believe this still happens in today's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Love Victoria Alexander books!

    Victoria Alexander is one of my favorite authors. Her books are always entertaining, and this one is no exception. There is romance, comedy, drama, etc. I love the part where Nicholas plays at pirates with Elizbeth's sons. The characters are charming and witty. The story, engaging. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Victoria Alexander is wonderful. I read all her historical novel

    Victoria Alexander is wonderful. I read all her historical novels and each one is better than the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Holiday romance

    Well-written, mostly believable and likeable characters. Ran on a bit in places, especially in trying to disentangle the lover's true feelings. Enjoyed most the interaction with the children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    So so

    Had potential fell short

    Didn't care 4 the ending or its implications

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    witty

    A very nice, warm story. Love denied and found again. I highly recommend this book and this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A Good Holiday Read

    This book is apart of the Effington series. Elizabeth has always favored Nicholas over Charles but ended up marrying Charles when Nicholas decides to go to America to make his fortune and breaks her heart. Ten years later Nicholas returns and finds out Charles has put him in charge of Elizabeth's finances. Elizabeth still has strong feelings for him and from here you have wit, humor and romance in dialogue. A good read that warms the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    Fun...Fun...Fun...

    I love books written from this time period. The story was a lot of fun and I am proud to recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3